ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Shopping centre · South West

Castlepoint Shopping Park, Bournemouth: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

Before anything else: castlepoint.co.uk is not the shopping park — it is a web-hosting holding page. The real address is castlepointshopping.com. Here is what Castlepoint publishes about its shops, its four hours of free parking and the three postcodes that cover the site, what its owners publish that contradicts it, and one widely repeated claim about the place that we could find no evidence for at all.

Illustration of Castlepoint Shopping Park, Bournemouth

Castlepoint is a large open-air shopping park on Castle Lane West in Bournemouth, anchored by Marks and Spencer, Sainsbury's, Asda, B&Q and Next. Having both Asda and Sainsbury's on one site is the thing that makes it unusual — most parks of this size have one big-four grocer, not two — and it is a large part of why people drive across the conurbation to come here.

Start with the web address, because this one catches people out. The obvious-looking domain, castlepoint.co.uk, is not the shopping park. When we fetched it directly on 5 September 2026 it returned a Heart Internet web-hosting holding page — the sort of placeholder a domain shows when nobody has built a site on it. The operator's real site is castlepointshopping.com. If a directory, a satnav or an old bookmark sends you to the .co.uk address, that is not the shopping park being down; it is the wrong domain.

Then there is the postcode, which is not one postcode. BH8 9UZ, BH8 9UY and BH8 9UW all cover parts of this site, and which one you want depends on which end you are heading for. We set out below which is which.

Castlepoint opened in October 2003 on the site of the Hampshire Centre, which had been there since 1968 and was anchored by Woolco — at the time the largest out-of-town department store in Britain. That history is worth knowing, because a fair amount of what is written about "the shopping centre at Castle Lane" is actually about the building that stood here before.

What follows comes from the operator's own pages, its owners' published materials, a 2020 leasing brochure, Companies House, AccessAble, tenant store finders, local reporting and BCP Council. Where sources disagree — and on the size of this place four different figures are in circulation, two of them from the same owner — we have printed all of them.

Castlepoint has sadly taken business away from Bournemouth town centre

— Cllr Jeff Hanna, BCP Council cabinet member for transformation, resource and governance, speaking in January 2025, as published by Buzz, Bournemouth University's student journalism outlet

The essentials

DetailCastlepoint Shopping Park
What it isA large open-air shopping park, anchored by Marks and Spencer, Sainsbury's, Asda, B&Q and Next. Both Asda and Sainsbury's trading on the same site is the unusual part.
AddressCastle Lane West, Bournemouth, BH8 9UZ All four of the operator's own driving routes arrive via Castle Lane West, the A3060.
Satnav postcodeBH8 9UZ for the East Mall and the management suite; BH8 9UY for the West Mall, including Next and Nike Unite; BH8 9UW for H&M. The site genuinely spans three postcodes. Pick the one nearest the shop you are going to, or you may park at the wrong end of a very large site.
OpenedOctober 2003 Confirmed twice: by the park's own 20th anniversary marking in December 2023, and by Companies House, where company 03393551 was renamed from Hampshire Centre Nominee Limited to Castlepoint Nominee Limited on 7 February 2002 during the redevelopment.
SizeFour different figures are published and none of them has been reconciled: 552,583 sq ft (Completely Retail), 645,000 sq ft (Harveys Packfield leasing brochure, October 2020), over 680,000 sq ft (Delancey portfolio page) and 684,000 sq ft (Delancey's own 2022 release). No source states whether the superstore floorplates are included in any of them, which would go a long way to explaining the spread.
Site areaEither about 41 acres or 36 acres Both figures come from the same owner: "over 680,000 sq ft on approximately 41 acres" on Delancey's portfolio page, and 684,000 sq ft on 36 acres in Delancey's own 2022 release. We have not picked one.
Number of storesThe operator claims "over 35 stores & 40 brands" but names only 12 of them on the page that actually renders. There is a full unit-by-unit schedule in the October 2020 leasing brochure, which is a five-year-old snapshot rather than a current list.
ParkingOver 2,800 spaces per the operator's own current page; 3,000+ per Delancey's materials and the 2020 leasing brochure. We lead with the operator's lower figure. Four hours free with a 15-minute grace period, extendable in person. Enforced by Group Nexus.
Height restrictionNone published Neither the operator nor its owners state one. Parkopedia, which sometimes fills this gap, returned an HTTP 405 error on both of its pages for this site, so we could not check there either.
EV chargingNone The operator's own FAQ answers the question with "Unfortunately not at the moment but this is a future aspiration". A Wattly listing showing a charger here is dated July 2013 and is stale; Zap-Map's page for the site returns a 404.
OwnerA 50:50 joint venture between Delancey and Columbia Threadneedle Investments Since 26 August 2022, when the pair bought out abrdn's 50% share. The price was not disclosed. Delancey has held an interest since February 2010.
Centre managerDavid Pickett
FootfallNo annual figure has ever been published The nearest thing is 90,000 cars a week, from the October 2020 leasing brochure — that counts vehicles, not people. Movements only otherwise: December 2023 up 46% year on year, November up 22%.
ShopmobilityOn the lower level beneath Sainsbury's. Phone 01202 598295 or email info@sedcat.org.uk The operator describes the location differently on two of its own pages, so ring before you rely on finding it unaided.
Websitecastlepointshopping.com Not castlepoint.co.uk, which on 5 September 2026 returned a Heart Internet web-hosting holding page and has nothing to do with the shopping park.
Nearest stationDisputed — Pokesdown or Bournemouth The operator names Bournemouth, about 10 minutes by car. AccessAble's guide to the Next store names Pokesdown. See the getting there section.

