ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Shopping centre · Yorkshire & the Humber

Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

Doncaster’s big covered centre, built over the town’s bus and rail interchange, with a fully published car park tariff — rare — and a rooftop deck with no height barrier at all. Before you search: frenchgate.co.uk does not exist. It is not parked, it does not resolve. The operator you want is frenchgateshopping.co.uk. Here is what the centre publishes, where its own pages contradict each other — and they do, four times over on parking alone — and the one thing about its ownership that the public register flatly refuses to confirm.

Illustration of Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster

The Frenchgate Centre sits on St Sepulchre Gate in the middle of Doncaster, and its defining feature is not a shop. The centre is built on top of and wrapped around Doncaster Interchange — the bus station and the railway station, both reachable from inside the mall. You can arrive by train, walk through a door into the centre and never go outside. That is unusual enough in Britain that the local authority makes a claim about it, which we come to below.

Start with the web address, because this one is a genuine trap. The obvious domain — frenchgate.co.uk — does not resolve at all. This is not a parked page, not a redirect, not a holding screen: the lookup fails. The operator’s actual website is frenchgateshopping.co.uk, and the good news is that it is a properly server-rendered site. Its hours, car park, tariff, store list, news and services pages all load and can be read, which is why a lot of what follows is the operator speaking rather than a third party guessing.

Two things make this page unusual. The first is that the operator publishes its full car park tariff in text, hour by hour, which most centres will not do. The second is that the same operator’s own pages give four different parking totals and two different satnav postcodes for the same building. We have printed all of them and said which page each came from.

The owner is Frasers Group, and the public register does not know it. Frasers bought the centre from Patrick McKillen on 2 July 2024 — well reported, and separately corroborated by the asset manager’s own project page. But Companies House still shows McKillen’s people in charge of both companies in the ownership chain, with identity checks completed as recently as November 2025. We set that gap out in full below, because it is the most interesting thing on the record about this centre.

What follows draws on the operator’s own pages, checked in early September 2026, AccessAble’s surveys of the centre and its car parks, the City of Doncaster Council, the asset manager Sovereign Centros, the local press and the Companies House register. Where sources disagree we print both figures and name who published each. Where nobody publishes something — and at Frenchgate that includes the Wi-Fi, the cash machines and the dogs policy — we say so plainly.

A wide variety of big names and independent retailers all under the roof of the largest covered malls in the country. It is the first shopping centre with an integrated public transport facility.

— City of Doncaster Council, on its own shopping pages — both superlatives are the council’s own claims and neither is independently verified

The essentials

DetailFrenchgate Centre
What it isA large enclosed town-centre shopping centre built over Doncaster Interchange, with the bus and railway stations reachable from inside. Named after Frenchgate, the medieval street beside it — a distinction that matters, because two well-known shops that "closed in Doncaster" were on that street and never in this centre.
AddressFrenchgate Centre, St Sepulchre Gate, Doncaster DN1 1SW
Satnav postcodeDN1 1QN or DN1 1SW The operator gives both. Its plan-your-visit page says to use DN1 1QN "for GPS"; its address and contact details say DN1 1SW. Both are on the operator’s own website and neither is flagged as superseding the other.
Opened1967, as the Arndale Centre Relaunched on 8 June 2006 as the Frenchgate Centre after a £200m redevelopment that built the Interchange and brought in Debenhams. Both dates come from The Star’s own on-this-day piece.
SizeAbout 770,000 sq ft Three figures exist: 750,000 sq ft at the 2006 relaunch, 770,000 in all the 2024–25 sale coverage, and 880,000 on the asset manager Sovereign Centros’ own project page. We lead with 770,000 because it is the most recent and the most repeated, not because we can prove it.
Number of storesNot published as a single reliable count The operator runs a live store directory but headlines no total. A unit is not a shop and a vacant unit is not a brand, so we have not manufactured a number.
ParkingPaid. Two car parks, both open 24 hours, both Park Mark accredited Four totals, every one of them from an insider source: 1,700 (operator homepage); 1,666 (operator car park page — 340 rooftop plus 846 multi-storey plus 480 rail long-stay); "1,200 shopper plus 500 rail" (operator plan-your-visit); 1,200 (Sovereign Centros). Full tariff below.
Car park tariff£1.60 up to 1 hour · £3.20 up to 2 · £4 up to 3 · £5 up to 5 · £6 up to 7 · £9.60 for 7–8 hours Cash or card, pay on exit at a kiosk or through the Evology Parking app. American Express is not accepted.
Height restriction2.135m in the multi-storey — but no height barrier at all on the rooftop deck The operator gives 2.135m; AccessAble’s survey gives 214cm, which is the same figure to within rounding. If you are in a van or have a roof box, the rooftop is the answer.
EV chargingYes — 14 bays operated by Zest, a mix of 22kW and 50kW Confirmed live by 9 April 2024.
Blue badge parking76 bays 16 on the rooftop and 60 in the multi-storey, which works out at 10 per level across six levels.
OwnerFrasers Group, from 2 July 2024 Bought from Patrick McKillen. Marketed at £35m; the price paid was not disclosed. Companies House does not reflect this sale — see the ownership section below.
Managed byBarnsdales (property and asset management) with Rawstron Johnson on leasing, reported 23 January 2025 Sovereign Centros describes an asset-management remit here for "their partner, Frasers Group". A Brasier Freeth leasing brochure dated 23.09.21 is McKillen-era, not a current appointment.
FootfallOver 16 million a year (2024 sale coverage) or 11.2 million (Sovereign Centros) A five-million-visit gap between two figures we cannot reconcile. Both are printed; neither is dated precisely enough to say which year it covers.
Websitefrenchgateshopping.co.uk frenchgate.co.uk does not resolve. Not parked, not redirected — the domain lookup simply fails.
Phone01302 368335 Two contact email addresses appear on the operator’s own site, customer.service@ and guest.services@, with nothing to say which is current.

