Sprucefield Centre, Lisburn: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times
Northern Ireland's only out-of-town regional shopping centre, sitting on the roundabout where the M1 meets the A1. The catch is that "Sprucefield" is not one place but at least four separately owned ones — the M&S-anchored Sprucefield Centre, the Sainsbury's and B&Q retail park across the roundabout, a Currys on its own site, and a filling station scheme that is somebody else's again. They have different owners, different postcodes and different opening hours. Here is which is which, what each one publishes, and where the figures disagree.
Sprucefield stands where the M1 motorway meets the A1 to Newry and Dublin, about a mile south of Lisburn and ten miles from the centre of Belfast. Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council says it draws over eight million visitors a year, and its planning designation is a formal one: Sprucefield is a Regional Shopping Centre in the Belfast Metropolitan Area Plan, one of three in Northern Ireland and the only one that is out of town.
Before anything else, understand that "Sprucefield" is a place name, not a business. On one side of the roundabout is the Sprucefield Centre, postcode BT27 5UJ — M&S, Next, Boots, Pets at Home and a McDonald's drive-thru, and that is the entire directory. On the other is Sprucefield Retail Park, sometimes written Sprucefield Park, postcode BT27 5UQ — Sainsbury's, B&Q, The Range, B&M and three restaurant pods, on 47 acres. A Currys sits on its own 3.21-acre site with its own postcode, BT27 5UN. They are not the same scheme, they do not have the same owner, and they do not keep the same hours.
The good news is that the operator's website is real and readable. sprucefieldcentre.co.uk is server-rendered: its home, stores, visiting, contact, dining and individual store pages all load. The master list we started from had the website and the owner both down as "unknown", and both have been corrected on this page. The number is 028 9266 1597. One more thing nobody else will tell you: there is no Dobbies at Sprucefield — the only one left in Northern Ireland is on the Saintfield Road, a couple of miles east.
What follows draws on the operator's pages, two firms of letting agents, the council's planning reporting and retail position paper, NewRiver's stock-exchange release, and the Irish News, Irish Times and Belfast News Letter coverage of four ownership changes. Where sources differ we print both and name each; where nobody publishes something — at Sprucefield that includes the opening date — we say so. The other big Northern Irish destinations are Rushmere in Craigavon, the Abbey Centre in Newtownabbey, Bloomfield in Bangor and the Boulevard at Banbridge.
The most significant out-of-centre retail provision in the country is located outside Lisburn – Sprucefield Retail Park. This is a traditional out-of-centre retail warehouse format but is anchored by a large M&S store, together with a number of other large format core comparison retailers.
The essentials
| Detail | Sprucefield Centre |
|---|---|
| What it is | An out-of-town regional shopping destination in four separately owned parts. The Sprucefield Centre proper is an open scheme of five trading names anchored by the largest M&S in Northern Ireland. Sprucefield Retail Park, the Currys unit and the approved GO filling station are separate properties in separate ownership. |
| Address | Sprucefield Centre, Hillsborough Road, Lisburn BT27 5UJ |
| Satnav postcode | BT27 5UJ for the Centre; BT27 5UQ for the retail park, Sainsbury's and B&Q; BT27 5UN for Currys |
| Opened | Not published We could not find an opening date for Sprucefield in any source outside Wikipedia, which we do not use. The operator has no history page and the council's retail position paper has no history section. The earliest dated fact we have is that Westfield owned the centre in 2007. |
| Size | Not published as a single figure Sprucefield Retail Park is 231,000 sq ft on 47 acres, of which 18 acres is development land — NewRiver, Completely Retail and McMullen Real Estate all agree. The Currys unit is 52,591 sq ft. Nobody publishes a floor area for the Sprucefield Centre at all, and the "~400,000 sq ft" that circulates could not be sourced. |
