York Designer Outlet, Fulford: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times
A two-floor designer outlet on the southern edge of York with free parking, more than a hundred stores and one genuinely unusual feature: its car park is also the city's Designer Outlet Park & Ride, so the bus into York goes from outside the door. It changed hands in April 2026 — Aviva Investors sold to Frasers Group — and McArthurGlen stayed on as manager. Here is what the operator publishes, where it contradicts itself, and what nobody publishes at all.
York Designer Outlet stands on St Nicholas Avenue at Fulford, just off the A64 on the southern edge of York. It is a two-floor covered outlet centre with more than a hundred stores, a Food Quarter of around eighteen units, free parking and no published time limit on how long you can stay. It opened in 1998, and we will be honest about that date in a moment because it rests on a single source.
The best thing about it, practically speaking, is the bus. The outlet's own car park is City of York Council's Designer Outlet Park & Ride — about a thousand of its spaces are given over to it — and First Bus service 7 runs from the site into York seven days a week in around fifteen minutes. That has two consequences. If you are visiting York, you can park free here and ride in. And if you are arriving by train, York station is not a walk from the outlet; the link is that bus, and you should plan for it rather than assume you can stroll over.
The ownership changed hands recently and it is easy to get wrong. On 29 April 2026, Aviva Investors sold the centre to Frasers Group, along with East Midlands Designer Outlet. McArthurGlen manages the centre and did so before the sale and after it — McArthurGlen is the manager, not the landlord. A great deal of coverage blurs the two. The price was not disclosed; the figure of around £400m that appears in some reports was the marketing price for both centres together, quoted about a fortnight before completion, and is not what was paid.
What follows draws on McArthurGlen's own centre pages and its 2024 York centre handbook, City of York Council's planning committee papers, First Bus route information, AccessAble, Zapmap, and the trade and regional press that covered the sale. Where the operator contradicts itself — and on Saturday opening it does — we have printed both versions with their sources.
The essentials
| Detail | York Designer Outlet |
|---|---|
| What it is | A covered two-floor designer outlet centre with a Food Quarter of around 18 units, on the southern edge of York. |
| Address | St Nicholas Avenue, Fulford, York, YO19 4TA |
| Satnav postcode | YO19 4TA The operator publishes no motorway or A-road junction number. The approach is from the A64 ring road. |
| Opened | 1998 Single-sourced to the Yorkshire Post, with no day or month given, and we found no second source to confirm it. Treat the year as likely rather than established. |
| Size | About 250,000 sq ft (roughly 23,000 sq m), or "almost 350,000 sq ft" The smaller figure is given by both the Yorkshire Post and Place Yorkshire, each reporting the 2026 sale. The larger comes from theindustry.fashion, whose opening hours for the centre are also wrong, so we would lean towards the smaller number — but we have printed both because we cannot prove it. |
| Number of stores | Over 100 (operator), around 120 (sale coverage), or over 120 (directory listings) Three figures from three kinds of source. The operator's own claim is the most conservative of them. |
| Parking | Free, with no time limit published 2,800 spaces per Welcome to Yorkshire; 2,700 in the original planning approval as recorded in City of York Council committee papers. Colour-coded zones: Red to the south, Yellow and Green to the west, Black is the coach park. |
| Height restriction | None published anywhere. We checked the operator's visit page, its contact page, its own 2024 centre handbook and AccessAble's guide. All four are silent. These are surface car parks, so a barrier is unlikely, but we are not printing a figure nobody has published. |
| Park and ride | The car park is City of York Council's Designer Outlet Park & Ride, using about 1,000 of its spaces First Bus service 7 into York, seven days a week, about 15 minutes, £3.90 adult return, under-16s free with a full-fare adult. |
| EV charging | Figures do not reconcile: 32 charge points (operator), 30 or more (AccessAble), or 8 devices with 17 connectors at 60p/kWh on the RAW Charging network (Zapmap) Zapmap counts physical devices and connectors, which is a different thing from what an operator calls a "point" — that may be the whole explanation, but no source says so. |
| Owner | Frasers Group, since 29 April 2026 Bought from Aviva Investors together with East Midlands Designer Outlet. Price undisclosed. CBRE advised Frasers; Morgan Williams advised Aviva. |
| Manager | McArthurGlen — the manager, not the landlord McArthurGlen managed the centre before the sale and stayed on after it. It does not own the site and did not sell it. |
| Centre manager | Paul Tyler |
| Footfall | 4.3 million (2026 sale reporting) or 3.5 million (an undated directory listing) The higher figure is the more recent and better-sourced of the two, but the older one is still in circulation, so both are here. |
| Website | mcarthurglen.com Verified live. There is also a yorkdesigneroutlet.com email address in the operator's own 2024 handbook and the social media handles use that name, but we did not test whether the bare domain resolves, so we are not printing it as a web address. |
| Phone | 01904 682700 Listed by a tourism directory as the general number. The 2024 centre handbook gives 01904 682701 for the centre manager and 01904 682712 for security. We could not establish which is the right one for a general enquiry, so start with 682700. |
Opening times
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Monday to Friday | 9.30am – 8pm |
| Saturday | 9am or 9.30am – 8pm the operator publishes both — see the note below |
| Sunday | 10am – 6pm but stores over 3,000 sq ft trade 11am – 5pm |
| Bank holidays | 9.30am – 8pm the operator adds that these "may vary" |
| Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year and Easter | Not published no holiday hours are given anywhere we could find |
Checked 5 September 2026. The weekday, Sunday and bank holiday times above are readable on the operator's own pages and are unusually clear for a centre of this kind — including the detail that stores over 3,000 sq ft keep the shorter Sunday hours of 11am to 5pm that Sunday trading law requires of larger units, while the centre itself is open 10am to 6pm.