Opening times

DayHours
Monday to Saturday9am – 5.30pm
Sunday10am – 4pm
NextFrom 10am on Monday an hour later than the centre, per Next’s own store page
Both car parksOpen 24 hours operator car park page
Christmas Eve9am – 4pm 2025 season only, see the note below
Christmas DayClosed 2025 season only
Boxing Day10am – 5pm 2025 season only
New Year’s Eve9am – 4pm 2025 season only
New Year’s DayClosed 2025 season only

Checked on the operator’s own pages in early September 2026. The core hours — 9am to 5.30pm Monday to Saturday, 10am to 4pm on Sunday — appear on the operator’s plan-your-visit page and are matched independently by Visit Doncaster. Two sources agreeing is about as good as this gets, and we are printing them as the headline times.

Individual shops do not all follow the centre. Next’s own store page gives a 10am Monday opening, half an hour to an hour later than the mall around it. If you are making a special trip for one retailer, check that retailer’s own page rather than the centre’s.

The festive rows above are last season’s and we have labelled them as such. The operator published them on 5 November 2025 for the 2025 season and nothing has replaced them. They are a reliable guide to the pattern — closed Christmas Day and New Year’s Day, short days either side — but they are not this year’s times. Ring 01302 368335 before travelling over a bank holiday. The car parks are a separate matter and a useful one: both are open 24 hours, so the deck is available long before and long after the shops are.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Frenchgate Centre: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By road

Use DN1 1QN or DN1 1SW — the operator publishes both. Its plan-your-visit page nominates DN1 1QN "for GPS"; its address and contact block gives DN1 1SW. They are not far apart in a town centre this compact, but if your satnav argues with a sign, that is why.

There is no junction number on this page, deliberately. The operator’s entire published road guidance is "Road access: M18 and A1 motorways" — no junction numbers, no approach directions, nothing further, and we are not going to invent one. Follow the town-centre signs from either road and use the postcode.

Parking, and the four numbers

Parking is paid, in two car parks — a rooftop deck and a multi-storey — and both are open 24 hours and hold Park Mark accreditation. The tariff is published in full, which is rarer than it should be: £1.60 up to an hour, £3.20 up to two, £4 up to three, £5 up to five, £6 up to seven and £9.60 for seven to eight hours. You pay on exit at a kiosk or through the Evology Parking app, by cash or card. American Express is not accepted, which is the sort of detail that ruins an afternoon if you only find it at the barrier.

How many spaces there are is another question entirely. Four totals are published — 1,700 (operator homepage), 1,666 (operator car park page, as 340 rooftop plus 846 multi-storey plus 480 rail long-stay), "1,200 shopper plus 500 rail" (operator plan-your-visit) and 1,200 (Sovereign Centros) — and every one of them comes from an insider. The car park page breakdown is the only one that adds up to its own total, so it is the one we would trust, but the operator contradicts itself twice more on its own website. What matters practically is that there are well over a thousand spaces, open around the clock.