Opening times

DayHours
Park-wide opening hoursNot published in any source we hold see the note below — this is a genuine gap, not an oversight on our part
Marks and Spencer, Sainsbury's, Asda, B&Q, Next and the restEach sets its own the superstores in particular keep longer hours than a typical shopping park, and Sunday trading rules apply to the large stores

We are not able to give you an opening-hours table for Castlepoint, and we would rather say that plainly than assemble a plausible one. No park-wide set of hours appears in any source we hold — not on the operator's own pages as we were able to read them, not in its owners' materials, not in the 2020 leasing brochure.

What makes this less painful than it sounds is the shape of the place. Castlepoint is a shopping park, not an enclosed centre: there is no mall door that locks at a set time, and the anchors run to their own timetables. Sainsbury's and Asda in particular will be open well before and well after the fashion units, and as large stores they are bound by Sunday trading restrictions that the smaller units are not.

The practical advice is to check the individual retailer's own store page for the day you are travelling, and to be especially careful on Sundays and bank holidays, when the gap between a superstore's hours and a clothing shop's hours is at its widest. If you are making a special trip for one shop, that shop's own site is the source that matters.

One related detail worth carrying with you: the four-hour free parking limit is a fixed clock that runs regardless of what any individual shop is doing. See the parking section below.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Castlepoint Shopping Park: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By road

There is no motorway near Castlepoint. Bournemouth has none at all, and if you see an M27 junction quoted for this site — it does turn up — it is wrong, and following it will take you a long way east into Hampshire. Ignore it.

What the operator actually publishes is four driving routes, and every one of them converges on the same two things: the Cooper Dean roundabout, and Castle Lane West (the A3060). You reach the Cooper Dean roundabout either from the A35 or from the A338 Wessex Way, depending on which direction you are coming from, and then you are on Castle Lane West with the park in front of you. If you remember nothing else, remember Cooper Dean.

Which postcode to use

This site spans three, and they are not interchangeable:

Castlepoint is big enough that arriving at the wrong end is a real walk with shopping in your hands. Pick the postcode that matches your destination.

Parking

Four hours free, with a 15-minute grace period, enforced by Group Nexus. Four hours is generous, but it is a limit and it is enforced by a private company, which means the penalty for overstaying arrives in the post rather than on the windscreen.

The useful thing most people do not know is that the four hours can be extended in person — the operator names the management office, Nando's and the Marks and Spencer Cafe as places where you can do it. If you are settling in for a long day, sort it out before the clock runs down rather than after.

On the number of spaces, the operator's own current page says over 2,800, while Delancey's materials and the October 2020 leasing brochure both say 3,000+. We have led with the operator's lower figure on the grounds that it is the more recent and the more conservative, but both are on the record. No height restriction is published by anyone, and we could not check Parkopedia because both of its pages for this site returned an HTTP 405 error.

