Festival Place, Basingstoke: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times
A 1.2 million sq ft town-centre scheme that opened in October 2002 on the site of the town's demolished 1960s shopping precinct, with the bus station built into it and Basingstoke railway station five minutes' walk away. The single most useful thing on this page: the two car park entrances have two different height limits — Festival Way is 2.1m, Alençon Link is 1.82m. That is buried on the operator's car park page and absent from its directions. Here is everything else, including who owns it now and what nobody publishes.
Festival Place sits in the middle of Basingstoke, and like Liverpool ONE, WestQuay and Touchwood it is a town-centre scheme rather than an out-of-town retail park. That is not a technicality. It has the town's bus station built into it with a direct entrance, it is a five-minute walk from the railway station on the operator's own figure, and its car parks are paid — all of which follow from being part of a town rather than sitting beside a dual carriageway.
Start with the height limits, because they are the thing this page exists to tell you. Festival Place has two car park entrances and they do not share a height restriction. Festival Way is 2.1m. Alençon Link is 1.82m. Both figures come from the operator, buried on its car park page and absent from its directions page entirely. If you are in anything taller than a family hatchback, that 28-centimetre difference decides which entrance you can use.
The ownership changed in 2025 and a lot of the internet has not caught up. Festival Place was bought by MDSR Investments on a long leasehold for £99.1m, completing on 17 April 2025. It was sold by BDO acting as fixed-charge receivers, through Savills. Anything naming AEW Europe or the Teacher Retirement System of Texas as the current owner is describing the position before December 2015 to 2025, not today. No percentage share is published anywhere and we will not invent one.
The operator's site, festivalplace.co.uk, is live and genuinely the centre's own, and it publishes some useful things — a complete parking tariff, an honest note that a Changing Places hoist is out of service, a Saturday quiet hour. It also, on a single page, says both "over 180 retailers" and "over 140 big brand stores". We have printed both.
What follows draws on the operator's own pages, coverage of the April 2025 sale, a Victoria County History survey published by history.ac.uk, Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, Visit Hampshire and a Historic England list entry. Where sources disagree — and on the store count the operator disagrees with itself — both versions are printed and attributed.
The essentials
| Detail | Festival Place |
|---|---|
| What it is | A town-centre shopping and leisure scheme of around 1.2m sq ft with the town's bus station built into it, a ten-screen Vue, a library and a sports centre. The Malls, The Walks, Basingstoke Leisure Park and Chineham Shopping Centre are all separate schemes and are not this one. The Malls is council-owned; Festival Place is not. |
| Address | Festival Place, Basingstoke, Hampshire RG21 7BA |
| Satnav postcode | RG21 7BA Three postcodes are published for this centre. RG21 7BA appears on the operator's car park page and its contact page, so it is the one we have used. Its own getting-here page gives RG21 7BF, and Visit Hampshire gives RG21 7LJ. |
| Opened | October 2002 The month comes from a Victoria County History survey on history.ac.uk; every other source says only "2002". Developed by Grosvenor with Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council; architect L+S+H Architects, who also gave evidence at the CPO and road-closure inquiries. The build required closing Timberlake Road. The cost has never been published. |
| Size | Four published figures: 1.2m sq ft (operator); 1,127,629 sq ft (CoStar); 1.1m sq ft over 20 acres (Completely Retail and Visit Hampshire); 900,000 sq ft (the architect, probably an earlier phase). Nobody states a measurement basis. |
| Number of stores | The operator's own homepage says both "over 180 retailers" and "over 140 big brand stores" — on the same page. It opened in 2002 with 165 stores and 28 restaurants; Visit Hampshire says 160-plus. Restaurants are now 20-plus. |
| Parking | Paid, barrierless ANPR, open 24 hours, across five zones — Purple, Green, Orange, Yellow and Blue. Published tariff: 1hr £2.20, 2hr £3.70, 3hr £4.20, 4hr £4.70, 5hr £5.90, 6hr £7.00, 7hr £9.80, 8hr £11.30, 9hr £12.00, 24hr £17.00 (2am-5pm); flat £2.00 after 5pm if out by 2am. Season tickets £80-£345 a year. Park Mark. Capacity three ways: 2,500-plus (operator), 2,800 (2002), 3,000 (architect). |