Height — the rooftop is the answer

The multi-storey has a 2.135m height restriction, which AccessAble’s survey independently records as 214cm — the same figure. The rooftop deck has no height barrier at all. If you are driving a van, a high-roof MPV or anything with a box on top, go up rather than in.

Electric vehicles

14 charging bays, run by Zest, in a mix of 22kW and 50kW units, confirmed live by 9 April 2024. That is a decent provision for a town-centre centre of this size.

By train and bus — the whole point of the place

Doncaster Interchange is the centre. The railway station and the bus station both connect directly into the mall, and there is a step-free internal entrance from the station with a door width of 218cm — the widest of the six the AccessAble survey measured. This is why the council calls Frenchgate "the first shopping centre with an integrated public transport facility", a claim we quote but cannot verify.

We do not know who owns the Interchange itself. Travel South Yorkshire’s page does not say, and there is a trap here — a company called Frenchgate Interchange Limited exists, but it is a private property vehicle in the shopping centre’s ownership chain, not the transport authority.

Coaches and taxis

Neither is covered anywhere we could find — not by the operator, not by the council, not by the local press. For a centre wrapped around a bus station that is a surprising gap, but we would rather flag it than guess.

Accessibility

This is one of the better-documented centres in the country for access, because AccessAble has surveyed both the centre and its car parks. There is a Changing Places toilet — second floor, by the Upper West Mall lifts, overhead hoist, 185cm bench, RADAR key. That is a proper facility, not a rebadged accessible toilet.

Six step-free entrances are recorded with their door widths: Doncaster Station internal 218cm, Station Court 198cm, South Mall 143cm, Interchange 139cm and North Mall 110cm. Accessible toilets are in the Gallery — one of them with baby change — and in the Harper Suite on the second floor, though the Harper Suite one is left transfer only, which is exactly the sort of thing that decides whether a trip works.

No Shopmobility scheme is mentioned in the AccessAble guides, and we could not find one anywhere else in Doncaster either. Blue badge parking is 76 bays: 16 on the rooftop and 60 in the multi-storey, ten on each of six levels.

The shops

The operator runs a live store directory but publishes no headline store count, and we are not going to construct one and present it as the operator’s figure. What follows is the line-up as the operator lists it.

The anchors

Sainsbury’s is the food anchor and offers a carry-to-car service. Alongside it: H&M, Next, New Look, River Island, TK Maxx, Sports Direct, Schuh, Boots, Superdrug and Waterstones.

Leisure

The Gym Group, Build-A-Bear, Cosmo and Flip Out, the last of which is at 22 North Mall. We flag that unit number for a reason, explained below.

What Frasers said it would do — and what we can confirm

When Frasers Group bought the centre in July 2024 it said it would take Sports Direct to over 35,000 sq ft and add USC, GAME and Evans Cycles — the standard Frasers playbook, and it may well have happened. None of it is confirmed open by any source we could reach. Treat the four as intentions with a date on them, not as stores you can walk into.

The Debenhams unit, which nobody can account for

Debenhams arrived with the 2006 redevelopment and closed in May 2021 with the chain. The unit is 26 North Central Square, DN1 1LH, and what has happened to it since is unresolved after two separate attempts to pin it down.

Here is what is documented. A five-screen cinema was approved on 10 January 2022 (21/03134/FULM). A six-screen application followed in February 2023 (23/00031/FULM) and attracted local objections. There is no decision on that second application, no operator brand attached to either, no opening date and no findable current occupant. Doncaster’s planning portal returns a 403 to a direct request, so we have search snippets and nothing better.

Two separate cinema schemes get conflated in the coverage and they are not the same thing. A 2019 £8m plan for the old BHS unit — "two well-known cinema brands", due spring 2020 — also never opened, and that is a different unit and a different scheme. Flip Out is at 22 North Mall, which is not the Debenhams unit either. If you read that Frenchgate has a cinema, check which building is meant: on the evidence available neither scheme has produced one.

Marks and Spencer and House of Fraser were never in this centre

This one catches people out constantly. Doncaster’s M&S and House of Fraser were on Baxtergate and Frenchgate Street — Frenchgate being the medieval street the centre is named after, not the centre itself. Neither appears on the operator’s tenant list.