By train

The sources disagree about which station you want, and we have not been able to settle it. The operator names Bournemouth, which it puts at roughly 10 minutes away by car. AccessAble, in its guide to the Next store here, names Pokesdown instead.

The journey planner Rome2Rio makes Pokesdown about 2.2 miles from the park on foot and Bournemouth about 2.7 miles — so Pokesdown is the nearer of the two, which supports AccessAble. That is aggregator data rather than an operator statement, and we are labelling it as such. Either way, neither station is a walk you would want to make with shopping. Plan for a bus or a taxi at the station end.

By bus

Two operators both claim to serve Castlepoint and nobody reconciles them. Morebus is the one the shopping park itself names, giving 01202 338420 as the number to ring. Unibus runs the m1 here, which it advertises at "up to every seven minutes", plus the N1 at night — a service level aimed at Bournemouth's student population, of which there are around 20,000 in the catchment.

If the m1 frequency holds, it is by some distance the best way to reach this park without a car. We have not been able to verify it against a timetable, so treat "up to every seven minutes" as Unibus's claim rather than as a confirmed frequency.

Accessibility

Shopmobility operates here, on the lower level beneath Sainsbury's — phone 01202 598295 or email info@sedcat.org.uk. Worth noting that the operator describes the Shopmobility location in two different ways on two of its own pages, so if you are heading there directly, ring first rather than hunting for it.

AccessAble has two genuinely surveyed guides for this site, both at store level rather than park level: one for the Next store and one for B&Q. The Next guide records more than ten Blue Badge bays measuring 365cm by 485cm with no hatched buffer zone around them, step-free access, and hearing loops. It also makes the point that the four-hour parking limit applies to the Blue Badge bays too — which is exactly the kind of detail that catches people out, and worth knowing before you settle in.

We could not establish when either AccessAble guide was last updated, so treat the measurements as a survey of unknown vintage rather than as today's state. There is no whole-park AccessAble guide.

The shops

The anchors are Marks and Spencer, Sainsbury's, Asda, B&Q and Next. Two full-size supermarkets from different groups on one site is the genuine draw here and the reason a lot of people treat Castlepoint as a one-stop trip rather than a fashion outing.

Beyond that, the store list is harder to pin down than it should be. The operator claims "over 35 stores & 40 brands" but names only 12 of them on the page that renders for us. The only full unit-by-unit schedule we have is in the October 2020 Harveys Packfield leasing brochure — comprehensive, but a five-year-old snapshot of a shopping park, which is a long time in retail. We have used it for background only, and we are not reprinting it as if it were a current directory.

What has arrived

What we cannot confirm

Virgin Holidays is still listed both by the operator and by AccessAble, but we could not confirm it is actually trading. Do not travel for it without ringing ahead.

What is missing from the 2020 list — and what that does not prove

Comparing the October 2020 leasing brochure against what the operator names today, eight names have dropped off: Gap, Topshop, Wallis, Monsoon, Clintons, CeX, Barclays and NatWest. Several of those chains had national troubles in the intervening years, and it would be easy to write them up as Castlepoint closures.

We are not doing that. None of the eight has a confirmed, dated closure at this specific site in any source we hold, and the operator's current page names only 12 shops out of a claimed 35-plus — so absence from that page is very weak evidence of absence from the park. Take the list above as "not currently named by the operator", which is all it honestly supports.

Useful to know

The wind turbine claim, which is false

There is a persistent claim that Castlepoint has a wind turbine, or on-site renewable generation of some kind. We went looking for it specifically, and there is no evidence for it — past or present. No operator page, no owner material, no council document, no local reporting. We are stating that as a debunk rather than as an absence, because it is a claim that gets repeated confidently.

The only environmental scheme we could find associated with the park is a third-party carbon-offset arrangement run by Skoot, under the name "Castlepoint Bournemouth's Forest", which the scheme credits with 113 trees. That is tree planting bought in, not generation on site, and it is not the same thing at all.

Charging your car

There is none. The operator's FAQ answers the question directly: "Unfortunately not at the moment but this is a future aspiration". If you find a listing suggesting otherwise, check its date — a Wattly listing showing a charger here is dated July 2013 and is long stale, and Zap-Map's page for the site returns a 404.