| Number of stores | Five in the Sprucefield Centre: M&S, Next, Boots, Pets at Home, McDonald's Counted on the operator's live directory on 12 September 2026. The retail park adds five units plus a B&Q garden centre and three restaurant pods. McMullen Real Estate says the park has 5 units; Completely Retail says 47, which looks like the 47 acres in the wrong box. |
| Parking | Free. "Over 1000 free spaces" at the Centre per the operator; 1,500 per Savills The retail park has its own 1,200 free spaces and Currys 154 of its own. Customer use only, no overnight parking. No time limit is stated and no enforcement contractor is named anywhere. |
| Height restriction | Not published Neither the operator, nor AccessAble, nor the letting particulars state a height limit for any car park here. Parkopedia returned an error on both of its Sprucefield pages. |
| EV charging | Yes, location known, everything else unpublished The operator says E-car charging sits "between the M&S Food Entrance and McDonald's"; PlugShare puts it in the top corner of the M&S car park opposite McDonald's. No charger count, speed, connector type, network or tariff is published by anyone. |
| Owner (Sprucefield Centre) | Marks & Spencer Scottish Limited Partnership Named as the applicant and owner in the 2026 pre-application consultation to split the former Mothercare unit. That is a planning document, not a title deed, and no share or percentage is published. Westfield owned the centre in 2007; how it passed to M&S is undocumented. |
| Owner (Sprucefield Retail Park) | Realty Income Corporation, since 27 November 2025 Held through a company renamed RI Sprucefield (UK162) Limited, bought from a NewRiver and Pimco joint venture. Realty Income also owns Abbey Retail Park in Newtownabbey, bought in 2023 for £40m in one report and £40.6m in another. |
| Letting agents | McMullen Real Estate for the retail park; Savills for Unit C1 in the Centre |
| Footfall | Over 8 million visitors a year Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council's own figure, published 4 June 2024. It covers "Sprucefield" as a whole and is not split between the schemes. |
| Website | sprucefieldcentre.co.uk Verified 12 September 2026. It brands itself "Sprucefield Shopping Centre" in page titles and "Sprucefield Centre" in the address block. |
| Phone | 028 9266 1597 M&S direct: 028 9266 1000. |
Opening times
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Monday to Friday | 8am – 10pm operator: homepage, visiting page and contact page all agree |
| Saturday | 8am – 9pm all three operator pages agree |
| Sunday | 1pm – 6pm all three operator pages agree |
| M&S Sunday browsing | From 12.45pm homepage and the operator's own M&S store page — but the visiting page on the same site says 12.30pm |
| M&S Café | 8am – 11pm weekdays, 8am – 10pm Saturday operator's M&S store page — an hour later than the centre's own published closing time |
| Next | Mon–Fri 9am – 9pm, Sat 9am – 7pm, Sun 1pm – 6pm Next's own store finder, an hour shorter at each end than the centre's hours |
| McDonald's drive-thru | Until midnight daily operator's stores page |
| B&Q, Sprucefield Park | Mon–Sat 7am – 8pm, Sun 1pm – 6pm B&Q's own store page — a different scheme, different hours |
| Sainsbury's, Sprucefield Park | Not obtained Sainsbury's store finder is JavaScript-gated and returned no times |
| Bank holidays and Christmas | Not published by the operator, anywhere |
Checked on the operator's own pages on 12 September 2026. Three of them — homepage, visiting and contact — give exactly the same centre hours: 8am to 10pm Monday to Friday, 8am to 9pm Saturday, 1pm to 6pm Sunday. That is rare in this line of work, and we print it as the headline figure because the operator says the same thing three times.
Then it contradicts itself twice. The homepage and the M&S store page both say M&S opens at 12.45pm on Sunday for browsing; the visiting page on the same website says 12.30pm. Two pages to one, but nobody reconciles them. Separately, the operator's own M&S store page gives the M&S Café as trading until 11pm on weekdays — an hour after the centre itself is stated to close. Both versions are in the table because we cannot tell which is stale.
Next keeps shorter hours than the centre, and says so itself: 9am to 9pm Monday to Friday and 9am to 7pm on Saturday, against the centre's 8am to 10pm and 8am to 9pm. Both are each party's own published figure. If you are going specifically for Next, use Next's. And every large store here opens at 1pm on Sunday — the centre, Next, B&Q and the Dobbies down the road all publish the same 1pm start.
