ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Retail park · North West

Manchester Fort: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

A 1,200-space free car park two miles north of Manchester city centre, with Next, M&S Food, B&Q and a two-storey Oxfam superstore in a converted water tank. Here is what is actually there, what the four-hour parking rule means, and which tram stop is nearest.

Illustration of Manchester Fort, Manchester

Manchester Fort sits at the point where Cheetham Hill Road meets Queens Road, close enough to the city centre that you can see the skyline from the car park and far enough out that the parking is free. It opened as a bulky-goods park — the sort of place you drove to for a sofa — and spent the next twenty years turning into something closer to a high street with a car park attached, which is how it now comes to have Next, H&M's old unit, Nike, JD Sports, TK Maxx and an M&S FoodHall alongside B&Q and Halfords.

It is, on its owner's own description, one of the largest and most successful retail parks of its kind in Greater Manchester. That is a claim from a development framework written for the landlord, so treat it as the landlord's view rather than an independent one — but the underlying numbers in the same document are unusually specific: around 7.1 million customer visits a year, £500m of spending, 745 people employed, and 86% of visitors arriving from a Manchester postcode.

What follows is everything we could verify from the operator, Manchester City Council, the trade press and the letting agents on 5 September 2026 — and, just as importantly, a plain list of what nobody publishes at all. This park is unusually quiet about some basics: there is no phone number anywhere on its website, and no height restriction is stated for the car park.

We know how important Manchester Fort is to the communities of north Manchester, providing an attractive one-stop shopping hub for local people.

— Cllr Suzanne Richards, Manchester City Council’s executive member for housing and regeneration, in the council’s 4 November 2020 announcement of the Manchester Fort consultation, reproduced by the planning consultancy Turley, source

The essentials

DetailManchester Fort
What it isAn out-of-town shopping park on Cheetham Hill Road, roughly two miles north of Manchester city centre. Built as a bulky-goods destination and now largely fashion, sports and food brands, with a small food-and-drink offer.
AddressManchester Fort Shopping Park, Cheetham Hill Road, Manchester M8 8EP
Satnav postcodeM8 8EP
Opened2004 — or 2005. The owner’s own 2020s Vision development framework and Place North West both say 2004; the consultation announcement carried by Turley says “Manchester Fort opened in 2005”. Both are printed here because neither can be shown to be the correct one.
SizeFour unreconciled figures: 325,000 sq ft (Place North West and the Savills letting brochure), 337,262 sq ft “scheme size” (Savills asset particulars), 350,000 sq ft (CoStar) and 455,000 sq ft “total” in the same Savills particulars. The document giving the largest figure is headed “Cheetham Hill Retail Park”, so the 455,000 sq ft may cover more than the marketed scheme. Nobody publishes the site area in acres.
Number of stores38 named on the operator’s own homepage on 5 September 2026. Place North West said around 36 units in 2025; the council framework said around 40 tenants.
ParkingOver 1,200 free spaces according to the operator; 1,327 spaces including 180 staff spaces according to the Savills particulars. Free of charge, no ticket needed.
Parking time limitMaximum stay four hours. The car park is open 7am to 11pm and there is no parking between 11pm and 7am. Enforced by number-plate cameras and attendants, with a £100 charge for breaching the rules and no return within one hour of leaving.
Height restrictionNone published. We checked the operator’s site directly for this and found nothing, and Parkopedia — the usual fallback — returned an error on both of its pages for the site. If you are driving a van or a roof box, assume nothing.
EV chargingNot mentioned anywhere by the operator. PlugShare lists a Tesla charger and one Type 2 connector at the park; we could not find a Zap-Map listing to corroborate it. Crowd-sourced data, unconfirmed by the landlord.
OwnerPGIM Real Estate, which bought the park from Nuveen in July 2025. The price was not disclosed by either party. Place North West dated the deal 25 July 2025 and CoStar 28 July 2025; the difference has not been reconciled.
Previous ownerNuveen, holding through the Manchester Fort Shopping Park Limited Partnership
Letting and asset managementSavills, whose particulars name Andy Hall (Savills) and Nalin Nilaweera (Rosebury Real Estate) as contacts. The operator’s own site says the park is “managed by Savills Place”.
FootfallAround 7.1 million customer visits a year (Manchester City Council development framework, 2021) or “over 5 million pedestrians per year” (Savills particulars, undated).
Spending and jobs£500m spent by visitors each year and 745 employees — 233 full-time, 512 part-time — with 92% of visitors making a purchase. All from the 2021 development framework.
CatchmentOver 20,000 people within a 20-minute walk and 830,000 within a 15-minute drive; over 28,000 vehicles pass the site each day. 86% of visitors come from a Manchester postcode.
Websitemanchesterfort.co.uk Verified live and correct for this park on 5 September 2026.
PhoneNone published. There is no general telephone number for the park anywhere on its website. The only number on the site is a Clarks appointment line, 0161 834 3936.