Dogs

Dogs are welcome in the public areas of the park. Individual shops set their own policies, and the operator does not publish which ones admit dogs inside.

Things nobody publishes

This is a longer list than you would expect for a park of this size, and all of it is "not documented" rather than "not there": toilets, baby changing, cash machines, wifi, coach parking and cycle parking. We found no source confirming or denying any of them. A park with two supermarkets on it will have toilets and cash machines somewhere; we simply cannot tell you where, or on what terms.

Who shops here

From the operator's and owners' own marketing materials, so read them as a landlord's pitch rather than as independent research: a catchment of 500,000 people within a 30-minute drive, around 20,000 students, and a shopper profile in which 28% are aged 18 to 34 — five percentage points above the UK average. The student figure squares with the frequency of the Unibus m1.

How it got here

Castlepoint opened in October 2003, and unusually for a site of this kind we can confirm that date two independent ways. The park itself marked its 20th anniversary in December 2023. And Companies House records that company 03393551 was renamed from Hampshire Centre Nominee Limited to Castlepoint Nominee Limited on 7 February 2002 — a corporate rename that dates the redevelopment from the inside, mid-build, more precisely than any press cutting would.

The name change tells you what was here before. The Hampshire Centre opened in 1968, and its anchor was Woolco — at the time the largest out-of-town department store in Britain. That is a genuine piece of British retail history: the Hampshire Centre was an early example of the out-of-town format that would go on to reshape shopping everywhere, and for a while Bournemouth had the biggest example of it in the country.

It did not last. Woolco closed in 1986, and the centre declined afterwards. In 1989 the council opposed a renovation scheme, and the site drifted through the 1990s. An archaeological assessment was carried out in 1997 ahead of redevelopment, and survives in the Dorset Historic Environment Record as event EWX1833. The Hampshire Centre was then cleared and Castlepoint built in its place, opening in 2003.

A note on our sources for the older history. The Bournemouth Echo covered both the 1968 opening and the 2003 one, but the Echo's own archive was not reachable to us — the quotations and detail from those reports reach us second-hand, through a Bournemouth University history blog that quotes the Echo. We have not read the original cuttings. That is a perfectly reasonable chain for a summary like this one, but it is a chain, and you should know it is there.

On ownership, the current position dates from 26 August 2022, when Delancey and Columbia Threadneedle Investments bought out abrdn's 50% share to take the park into a 50:50 joint venture between them. The price was not disclosed. Delancey had already been an investor here since February 2010. Asset management moved from abrdn to the joint venture at the same time. The centre manager is David Pickett.

And on the park's effect on Bournemouth town centre, which is the argument that follows any successful out-of-town scheme. In January 2025 Cllr Jeff Hanna, BCP Council's cabinet member for transformation, resource and governance, said that "Castlepoint has sadly taken business away from Bournemouth town centre" — while also citing town-centre vacancy improving from 18.2% in 2020 to 15.5%. Both halves of that are worth holding together: a councillor naming Castlepoint as a drag on the town centre, in the same breath as figures showing the town centre recovering.

We would rather have quoted the council's own document. BCP Council's Local Plan representation PDF covering Castlepoint was our preferred source and it is blocked to us by the site's robots rules, so we could not read it. The Hanna quotation instead comes via Buzz, Bournemouth University's student journalism outlet — a real publication with named reporting, but a student one, and we would rather tell you that than let the attribution pass unremarked.