Two store finders defeated us. Sainsbury's and M&S both serve their store pages through JavaScript, so neither would render, and the biggest shop on the site — an 80,000 sq ft Sainsbury's — has no hours on this page at all. No bank holiday or Christmas hours are published by the operator anywhere either. For any of that, phone 028 9266 1597.
Getting there
By road
Use BT27 5UJ for the Sprucefield Centre and BT27 5UQ for the retail park, Sainsbury's and B&Q. The operator publishes no motorway junction number and we are not going to invent one. Its own wording is that the centre is "conveniently located just off the M1", and its own driving directions from Belfast are: the A12 from the A1 at Grosvenor Road, then the M1 to the Sprucefield Roundabout, taking the A1 exit. From Dublin it directs you up the M50 and M1, part of it tolled, then onto the A1.
Third parties give no junction number either: Savills puts the site "0.3 miles east of the M1/A1 motorway junction", McMullen Real Estate "adjacent to the main junction between Northern Ireland's M1 motorway and the A1 road". That is the practical point — this is the roundabout everyone driving between Belfast and Dublin passes through, which is much of why eight million people a year end up here. Published distances: one mile south of Lisburn, ten miles from central Belfast, 2.43 km from Lisburn town centre.
Parking
Free, at all of it. The Sprucefield Centre operator says "over 1000 free spaces including disabled & parent spaces"; Savills, marketing a unit inside the same scheme, says 1,500. We print both. The retail park has its own 1,200 free spaces — NewRiver's stock-exchange release and McMullen Real Estate give that identically — and Currys 154 of its own. The Centre's car park is for customers only with no overnight parking. No time limit is stated, no enforcement company is named, and no height restriction is published for any car park here by anybody.
By train and bus
There is no walkable station and the operator says so itself. It tells you to take a train from Great Victoria Street in Belfast to Lisburn, then a taxi or a bus. No distance or walking time from Lisburn station is published by the operator, Translink or anyone else we could find. The only bus route named is the Goldliner 238 from the Europa Bus Centre, the Belfast to Banbridge and Newry service. No cycle parking, coach parking or taxi rank appears on any operator page, which for a site of this size is a surprise.
Accessibility
The operator's claims, in its own words: level access to all stores; wheelchairs available from centre management, collected at the M&S entrance hall; electric scooters through a Shopmobility scheme, which requires membership; and baby changing and accessible toilets in the M&S entrance hall. The cash machines are in the same entrance hall. Blue badge and parent-and-child bays exist but no count is given for either.
AccessAble has surveyed the M&S itself, the most detailed access information for anywhere at Sprucefield: step-free entrances with automatic doors, widest opening 180cm at the Menswear inner doors; a unisex accessible toilet about 36m from the Womenswear entrance, 90cm automatic door, 95cm lateral transfer space, rails both sides; accessible fitting rooms, hearing assistance at service counters and a parent-and-baby room. It also records that the emergency alarm in that toilet has a pull cord out of reach. The guide carries no survey date and no Blue Badge bay count, B&Q publishes its own, no Changing Places toilet is mentioned by either, and there is no whole-centre guide.
The shops
The Sprucefield Centre — five names, and that is all
The operator's directory, counted on 12 September 2026, runs to exactly five: M&S, Next, Boots, Pets at Home and McDonald's. Several carry something inside them — an M&S Café and Foodhall, a Ground Espresso Bar in the Next, a pharmacy in the Boots, a Groom Room and a Vets4Pets in the Pets at Home — which is how a five-name centre feels bigger than it is. The M&S is the reason people come: the operator calls it the largest of seven M&S stores in Northern Ireland, with an in-store bakery, a wineshop, a Mai Sushi counter and "a large 'Fill Your Own' section" in the refurbished Foodhall.
The empty unit that has been empty for six years
Mothercare vacated Unit C1 in 2020 and it has not traded since. It is about 21,433 sq ft over ground floor and mezzanine, Savills has marketed it "in a fully fitted state to a high level of specification", and it still carries planning consent for Mothercare — a chain that no longer exists on the high street. In 2026 M&S, as the owner, consulted on splitting Unit C1 into two smaller units and relaxing the planning restriction so the space can take all Class A1 comparison goods (non-food) rather than only clothing and footwear. The drop-in ran on 16 June 2026, the consultation closed on 10 July, and an application could be lodged from 27 July. No application, no decision and no tenant has been published.