| Height restriction | Two entrances, two different limits: Festival Way 2.1m, Alençon Link 1.82m. Both are the operator's own figures, published on its car park page and not repeated on its directions page. Check which entrance your satnav is sending you to. |
| EV charging | 6 sockets on Level 5, operated by ROAM The car park charge applies on top of the charging cost. |
| Blue Badge parking | Bays on levels 1 to 4, with availability lights No total number is published. |
| Owner | MDSR Investments, on a long leasehold £99.1m, completed 17 April 2025, sold by BDO as fixed-charge receivers via Savills; MDSR advised by CBRE and Estama. No ownership percentage is published anywhere. The previous owner was AEW Europe, acting for the Teacher Retirement System of Texas, from December 2015. |
| Freeholder | Not published Not in any of the three sale reports, not in council committee papers, not in an asset register. The only relevant published fact is negative: the council's own town-centre page names The Malls as council-owned and pointedly does not say the same of Festival Place. |
| Managed by | Sovereign Centros was asset manager from May 2023 under the receivers; the post-sale position is unconfirmed Ross Campbell was named as "Director and Head of Asset Management at Festival Place" in August 2025, but his employer is not stated. |
| Footfall | No current figure is published 22.4 million for 2017, and an undated "approximately 22 million" on Visit Hampshire that looks like the same number recycled. Neither is current and we are not printing one as though it were. |
| Website | festivalplace.co.uk |
| Phone | 01256 326022 |
Opening times
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Monday to Saturday | 9.30am – 7pm operator's own dedicated opening-hours page |
| Sunday | 11am – 5pm |
| Thursday and Friday (Visit Hampshire) | 9.30am – 8pm two late nights the operator does not publish; Visit Hampshire also gives Saturday from 9am |
| Easter Sunday and Christmas Day | Closed per Visit Hampshire; the operator publishes no Easter hours at all |
| Christmas Eve 2024 | 9am – 5pm |
| Boxing Day 2024 | 11am – 5pm |
| New Year's Eve 2024 | 9am – 5pm |
| Christmas Day and New Year's Day | Closed 2024-25 dates, from a 10 December 2024 operator article |
| Bank holidays | Not published by the operator |
Checked on the operator's own pages on 3 September 2026. The dedicated opening-hours page gives Monday to Saturday 9.30am to 7pm and Sunday 11am to 5pm. The homepage and contact page carry only a rolling "open today" widget rather than a table, and it agreed with the dedicated page on the day we looked. That is the version we have printed as the headline.
There is a conflict, and this one is not the operator arguing with itself — it is the operator against the regional tourism body. Visit Hampshire publishes a different schedule: Monday to Wednesday 9.30am to 7pm, Thursday and Friday 9.30am to 8pm, Saturday 9am to 7pm, Sunday 11am to 5pm. That is two late-night evenings and an earlier Saturday start that the operator does not mention anywhere.
We have not resolved it and we are not going to pretend to. Both versions are in the table. If you are planning a Thursday evening or an early Saturday, ring 01256 326022.
The festive hours above are 2024's, not this year's. They come from an operator news article dated 10 December 2024 and no newer schedule has been published. Treat them as the pattern — closed Christmas Day and New Year's Day, short days either side — and check before travelling. The operator publishes no bank holiday and no Easter hours at all; Visit Hampshire's note that the centre closes on Easter Sunday is the only Easter information anyone publishes.
Getting there
By road
Junction 6 of the M3 is published by the operator, so it is safe to print. What is unusual is what comes with it: nothing. The operator names no A-roads at all, which is rare for a town-centre scheme of this size. Use RG21 7BA and follow the town-centre signs from the junction. Note that three postcodes are published for this centre: RG21 7BA on the operator's car park and contact pages, RG21 7BF on its own getting-here page, and RG21 7LJ on Visit Hampshire. We use RG21 7BA because two operator pages carry it.
Parking — and the two height limits
This is the most important paragraph on the page. Festival Place has two car park entrances with two different height restrictions:
- Festival Way — 2.1m
- Alençon Link — 1.82m
Both figures are the operator's own. Both are buried on its car park page and neither appears on its directions page. A 1.82m limit stops a great many vehicles that clear 2.1m comfortably, so if you are driving anything with height — a van, a roof box, a tall MPV — make sure your satnav is taking you to Festival Way.