House of Fraser closed in April 2024, having traded since the mid-1970s on the former Owen and Owen site. M&S closed on 14 September 2025 and moved to a £7m store of over 32,000 sq ft on Wheatley Hall Road, food hall reopening 15 September and fashion and home in October 2025. So when you read that Doncaster "lost M&S and House of Fraser", that is true of the town and not of this building. We label this a well-evidenced inference rather than a documented fact, because no source states it in those words — but the addresses and the tenant list both point the same way.

Useful to know

The Changing Places toilet, and arriving without a car

The Changing Places is on the second floor by the Upper West Mall lifts: overhead hoist, 185cm bench, RADAR key. A real facility with a published specification, which is more than most centres this size manage. And the station and bus station are both inside the building, the internal station entrance being the widest step-free door on site at 218cm — there is no better argument for leaving the car at home at any centre on this website.

If you are driving something tall, or paying

Go to the rooftop: the multi-storey is limited to 2.135m and the rooftop has no height barrier. Both are open 24 hours. Payment is on exit, at a kiosk or through the Evology Parking app, by cash or card — but not American Express.

What is on the services page

Amazon Lockers, Sainsbury’s carry-to-car, gift cards and a published code of conduct.

What is not

We read the operator’s services-and-facilities page specifically to check, and there is no mention of Wi-Fi, cash machines, a dogs policy or click-and-collect, nor anything anywhere about coach parking or a taxi rank. That does not mean none of these exist — a centre with a Sainsbury’s almost certainly has a cash machine — only that the operator does not say so. Phone 01302 368335 if one of them decides your trip.

How it got here

The centre opened in 1967 as the Arndale Centre, one of 23 English Arndales, and its construction took out the North Bus Station, Gresley House and the Trades and Labour Club. That the site has been about buses since the 1960s is worth holding on to, because it is what the 2006 scheme built on. On 8 June 2006 the centre relaunched as Frenchgate after a £200m redevelopment that created the Interchange in its current form and brought Debenhams in as a department-store anchor. Both dates come from The Star’s own on-this-day piece. Debenhams lasted fifteen years and closed with the chain in May 2021.

The ownership question, which the public register will not answer

This is the most interesting thing on the record about Frenchgate, and it deserves setting out carefully.

What is reported: Frasers Group bought the Frenchgate Centre from Patrick McKillen on 2 July 2024. The centre had been marketed at £35m; the price actually paid was not disclosed. We checked BDO’s deal records and found nothing for it.

What corroborates it: Sovereign Centros, on its own project page for Frenchgate, describes its asset-management remit here as being for "their partner, Frasers Group". An asset manager describing its own client is a decent independent check on who owns the building — and that page also supplied the 880,000 sq ft figure, a unit count, a parking total and the 11.2 million footfall, none of which appear anywhere else.

What does not corroborate it: Companies House. Two companies sit in the ownership chain — Frenchgate General Partner Limited (04103949) and its 75%-or-more controlling shareholder Frenchgate Interchange Limited (05867230), incorporated on 5 July 2006 at the same London address and classified as "buying and selling of own real estate". Both of them still show Patrick McKillen and Liam Cunningham as directors, appointed on 19 December 2019, with identity verifications completed on 12 August 2025 and 7 November 2025. McKillen remains a registered person with significant control, notified on 8 November 2016. There is no Frasers or FRS entity in either company. Accounts have been overdue since 30 September 2025.

We are printing this as an open question rather than resolving it. The likeliest explanation is straightforward: the deal was a property transaction, or a transfer of a non-UK vehicle, that simply does not touch these two English companies. That happens all the time and is not evidence of anything improper. But it means the register — normally the best tool for dating and confirming a change of ownership — cannot date this one and cannot confirm it, and identity checks carried out more than a year after the reported sale are a striking detail either way.

Who runs it day to day

Barnsdales was reported on 23 January 2025 as property and asset manager, with Rawstron Johnson on leasing. A Brasier Freeth leasing brochure for the centre is dated 23.09.21, which places it firmly in the McKillen era — it is not evidence of a current appointment, and should not be read as one.