Sprucefield Retail Park — the other side of the roundabout
A separate scheme, a separate owner and, as of 12 September 2026, this line-up on McMullen Real Estate's own unit schedule: Unit 1 The Range (101,106 sq ft), Unit 1a B&Q Garden Centre, Unit 2 B&M (28,604 sq ft), Unit 3 vacant (10,792 sq ft), Unit 4 under offer (10,782 sq ft) and Unit 5 Sainsbury's (80,000 sq ft). B&Q's own store page gives its address as Unit 1, which the agent's schedule gives to The Range; nobody reconciles that.
The Range opened on Friday 22 September 2023 with 82 jobs, in the former Toys R Us unit. The Irish News reported the store as 20,000 sq ft; the agent's schedule says 101,106 sq ft. Those cannot both describe the same shop and we are not picking between them.
What has gone, and when
Next Home closed in the summer of 2024 — a few weeks before the Irish News reported it on 2 August 2024 — giving up 10,782 sq ft. Next said only that it was "not able to provide any further details"; it had closed its Crescent Link, Derry Home store in February 2024 and its Lisburn town centre store in 2018. Argos gave up its 10,792 sq ft standalone unit and moved inside the Sainsbury's superstore, on a date nobody publishes. Toys R Us had gone before The Range took its unit in 2023, again with no local closure date. And Mothercare left Unit C1 in the Centre in 2020.
The two empty retail park units are to become one. A proposal of application notice lodged with the council, reported on 6 January 2025, would merge the former Argos and former Next Home units into a single retail unit. The use stays retail; no tenant has been disclosed.
The drive-thrus, and one genuine first
The retail park's first phase of hospitality — 9,800 sq ft, announced on 22 January 2024 as part of a £20m expansion — brought three pods. Slim Chickens opened on Thursday 14 October 2024, and it is the chain's first drive-thru anywhere outside the United States — a real first, not a press-release one. It is run by Devon-based KK Restaurants SW Ltd, headed by Noah White, then 25, who had just bought the two Belfast Slim Chickens. A Starbucks drive-thru and a Nando's were both announced for summer 2024; Nando's was reported as opening on 22 January 2025 with 40 jobs, and we print both dates because nobody reconciles them.
Lidl — approved, but not safe
On Monday 1 December 2025 the council's planning committee unanimously approved a £7m Lidl at Sprucefield, about 40 jobs, twice the size of Lidl's existing local stores, which stay open. That is not the end of it. The Department for Infrastructure served notice in February 2024 that it might call the application in, and has set no timetable. Councillor John Laverty put the frustration on the record: "If we approve this application, then how long will we now have to wait further for the department?" As of September 2026 there is no Lidl trading here.
Currys — status genuinely unknown
A 52,591 sq ft warehouse on its own 3.21-acre site with 154 spaces and its own postcode, BT27 5UN, marketed by Savills at over £8.98m on a 12% yield. The DSG Retail lease ran to 10 November 2025 and has expired. We could not establish whether Currys still trades there. Directories still list it; that proves nothing. Ring first.
Useful to know
There is no Dobbies at Sprucefield
This catches people out. The only Dobbies garden centre left in Northern Ireland is at Strawberry Hill, Saintfield Road, Lisburn, BT27 5BE — phone 02892 626960 — a separate site on a different road with a different postcode, roughly two miles east of the Sprucefield roundabout, and not part of any scheme here. Its hours are Monday to Saturday 9am to 6pm and Sunday 1pm to 6pm, restaurant to 5.30pm, hot meals to 3pm. If you hold a Dobbies gift card or plant guarantee, that is where it is redeemed — see our piece on the Dobbies Antrim closure for what that means in practice.
Everything is in the M&S entrance hall
Cash machines, accessible toilets, baby changing and wheelchair loan are all in one place: the M&S entrance hall, which is also where you ask about the Shopmobility scooters. Hours are long by out-of-town standards — 8am to 10pm on weekdays, with B&Q opening at 7am and the McDonald's drive-thru running to midnight. Sunday is the constraint: nothing large opens before 1pm.
