ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Shopping centre · South West

The Mall at Cribbs Causeway: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

Bristol’s enclosed centre off the M5, open since 1998, with John Lewis and Marks & Spencer both still anchoring it. The thing worth understanding before you go is that “Cribbs” is three separate places with three postcodes — and most of the figures you will read cover all three.

Illustration of The Mall at Cribbs Causeway, Patchway, Bristol

The Mall opened on 31 March 1998, developed and funded by Baylis Estates and M&G, and it is still one of the strongest enclosed centres outside London. Both original anchors are still trading: John Lewis at 230,000 sq ft and Marks & Spencer at 145,400 sq ft.

Before anything else, the geography. “Cribbs” is three separate schemes, all owned by M&G and marketed as one brand: The Mall (this page, enclosed, two levels, BS34 5DG), Cribbs Causeway Retail Park (open-air big-box, BS34 5TX, about 215,000 sq ft over 13 units) and The Venue (leisure, BS10 7SR — a different postcode district — with a 12-screen Vue, Hollywood Bowl and Mulligans). The headline numbers you will see quoted, “over 150 stores” and “7,000 free spaces”, are the combined figures for all three, not the Mall on its own.

It is one of the most successful shopping centres in the UK.

— Scott Linard, portfolio director at M&G Real Estate, source

The essentials

DetailThe Mall at Cribbs Causeway
What it isEnclosed two-level shopping centre, part of a three-scheme destination with an adjoining retail park and leisure park
AddressThe Mall at Cribbs Causeway, Patchway, Bristol, South Gloucestershire
Satnav postcodeBS34 5DG (some sources give BS34 5QT; the retail park is BS34 5TX and The Venue BS10 7SR)
Opened31 March 1998, developed and funded by Baylis Estates and M&G
Size995,000 sq ft on one published figure, “over 800,000” on another. Neither is the whole destination
StoresAround 130 in the Mall (our master-list figure). The widely quoted “over 150” covers the Mall, the retail park and The Venue together)
AnchorsJohn Lewis 230,000 sq ft and Marks & Spencer 145,400 sq ft, both still trading. Next has upsized to 47,000 sq ft
ParkingFree. The 7,000-space figure is for all three schemes combined; no Mall-only count is published, and neither are time limits or multi-storey height restrictions
OwnerM&G Real Estate, which increased its stake in September 2024, returning the centre to its original investors after intu’s collapse in June 2020
Asset managerSovereign Centros, part of CBRE
Websitemallcribbs.com

Opening times

DayHours
Monday to Friday9.30am – 8pm
Saturday9am – 8pm
Sunday11am – 5pm
Bank holidays10am – 6pm

Read as plain text from the operator’s own pages on 1 September 2026 — these are centre hours and they are reliable. Individual store hours are a different matter: those pages are JavaScript-rendered and one returned a garbled line reading “Closed 9:30 am - 8:00 pm”, so we have not published any. The cinema and the restaurants at The Venue run much later than the Mall. Christmas and Easter closures are not stated on the pages we could read.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to The Mall at Cribbs Causeway: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By car

Cribbs sits north of Bristol near the M5 and the M4/M5 Almondsbury interchange, and is signed from both. We have not printed junction numbers: we could not confirm them from a source worth trusting, and at an interchange that complicated a wrong number is worse than none. Use BS34 5DG for the Mall — and note that the retail park (BS34 5TX) and The Venue (BS10 7SR) have their own postcodes, so a satnav will happily take you to the wrong car park.

Parking is free. The often-quoted 7,000 spaces covers all three schemes; there is no published Mall-only figure, no published time limit, and — the one that catches people out — no published height restriction for the multi-storeys. If you are in a van or carrying a roof box, ring first.

By bus

The centre has its own bus station, served by MetroBus m1 and m4 among others. Those are scheduled public services that terminate here — they are not a dedicated shuttle, whatever some listings call them.

By train

Bristol Parkway is the nearest main-line station, but we could not find a published distance or a recommended onward connection from a source we could verify, so we have not stated one.

Accessibility

Free wheelchair and scooter hire is available, but it is not branded Shopmobility — it is the Cribbs Accessibility Centre in Car Park K. It is free, needs 24 hours’ notice, and you must bring photo ID. There is one Changing Places toilet on the upper mall by the bus station entrance, and around 400 accessible bays.

The shops

Both anchors have stayed and both have reinvested — John Lewis at 230,000 sq ft and Marks & Spencer at 145,400 sq ft with a 103,000 sq ft refit. Next has upsized to 47,000 sq ft. For an enclosed centre of this age, keeping a John Lewis is the single most important thing about it.

Recent arrivals

Bath & Body Works opened its first South West store in August 2026, alongside the Next upsize. Over 2024 and 2025 the centre added LEGO, Sweaty Betty, KIKO Milano, Castore and Austen & Blake, with Miniso, AllSaints, Levi’s, Animal and Rodd & Gunn also arriving. H&M and Boots have both reinvested in their stores.

What is going

H Beauty, the Harrods beauty format, closes on 12 July 2026 — Harrods declined to renew. Worth knowing if that was your reason for the trip. Separately, WHSmith on the high street has become TGJones, so the name on the fascia here has changed too.

Useful to know

How it got here

The Mall opened on 31 March 1998, developed and funded by Baylis Estates and M&G, on a site north of Bristol chosen for its motorway access. It has been the dominant comparison-shopping destination for the wider region ever since — which is exactly why its expansion was so contentious.

That expansion is the defining episode. A £300m scheme to enlarge the centre by 50% was approved by South Gloucestershire Council on 3 November 2016. It was called in, went to a public inquiry in September 2017, and was rejected by the Secretary of State, James Brokenshire, on 1 October 2018, after objections from Bristol, Bath, Newport, Swindon, Taunton and Weston. It was never built, and the centre you visit today is the one that opened in 1998, extended and refitted rather than enlarged.

On ownership: intu had a stake until its collapse in June 2020. In September 2024 M&G increased its holding, returning the centre, in its own words, to the ownership of its original investors.

What we could not check

  • Most published figures cover all three schemes. “Over 150 stores” and “7,000 free spaces” are the Mall plus the retail park plus The Venue. No Mall-only parking count is published at all.
  • Floor area is given as 995,000 sq ft in one source and “over 800,000” in another, and we found four different store counts. The postcode is given as BS34 5DG and BS34 5QT depending on the source.
  • Multi-storey height restrictions and parking time limits are not published anywhere we could find. For a centre this size that is a real gap, and it is the thing most likely to spoil a trip in a tall vehicle.
  • Individual store opening hours are JavaScript-rendered and could not be read — one page returned the string “Closed 9:30 am - 8:00 pm”. We have published centre hours only. Christmas and Easter policy, cinema hours and anchor hours are all unconfirmed.
  • We could not verify the distance to Bristol Parkway, the A-road routes, or whether there is a taxi rank at the centre.
  • Centre-wide click and collect, assistance-dog policy and autism-friendly provision are not documented in anything we could reach.
  • The 2024 M&G transaction price and the M&G/Baylis share split were not disclosed, and the current centre director is not named publicly. The rejected expansion was reported as creating 3,000 jobs in some sources and 4,000 in others.
  • Insider Media and Estates Gazette could not be read (robots and a 403 respectively), so some trade coverage of this centre is not reflected here.