Opening times

DayHours
Monday to Friday9am – 8pm
Saturday9am – 6pm
Sunday11am – 5pm
Bank holidaysNot published
Christmas and New YearNot published

Checked 5 September 2026. These are the park-wide hours given on the operator’s homepage and again on its visitor information page — the two agree, which on this project is not a given. We could not reach a third or fourth operator page to cross-check: the opening-times, stores and contact pages either returned a 403 or were not indexed at all, and one further page returned 403 on a second attempt. Individual stores differ. Next’s own store-finder page for Unit 22 gives Monday 9am–6pm, Tuesday to Friday 9am–8pm, Saturday 9am–7pm and Sunday 11am–5pm — that is two hours shorter than the park on a Monday and an hour longer on a Saturday. No bank holiday or Christmas hours are published anywhere. Check with the individual shop before making a special trip.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Manchester Fort: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By car

Postcode M8 8EP. The operator does not publish a motorway junction number, so we do not print one — a wrong junction is worse than none. What the park does sit on is the intersection of two strategic routes: Cheetham Hill Road (A665) and Queens Road (A6010), a junction that carries more than 28,000 vehicles a day. Coming out of the city centre, Cheetham Hill Road runs north from Victoria and the park is on your right; coming across from the east or west, Queens Road is the road you want.

Parking is free, with over 1,200 spaces, but the four-hour maximum stay is enforced by number-plate cameras and there is a £100 charge for overstaying. You also cannot re-enter within an hour of leaving, which catches people who nip out and come back. The car park closes overnight: no parking between 11pm and 7am. The operator says there are designated parent-and-child spaces and blue badge spaces, and that the car park holds a British Parking Association Park Access Award of Excellence.

No charging Clean Air Zone applies. Greater Manchester’s charging zone was withdrawn in February 2022 and the replacement plan approved in 2025 is investment-led: Clean Air Greater Manchester states plainly that there are no clean air charges to drive anywhere in Greater Manchester. You will not be charged for driving here in an older vehicle.

By tram

The nearest Metrolink stop appears to be Queens Road, which the Manchester tourism site Visit North West lists Manchester Fort against as a nearby landmark. Neither Transport for Greater Manchester nor the operator publishes a walking distance or time from the stop to the park, so we cannot give one. Queens Road is served by the Altrincham–Bury and Bury–Piccadilly services; Abraham Moss is the next stop along the same line. The park’s own directions instead tell you to head for Victoria and follow the tram lines to Corporation Street, which is a longer walk.

By train and bus

Manchester Victoria is the station the operator names, but it publishes no distance and neither does anyone else — it is a walk of well over a mile, so most people take the tram or a bus for the last leg. The operator names bus route 135, which stops on Cheetham Hill Road. Taxis can be booked through customer services, though no number is given for that either.

Coach parking: not mentioned by any source we checked.

Accessibility

The operator confirms blue badge and parent-and-child bays, and toilets and baby change in the customer service suite. There is no AccessAble venue guide for the park as a whole — AccessAble holds store-level guides for Next, B&Q Cheetham Hill and M&S Simply Food Cheetham Hill only, and the Next guide did not return usable content when we fetched it. No Changing Places toilet is mentioned anywhere; that is an absence in the sources rather than a confirmed absence on the ground. No mobility scooter or wheelchair hire is advertised.

The shops

Thirty-eight names were listed on the operator’s homepage when we checked on 5 September 2026:

Fashion, sport and general: Next, New Look, JD Sports, Nike Factory Store, TK Maxx, Trespass, Regatta, Clarks, Argos, Asda Living, Dunelm, The Works, One Beyond, Card Factory, H Samuel, Oxfam Superstore.
Home, DIY and motoring: B&Q, Halfords.
Health, beauty and services: Boots, Superdrug, Specsavers, EE, Tui, Ladbrokes, Pets at Home, Vets for Pets.
Food and drink: M&S FoodHall, Nando’s, Five Guys, KFC, McDonald’s, Subway, Greggs, Costa, Starbucks, German Doner Kebab, Chit ’N’ Chaat, and The Watertank Café inside Oxfam.

What has arrived

Oxfam Superstore, opened 10am on Friday 19 July 2024. This is the most interesting thing on the park and the best-documented: a 10,000 sq ft charity superstore over two floors, with a café built inside a converted water tank. ITV News Granada reported hundreds queueing on the opening morning. Oxfam GB’s chief executive Halima Begum, there on the day, said: The store is wonderful. I’ve already spotted a very pretty pre-loved blouse to buy and a great book about Emmeline Pankhurst.

We could not find dated sources for the arrival of Nike Factory Store, Dunelm, Five Guys or German Doner Kebab, all of which are trading. A trade story headlined “M&S plans Cheetham Hill return” exists on Insider Media but is blocked to us, and no other outlet appears to have covered it, so we cannot say when or in what form the M&S FoodHall arrived.

What has gone

Pizza Hut appears on the list of 68 UK branches earmarked for closure published on 22 October 2025 and reported by The Manc. No individual closure date was given and the restaurant is no longer on the park’s store list.

Comparing the undated Savills letting brochure with today’s live list shows several other departures — Claire’s, Julian Charles, Dunkin’ Donuts and Sofa Express — but the brochure carries no date and no local coverage of any of these closures could be found, so we cannot say when they left. The brochure also lists “One Below” where the site now says “One Beyond”, which is the same discount chain after a rebrand rather than a change of tenant.