Things nobody publishes
We could find nothing published on a Changing Places toilet, free Wi-Fi, lost property, quiet hours, a prayer room, a dogs policy, gift cards, cycle parking, coach parking or a taxi rank. Nor is a centre manager named — the only name we found was Denise Greenan, Assistant Centre Manager, in an undated paving case study, which is not good enough to print as the current manager. None of that means these things do not exist, only that the operator does not say so on any page we could read.
How it got here
We cannot tell you when Sprucefield opened, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. We looked at the operator's website, which has no history page; the council's retail position paper, which has no history section; the council's news archive; the Planning Appeals Commission; the Lisburn Chamber of Commerce; the Irish Linen Centre and Lisburn Museum; local and trade press; and two sets of letting particulars. Not one of them dates the opening. The only place that carries a date is Wikipedia, which we do not use. So the record starts in 2007.
2007: Westfield owns it, and John Lewis is coming. On 3 May 2007 the Belfast Metropolitan Area Plan inquiry heard objections about Sprucefield policy, with counsel acting for Westfield, described in its own barristers' case note as "the centre's owners". At issue was the potential for John Lewis to open its first Northern Ireland store here, part of a wider £150m investment programme. The application was withdrawn in 2013, after the planning authority escalated the matter to Stormont and amid concerns about the effect on traders in Lisburn town centre. There is still no John Lewis anywhere in Northern Ireland, and Sprucefield is the reason people keep asking.
2013 to 2017: the bulky goods fight, and a plan sent back to draft. On 11 January 2013 the Environment Minister said he was ready to adopt the Belfast Metropolitan Area Plan with a bulky goods restriction at Sprucefield. On 29 August 2014 he decided unilaterally to adopt it; it was adopted by Order on 3 September 2014; in November 2014 a court order let it proceed without the restriction. A judicial review before Treacy J found he had acted unlawfully, and the Court of Appeal, Lord Justice Weir giving judgment, sent the whole plan back to draft status. Developers who believed they had secure zoning found they did not. Policy R3 still limits expansion at Sprucefield to bulky goods only, and that single clause explains most of what happens here: it is why the 2026 M&S consultation is about relaxing a clothing-and-footwear restriction on one unit, and why an enormous regional destination has five shops on one side of the roundabout.
The retail park has changed hands four times in eleven years, each time for less than anyone hoped. Westfield sold to intu Properties in 2014 for about £70m. On 25 November 2019 intu exchanged contracts to sell to NewRiver REIT for £40m — a fall of more than 40% in five years — at an 8.7% net initial yield on £3.7m of annualised net property income, a lease term averaging 7.5 unexpired years and rent of £16.11 per sq ft. NewRiver's own release carries 2 December 2019; the announcement reference and the trade press give 25 November. Intu's chief executive Matthew Roberts framed it as a disposal: "We are pleased to conclude this transaction, which along with the part-disposal of intu Derby and other sundry asset sales in 2019 brings the year to date disposals total to €312.8m (£268m)." Intu collapsed the following year.
Then two more changes. At the end of September 2020 Pimco's Bravo Strategies III fund bought 90% for £34.7m, NewRiver keeping 10% — the biggest commercial property deal in Northern Ireland that year. On 27 November 2025 control passed to Realty Income Corporation, the California-listed net-lease REIT, the holding company renamed RI Sprucefield (UK162) Limited with six of its London directors appointed. The price is reported two ways and we are not resolving it: one Irish News report says it sold for £51m and gives £51.2m; another says the price was not disclosed and the asset was valued at about £51m in the latest accounts. One figure is simply wrong — the Belfast News Letter said in September 2023 that NewRiver bought in "November 2022 for £40 million", when every other source puts that purchase in late 2019.
The big expansion is a consultation and nothing more. In September and October 2023 the then owners consulted on over five hectares of new commercial space — retail warehouse units, a hotel, a restaurant and parking. Reporting in January 2024 put the later phase at 90,000 sq ft of retail across five units plus an 87-bedroom hotel, within a £20m programme; the consultants declined to give detail. Three years on, no application and no decision has appeared in the public record, through a further change of ownership. We will not tell you the scheme is dead, because nobody has published that either.