What we could not check

  • castlepoint.co.uk is not the shopping park. On 5 September 2026 a direct fetch of that domain returned a Heart Internet web-hosting holding page. The operator's real website is castlepointshopping.com, and any directory or link pointing at the .co.uk address is pointing at the wrong place.
  • We could not find park-wide opening hours in any source we hold, so this page carries no hours table. Castlepoint is an open shopping park whose anchors keep their own timetables; check the individual retailer's own store page for the day you plan to travel, and be particularly careful on Sundays and bank holidays.
  • The site spans three postcodes, not one. BH8 9UZ covers the East Mall and management suite, BH8 9UY the West Mall including Next and Nike Unite, and BH8 9UW covers H&M. Choosing the wrong one leaves you at the far end of a large site.
  • There is no motorway near Castlepoint and no motorway junction on this page. Bournemouth has no motorway. If you see an M27 junction quoted for this site, it is false — treat it as such. The operator's own routes all run via the Cooper Dean roundabout onto Castle Lane West, the A3060, from either the A35 or the A338 Wessex Way.
  • Four different floorspace figures are in circulation and we have reconciled none of them: 552,583 sq ft from Completely Retail, 645,000 sq ft from the Harveys Packfield leasing brochure of October 2020, "over 680,000" on Delancey's portfolio page and 684,000 in Delancey's own 2022 release. No source states whether the superstore floorplates are counted.
  • Two different acreages are published for the site, and both come from the same owner: approximately 41 acres on Delancey's portfolio page and 36 acres in Delancey's own 2022 release. We have printed both because we cannot tell you which one Delancey means.
  • The parking capacity is given two ways: over 2,800 spaces on the operator's own current page and 3,000+ in Delancey's materials and the 2020 brochure. We have led with the operator's lower figure but both are on the record.
  • No car park height restriction is published by the operator or its owners, and we could not check Parkopedia because both of its pages for this site returned an HTTP 405 error.
  • The claim that Castlepoint has a wind turbine or on-site renewable generation is unsubstantiated. We searched for it specifically and found no evidence of any such installation, past or present, in operator, owner, council or press sources. The only related scheme is a third-party Skoot carbon offset, "Castlepoint Bournemouth's Forest", credited with 113 trees — which is bought-in tree planting, not on-site generation.
  • There is no EV charging here. The operator's FAQ says so directly. A Wattly listing showing a charger at this site is dated July 2013 and is stale, and Zap-Map's page for the site returns a 404.
  • The nearest station is disputed. The operator names Bournemouth, about 10 minutes by car; AccessAble's Next guide names Pokesdown. Rome2Rio, an aggregator rather than an operator, puts Pokesdown at about 2.2 miles on foot and Bournemouth at about 2.7 miles, which favours Pokesdown. Neither is a comfortable walk with shopping.
  • Two bus operators both claim this site and nobody reconciles them. Morebus is the one the shopping park names, on 01202 338420. Unibus runs the m1 here at what it advertises as "up to every seven minutes", plus the N1 at night. We have not verified that frequency against a timetable.
  • The operator claims "over 35 stores & 40 brands" but names only 12 of them on the page that renders for us, and the only complete unit-by-unit list we hold is the October 2020 leasing brochure, a five-year-old snapshot. That is why the eight names on the 2020 schedule which the operator no longer lists — Gap, Topshop, Wallis, Monsoon, Clintons, CeX, Barclays and NatWest — are not written up here as closures: none has a confirmed, dated closure at this site, and absence from a page naming only 12 shops proves very little.
  • Rituals and ProCook are open in the former Robert Dyas unit, but no opening date was ever published and the operator lists them simultaneously on a "now open" page and a "new retailers opening soon" page. Nike Unite is open at Unit L, West Mall, but the operator's announcement carries no year. Virgin Holidays is still listed by both the operator and AccessAble but we could not confirm it is trading — ring before making a special trip for it.
  • No annual footfall figure has ever been published. The nearest available number is 90,000 cars a week from the October 2020 leasing brochure, which counts vehicles rather than people. Only movements exist otherwise: December 2023 up 46% year on year and November up 22%.
  • Toilets, baby changing, cash machines, wifi, coach parking and cycle parking are all undocumented at this site. We found no source confirming or denying any of them, which is not the same as saying they are absent.
  • The AccessAble guides here are for the Next store and B&Q individually, not for the park as a whole, and we could not establish when either was last updated. Note from the Next guide that the four-hour parking limit applies to the Blue Badge bays too. Separately, the operator describes the location of Shopmobility differently on two of its own pages — ring 01202 598295 rather than relying on finding it unaided.
  • Two parts of this page rest on second-hand sourcing and we would rather flag it. The 1968 and 2003 Bournemouth Echo material reaches us via a Bournemouth University history blog quoting the Echo, not from the original cuttings. And the Cllr Jeff Hanna quotation is published by Buzz, Bournemouth University's student journalism outlet, because our preferred source — BCP Council's own Local Plan representation PDF covering Castlepoint — is blocked to us by the site's robots rules.