The car parks are paid, barrierless ANPR-controlled and open 24 hours, across five zones: Purple, Green, Orange, Yellow and Blue. The site is Park Mark accredited. Capacity is published three ways — 2,500-plus by the operator, 2,800 in 2002, 3,000 by the architect.
The full tariff is published, which is more than most operators manage: 1 hour £2.20, 2 hours £3.70, 3 hours £4.20, 4 hours £4.70, 5 hours £5.90, 6 hours £7.00, 7 hours £9.80, 8 hours £11.30, 9 hours £12.00, and £17.00 for 24 hours between 2am and 5pm. Evenings are a flat £2.00 after 5pm provided you are out by 2am. Season tickets run from £80 to £345 a year.
Electric vehicles: six sockets on Level 5, operated by ROAM, with the car park charge payable on top. Blue Badge bays are on levels 1 to 4 with availability lights, but no total is published.
By train
Basingstoke station is "just a 5 minute walk" — the operator's own figure, and a genuinely short one. Rail is the easy way in here.
By bus — the bus station is inside the centre
Basingstoke bus station is part of Festival Place, with a direct entrance into the scheme. Services are run by Stagecoach. Arriving by bus you cross no road, car park or ring road to get in — not something many centres can say.
Taxis
There is a licensed taxi rank "between Bus Station and Festival Square", confirmed from Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council's own list of licensed ranks. The same list also carries a rank at Chineham — that is Chineham Shopping Centre, a different scheme entirely, and a neat example of multi-scheme confusion inside an official document.
No coach parking is published by anyone, and while cycle parking exists across Basingstoke we could not confirm any at the centre itself.
Accessibility
The Changing Places toilet is at the Discovery Centre, open Monday to Friday 8.30am to 5pm and Saturday 8.30am to 4.30pm. The operator's own page states that the hoist is currently out of service. We are printing that because it is exactly the kind of thing a reader needs to know before travelling, and because operators very rarely publish it.
There is a quiet hour every Saturday, 9.30am to 10.30am.
Three staffed accessible toilets require a radar key — the number to call is 01256 360101. There is Braille in the lifts and at the Church Street entrance, and the centre participates in the Sunflower Lanyard scheme and Purple Advantage.
Shopmobility is not in the building. Basingstoke Shopmobility sits next to the centre, off Church Street, on 01256 476066. It is a separate service, not an in-house one.
Festival Place is dog-friendly, with window stickers marking participating stores and water bowls provided.
The shops
The operator's own homepage says both "over 180 retailers" and "over 140 big brand stores". Those two claims sit on the same page and nobody reconciles them. For context, the centre opened in 2002 with 165 stores and 28 restaurants; Visit Hampshire says 160-plus today, and the restaurant count has come down to 20-plus.
One thing to understand before reading any tenant list about this centre, including an old one you may have bookmarked: the receivers did more than 80 leasing deals in two years, including 24 new entrants. That is an enormous churn for a two-year period, and it means any store list dated before 2025 is close to worthless here.
What has arrived
Mango is the headline: a flagship of 7,104 sq ft, announced on 20 August 2025 and confirmed across eight separate trade and local titles.
Three more arrivals are published with days but — awkwardly — no year: Rituals on 18 January, into the former Ted Baker unit; Chopstix; and Fig & Fox on 19 January, converting from a pop-up to a five-year lease. The operator's article carries no year and no other outlet ran the story, so we cannot tell you whether that was January 2025 or January 2026.
What is leaving
Apple closes in November 2026, after opening in August 2011. The store is being consolidated into the Reading Oracle, about eighteen miles away. That is a fifteen-year run ending, and for a town-centre scheme it is a significant loss. The only statement about it came from an unnamed "Apple spokesperson", and we do not print quotes from unnamed speakers, so there is no quotation here — only the fact.
Leisure
Vue, ten screens, plus a library and a sports centre, both part of the scheme since 2002 — a reminder that Festival Place was built as a piece of town centre, not a mall with a cinema attached.