What we could not check
- There is no opening date on this page, deliberately. We could not source one from the operator, the council, the Planning Appeals Commission, the local museum, the chamber of commerce, the trade press or the letting agents. The only place carrying a date is Wikipedia, which we do not use. The record here begins in 2007.
- "Sprucefield" is at least four separately owned properties — the Sprucefield Centre at BT27 5UJ, Sprucefield Retail Park at BT27 5UQ, the Currys unit at BT27 5UN and the approved GO filling station site. Different owners, different hours, different car parks. Almost every online listing blends them, and so does the council's own retail position paper, which calls the retail park "anchored by a large M&S store" when the M&S is across the road.
- No total floor area exists for the Sprucefield Centre. The only solid size figure anywhere at Sprucefield is 231,000 sq ft for the retail park on 47 acres, agreed by NewRiver, Completely Retail and McMullen Real Estate. The "~400,000 sq ft" that circulates for Sprucefield could not be sourced to anybody.
- The ownership of the Sprucefield Centre is inferred from a planning document, not a deed. Marks & Spencer Scottish Limited Partnership is named as applicant and owner in the 2026 Unit C1 consultation. We have seen no title, no filing and no percentage, and printed none. How ownership passed from Westfield in 2007 to M&S is undocumented.
- The 2025 retail park price is reported two ways. One Irish News report says it sold for £51m and gives £51.2m; another says the price was not disclosed and the asset was valued at about £51m in the latest accounts. Those are different claims and we have not picked one.
- Parking counts differ and no height restriction is published for any car park here. The operator says "over 1000 free spaces" at the Centre; Savills, marketing a unit in the same scheme, says 1,500. The retail park's 1,200 is agreed by two sources. Parkopedia errored on both of its Sprucefield pages.
- Electric vehicle charging is unquantified. We know where it is — between the M&S Food entrance and McDonald's — and nothing else. No count, no speed, no connector type, no network, no tariff, no access hours.
- The operator contradicts itself on hours twice. The Sunday M&S browsing time is 12.45pm on the homepage and the M&S store page and 12.30pm on the visiting page; and it gives the M&S Café as trading until 11pm on weekdays, an hour after the centre's own stated closing time. Next, separately, publishes shorter hours than the centre does.
- Sainsbury's and M&S store hours are missing from this page because both companies serve their store pages through JavaScript and neither would render. The 80,000 sq ft Sainsbury's is the largest shop on the site and we have no hours for it. No bank holiday or Christmas hours are published by the operator anywhere either.
- No motorway junction number appears on this page, deliberately. The operator publishes none — its own wording is "just off the M1", and its directions say to take the M1 to the Sprucefield Roundabout and then the A1 exit. Nor does anyone publish a walking distance from Lisburn station; the operator tells you to take a taxi or a bus.
- The Range's size is given two ways — 20,000 sq ft in the Irish News opening report, 101,106 sq ft on the letting agent's unit schedule — and the retail park's unit count is 5 on that schedule against 47 on Completely Retail, which looks like the acreage in the wrong field. We also could not establish whether Currys still trades here; its fifteen-year lease expired on 10 November 2025.
- Four approved or proposed schemes here have gone nowhere in public. The Lidl was approved unanimously on 1 December 2025 but a February 2024 call-in notice from the Department for Infrastructure is unresolved; the £20m expansion with an 87-bedroom hotel is a 2023 consultation and nothing since; the M&S plan to split Unit C1 closed its consultation on 10 July 2026 with no application, decision or tenant published; and the GO filling station was approved in June 2024 with no confirmation it was built.
- Argos's move out of its standalone unit and into Sainsbury's has no published date, nor does the Toys R Us closure that freed the unit The Range now occupies. No centre manager is named either — the one name we found was an assistant centre manager in an undated paving case study.
- We could not confirm a Changing Places toilet, free Wi-Fi, lost property, quiet hours, a prayer or quiet room, a dogs policy, gift cards, cycle parking, coach parking or a taxi rank, and AccessAble's guide covers the M&S only and carries no survey date. Absent from the website is not the same as absent from the site — phone 028 9266 1597 first.