What is proposed

The 2020s Vision development framework, prepared by Turley for the then owner Nuveen and published through Manchester City Council, proposes removing the B&Q and Halfords units and replacing that end of the park with a cinema, a 20,000 sq ft foodstore, more restaurants and a hotel. The framework itself describes the timing as not imminent and dependent on those two leases expiring. Both stores were still trading on 5 September 2026, and the park changed hands in July 2025, so whether PGIM intends to pursue the plan is unknown.

Useful to know

How it got here

Before the park, this was not much of anywhere. Manchester City Council’s development framework records that the site held “existing low-grade retail and employment premises, the Queens Road household waste tip and the original Irish World Heritage Centre” — a tip and a cluster of sheds on one of the main roads out of the city.

The shopping park opened in 2004 according to the framework itself and Place North West, or 2005 according to the consultation announcement carried by Turley. It was built as a bulky-goods destination. The framework describes what happened next: Since being established as a bulky goods shopping destination, the Shopping Park has evolved and is now one of the largest and most successful retail parks of its kind in Greater Manchester. That is the landlord’s own document talking, but the drift from sofas to fashion is real enough and visible in the tenant list.

Ownership ran through the Manchester Fort Shopping Park Limited Partnership, a Nuveen vehicle, until July 2025, when PGIM Real Estate bought the park. Neither side disclosed a price, and Place North West reported that both were approached for comment and did not respond.

The unbuilt future is the 2020s Vision framework. Consultation on a draft began in November 2020; the finished document is dated August 2021 on its cover and December 2021 in its own reference block, and was prepared by Stephen Bell of Turley for the Shopping Park’s partnership. It sets out a case for diversifying away from big-box retail — a cinema, a foodstore, restaurants and a hotel — partly on the strength of the Northern Gateway housing scheme nearby, which is planned to bring around 15,000 homes into this part of north Manchester. Five years on, nothing has been built.

What we could not check

  • The opening year is not settled. The owner’s own development framework and Place North West say 2004; the council consultation announcement reproduced by Turley says 2005. We print both rather than picking one.
  • Four different floorspace figures are published — 325,000, 337,262, 350,000 and 455,000 sq ft — and two of them come from the same firm of agents. The largest appears in a document headed “Cheetham Hill Retail Park”, so it may cover land beyond the marketed scheme. We could not establish what each figure counts, and no source gives the site area in acres.
  • No height restriction is published for the car park. We checked the operator’s own site specifically for this and Parkopedia returned an error on both of its pages for the site. Drivers of vans, campers and cars with roof boxes have nothing to go on.
  • There is no telephone number for the park anywhere on its website. The only number we found on the operator’s own pages is a Clarks store appointment line.
  • Opening hours could only be confirmed from two operator pages, not the three or four we normally insist on: the opening-times, stores and contact pages returned a 403 or were not indexed. No bank holiday or Christmas hours are published at all.
  • Next’s own store page gives that branch different hours from the park-wide times — two hours shorter on Monday, an hour longer on Saturday. Individual store hours cannot be assumed from the park’s.
  • The nearest Metrolink stop is given as Queens Road on the strength of a tourism site that names the park as a landmark for that stop. Transport for Greater Manchester does not confirm it and nobody publishes the walking distance. The operator’s own directions point at Victoria instead, which is much further.
  • The distance from Manchester Victoria is not quantified by any source, including the operator.
  • EV charging is listed only on PlugShare, a crowd-sourced site, as one Tesla charger and one Type 2 connector. The operator does not mention charging at all and we found no Zap-Map listing to corroborate it.
  • No named quote describing the park as a whole exists in any independent source we could find across two research passes. The quote on this page is from a council announcement about a consultation, and the descriptive lines in the history section come from a document written for the landlord. Place North West’s coverage of the sale contains no direct quotes at all.
  • The July 2025 sale price was not disclosed, and the two trade reports date the deal differently — 25 July (Place North West) and 28 July (CoStar).
  • Departure dates for Claire’s, Julian Charles, Dunkin’ Donuts and Sofa Express could not be found; they are inferred from an undated letting brochure listing them and a live store list that does not. Pizza Hut’s closure is dated only to a 22 October 2025 announcement covering 68 branches, not to an actual closing day.
  • The Insider Media story “M&S plans Cheetham Hill return” is blocked to us by the publisher and no other outlet appears to have run it, so the date and nature of the M&S FoodHall’s arrival are unknown.
  • No Changing Places toilet, coach parking, cash machine or park-level click-and-collect service is mentioned by any source. That is an absence of information, not proof that none exists.
  • AccessAble has no venue guide for the park as a whole, only store-level guides for Next, B&Q and M&S Simply Food, so there is no surveyed accessibility data for the site itself.
  • The proposed cinema, foodstore and hotel are a framework proposal from 2021 under the previous owner. B&Q and Halfords were still trading on 5 September 2026 and PGIM has said nothing publicly about the plan.