What we could not check

  • frenchgate.co.uk does not resolve. This is a DNS failure, not a parked page or a redirect — the domain lookup simply fails. The operator’s site is frenchgateshopping.co.uk. Anything presenting itself at the other address is not this centre.
  • Companies House does not reflect the Frasers sale and we cannot explain the gap. Frenchgate General Partner Limited (04103949) and Frenchgate Interchange Limited (05867230) both still show Patrick McKillen and Liam Cunningham as directors, appointed 19 December 2019, with identity verifications on 12 August and 7 November 2025 and McKillen still a registered PSC from 8 November 2016. No Frasers or FRS entity appears in either. Accounts have been overdue since 30 September 2025. The reported 2 July 2024 sale is corroborated by Sovereign Centros naming Frasers as its partner here, but the register cannot date or confirm it.
  • The price is not published. The centre was marketed at £35m; what Frasers actually paid was not disclosed, and no BDO deal record exists for it. The festive hours on this page are last season’s — published by the operator on 5 November 2025 for the 2025 season, and never replaced. Treat them as the pattern, not as this year’s times.
  • Four different parking totals are published, all by insiders. 1,700 on the operator’s homepage; 1,666 on the operator’s car park page (340 rooftop, 846 multi-storey, 480 rail long-stay); "1,200 shopper plus 500 rail" on the operator’s plan-your-visit page; 1,200 on Sovereign Centros. We have not picked one.
  • Two satnav postcodes appear on the operator’s own website. DN1 1QN is given on plan-your-visit "for GPS"; DN1 1SW is the address and contact postcode. Neither page acknowledges the other. No motorway junction number appears on this page, deliberately — the operator’s entire published road guidance is "Road access: M18 and A1 motorways", verbatim, with no numbers.
  • Three floor areas and two footfall figures are published. 750,000 sq ft at the 2006 relaunch, 770,000 in all the 2024–25 coverage, 880,000 on Sovereign Centros’ project page; and over 16 million visits a year in the sale coverage against 11.2 million on Sovereign Centros. We cannot tell which measurement basis or which year each uses. Two contact email addresses also appear on the operator’s own site — customer.service@ and guest.services@ — with nothing to indicate which is current, and no store count is published as a single reliable figure.
  • The Debenhams unit is unresolved after two passes. Debenhams closed in May 2021 at 26 North Central Square, DN1 1LH. A five-screen cinema was approved on 10 January 2022 (21/03134/FULM) and a six-screen application followed in February 2023 (23/00031/FULM) with local objections, but there is no decision, no brand, no opening date and no findable current occupant. Doncaster’s planning portal returns a 403 to a direct fetch, so we have only search snippets.
  • Do not merge the two cinema schemes. A separate 2019 £8m plan for the old BHS unit, for "two well-known cinema brands" in spring 2020, also never opened — a different unit and a different application, constantly conflated in the coverage. Flip Out, at 22 North Mall, is not the Debenhams unit either.
  • The Frasers lettings are announced, not confirmed open. Frasers said in July 2024 that it would take Sports Direct over 35,000 sq ft and add USC, GAME and Evans Cycles. None of the four is confirmed trading by any source we could reach. Separately, that M&S and House of Fraser were never in this centre is our inference, clearly labelled: both were Baxtergate and Frenchgate Street stores, and neither appears on the operator’s tenant list.
  • Both of the council’s superlatives are unverified. "The largest covered malls in the country" and "the first shopping centre with an integrated public transport facility" are the City of Doncaster Council’s own claims on its own shopping page. We quote them as the council’s words and have not been able to test either. No council evidence-base quote could be obtained: both volumes of the Doncaster Retail, Leisure and Town Centres Study sit on a Microsoft blob host, one requiring provenance we could not supply and the other disallowed to automated retrieval.
  • Who owns Doncaster Interchange itself is unknown. Travel South Yorkshire’s page does not say. Note the trap: Frenchgate Interchange Limited is a private property vehicle in the shopping centre’s ownership chain, not the transport authority.
  • We could not confirm Wi-Fi, cash machines, a dogs policy, click-and-collect, coach parking or a taxi rank. The operator’s services-and-facilities page carries Amazon Lockers, Sainsbury’s carry-to-car, gift cards and a code of conduct, and none of the others. No Shopmobility scheme is mentioned in either AccessAble guide, and we could find none in Doncaster either way. Absent from the website is not the same as absent from the centre — phone 01302 368335 if one of them matters.