Useful to know
The two height limits, one more time
Festival Way 2.1m. Alençon Link 1.82m. If you remember one thing from this page, make it that one.
The Changing Places hoist is out of service
The Changing Places toilet is at the Discovery Centre, Monday to Friday 8.30am to 5pm and Saturday 8.30am to 4.30pm, and the operator's own page says the hoist is currently out of service. If that facility is why you were making the trip, ring first. Operators very rarely publish this sort of thing and it deserves passing on rather than burying.
Quiet hour
Every Saturday, 9.30am to 10.30am — at the start of the busiest day of the week.
Gift cards — read the restrictions
Gift cards are run through Giftify, bought at festivalplace.giftify.net or from a kiosk next to Søstrene Grene. Presets are £25, £50 and £100, or any amount from £5 to £500. Three restrictions matter: single-load, one-year expiry, and they cannot be used online. Accepted at 100-plus shops; balances at festivalplace.giftify.me.
Do not confuse Festival Place with the other Basingstoke schemes
The Malls, The Walks, Basingstoke Leisure Park and Chineham Shopping Centre are separate schemes. The Malls is council-owned, per the council's own website; Festival Place is not. Chineham has its own taxi rank on the council's licensed list. Figures, news and even official documents move between these, and they should not.
Things nobody publishes
We could find no confirmation of free Wi-Fi, lockers, click-and-collect arrangements, a prayer or quiet room, baby-changing facilities, cash machines, a lost property procedure, coach parking or cycle parking at the centre. No council page corroborates a single figure in our fact table. Two operator news items — one about an H&M concept store and one about a "new home store" — could not be read, so there may be arrivals we have missed. Ring 01256 326022 if one of these decides your trip — absent from the website is not the same as absent from the centre.
How it got here
Festival Place opened in October 2002. The month is not easy to come by — every mainstream source says simply "2002", and the October comes from a Victoria County History-style survey of Hampshire shops and markets published by history.ac.uk. It was developed by Grosvenor with Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council, with L+S+H Architects designing it and also giving evidence at the compulsory purchase and road-closure inquiries. Building it required closing Timberlake Road, part of the town's central gyratory — a substantial piece of surgery on a road network. The cost has never been published.
At opening it held 165 stores, 28 restaurants, a sports centre, a library and a multiplex. It holds an undated REVO Gold Award for Best Established Centre.
What was here before: the town centre Festival Place replaced
This is the part of the story that is usually missing, and it is worth having.
Basingstoke was a London overspill town, developed under a Town Development Agreement with the London County Council. The 1960s plan set aside around 144 acres for 500,000 sq ft of retail and 6,000 parking spaces, and delivering it meant demolishing Potters Lane, Church Street and Wote Street. By 31 March 1970 there were 84 new shops trading, with Marks and Spencer opening that May and Woolworths in the October.
That 1960s scheme was New Market Square, and its demolition made way for Festival Place. The survey's own verdict is worth quoting directly, because it is more interesting than a developer's brochure would be: "the demolition of the New Market Square to make way for Festival Place at the beginning of the 21st century, did not cause a revitalisation of the old market."
So Festival Place is the second comprehensive redevelopment of the same ground in forty years. The 1960s precinct cleared the Victorian streets; Festival Place cleared the precinct.
Ownership: from Texas teachers to receivership to MDSR
From December 2015 the centre was held by AEW Europe on behalf of the Teacher Retirement System of Texas. A refresh in 2016 brought in Swarovski, Apricot, Yankee Candle, Lovisa, Patisserie Valerie and Flip Out.
Then it went into receivership, and even that date is published three ways: 12 May 2023 (Retail Times, precisely), "May 2023" (Completely Retail) and October 2023 (CoStar). Two against one, with the most precise agreeing with the pair, so May 2023 is better supported — but we are printing the disagreement rather than hiding it. Sovereign Centros came in as asset manager from May 2023 under the receivers, who did more than 80 leasing deals including 24 new entrants.
The sale completed on 17 April 2025. MDSR Investments bought the long leasehold for £99.1m from BDO as fixed-charge receivers, through Savills, with MDSR advised by CBRE and Estama. No ownership percentage appears in any source and none should be written.
The freeholder is not published. Two rounds of searching found nothing — not in the three sale reports, not in council committee papers, not in an asset register. The only related published fact is a negative one: the council's own town-centre future pages name The Malls as council-owned and conspicuously do not say the same of Festival Place.
The listed church nearby
The Church of St Michael, Church Square, is listed Grade I — Historic England list entry 1092618, first listed 3 May 1949. Its chancel was rebuilt in 1464, its nave and aisles in 1520, its south porch in 1539; there is a War Memorial Chapel of 1920, an 1885 font and fragments of 16th-century glass.
We are not going to tell you it is next to the shopping centre. Its adjacency to Festival Place is not stated in any source we found, and given how much of central Basingstoke has been demolished and rebuilt twice over, that is not a thing to assume from a map.
For comparison, the South East's out-of-town alternatives — Bicester Village, Bluewater and Ashford Designer Outlet — have free parking and no bus station in the building. That is the trade Festival Place makes.
What we could not check
- The two height limits are the thing to check before you drive. Festival Way is 2.1m and Alençon Link is 1.82m. Both figures are the operator's own, and neither appears on its directions page — only on the car park page.
- No ownership percentage is published for MDSR Investments. The published facts are a long leasehold, £99.1m and completion on 17 April 2025. Any percentage you see quoted is not from a source we could find.
- The freeholder is not published anywhere. Two rounds of searching covered the three sale reports, council committee papers and asset registers. The only related fact is negative: the council names The Malls as council-owned and does not say the same of Festival Place.
- The receivership date is published three ways. 12 May 2023 (Retail Times), "May 2023" (Completely Retail) and October 2023 (CoStar). May is better supported, two to one, and we have said so rather than picking silently.
- The operator contradicts itself on the store count, on one page: its homepage says both "over 180 retailers" and "over 140 big brand stores".
- The opening hours conflict is operator against tourism body. The operator gives Monday to Saturday 9.30am-7pm; Visit Hampshire gives two late nights (Thursday and Friday to 8pm) and an earlier Saturday start of 9am. Both are printed. Ring 01256 326022.
- The festive hours on this page are 2024's. They come from an operator news article dated 10 December 2024 and no newer schedule has been published. No bank holiday or Easter hours are published by the operator at all — the only Easter information anywhere is Visit Hampshire's note that the centre closes on Easter Sunday.
- The floor area is published four ways — 1.2m sq ft, 1,127,629 sq ft, 1.1m sq ft over 20 acres and 900,000 sq ft — with no measurement basis stated by anyone; parking capacity three ways, at 2,500-plus, 2,800 and 3,000; and the postcode three ways, RG21 7BA (operator car park and contact pages, used here), RG21 7BF (its own getting-here page) and RG21 7LJ (Visit Hampshire).
- The Rituals, Chopstix and Fig & Fox arrivals have days but no year. The operator's own article gives 18 and 19 January without stating which January, and no other outlet ran the story. We cannot tell you whether that was 2025 or 2026.
- No current footfall figure exists, and occupancy at the point of sale is unconfirmed. 22.4 million relates to 2017 and Visit Hampshire's undated "approximately 22 million" looks like the same number recycled; one source gave 77% occupancy and nothing corroborates it. Neither is printed as a figure.
- The post-sale asset manager is unconfirmed. Sovereign Centros held the role from May 2023 under the receivers; Ross Campbell was named "Director and Head of Asset Management at Festival Place" in August 2025 with no employer stated. The build cost has never been published, and the Church of St Michael is not claimed here to be adjacent to the centre — the Grade I listing, entry 1092618, is a matter of record, but its physical relationship to Festival Place is not stated by any source we found.
- The Changing Places hoist at the Discovery Centre is out of service, per the operator's own page. We have printed it because it is what a reader needs, but check before travelling in case the position has changed either way.
- Apple's closure has no named source. The November 2026 closure and the consolidation into the Reading Oracle are reported, but the only statement came from an unnamed "Apple spokesperson", so no quotation appears on this page.
- We could not confirm free Wi-Fi, lockers, click-and-collect, a prayer or quiet room, baby changing, cash machines, a lost property procedure, coach parking or cycle parking at the centre. No council page corroborates any figure in the fact table, and two operator news items — an H&M concept store and a "new home store" — could not be read.