Saturday is the problem, and the operator is arguing with itself. mcarthurglen.com gives Saturday opening as 9am. McArthurGlen's own 2024 centre handbook for York gives 9.30am. Those are the same company publishing two different times, and there is no third source that settles it. We have printed both rather than pick a winner. If you are making an early start on a Saturday specifically to beat the crowds, assume 9.30am and treat 9am as a bonus if the doors are already open.
No Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year or Easter hours are published at all — not on the website, not in the handbook. Phone before travelling at any of those times. One third-party site, theindustry.fashion, publishes opening hours for this centre that do not match either operator source; we have not used them and we would not rely on them.
Getting there
By road
Use the postcode YO19 4TA. The operator does not publish a junction number and neither do we. The practical approach is from the A64, the road that skirts York to the south and east, and the centre is signposted from it. Fulford is on the southern edge of the city, so you do not have to go through York itself to reach it.
Parking
Parking is free, and no maximum stay is published anywhere — which is worth knowing given the site doubles as a park and ride, where people leave cars all day. The car parks are colour-coded: Red to the south, Yellow and Green to the west, and Black is the coach park. The space count depends on the source: 2,800 per Welcome to Yorkshire, or 2,700 in the original planning consent as recorded in City of York Council's own committee papers.
No height restriction is published by anyone. We checked the operator's visit page, its contact page, its 2024 centre handbook and AccessAble's access guide, and all four are silent on it. The car parks are surface car parks, so a barrier is unlikely, but we are not going to print a figure that does not exist.
EV charging is on site, and the counts do not reconcile: the operator says 32 charge points, AccessAble says 30 or more, and Zapmap records 8 devices with 17 connectors on the RAW Charging network at 60p per kWh. Zapmap is counting hardware and an operator is probably counting sockets, which may be the whole story, but nobody says so explicitly.
The park and ride — and why York station is not a walk
This is the part worth reading twice. The outlet's car park is City of York Council's Designer Outlet Park & Ride, with around 1,000 of its spaces given over to it. First Bus service 7 runs from the site into York seven days a week, takes about fifteen minutes, and costs £3.90 for an adult return, with under-16s travelling free when accompanied by a full-fare adult.
The published timings are generous at both ends. First buses towards the city run between 05.26 and 07.25 depending on the day, and the last buses back to the site arrive between 22.30 and 23.04. The site itself opens fifteen minutes before the first bus and closes at 23.15.
So if you are coming by train, plan on the bus. York station is a bus ride away, not a walk, and the outlet is not within sensible walking distance of it. The 7 is the link in both directions — into town if you have driven and parked here, and out to the outlet if you have arrived by rail.
Other buses
The operator says buses also run from Selby, but gives no route number and no operator name, and we could not establish either. If you are coming from that direction, check with the bus company rather than relying on the operator's sentence.
Accessibility
This is a strong section, with one flat contradiction in it. The centre has step-free access at the South entrance and lifts, stairs and escalators between the two floors. Blue Badge bays are spread across the zones: 15 or more in Red, 4 in Yellow, and 15 or more in Green.
There is a Changing Places toilet on the west side of the centre, with a height-adjustable bench and an overhead powered hoist, opened with a RADAR key. That is a proper Changing Places facility rather than a standard accessible toilet, and it is the kind of thing worth travelling for.
There are autism-friendly hours every Tuesday from 9.30am to 11am. Virtual British Sign Language interpretation is offered through Convo, and portable hearing assistance is available. Free pushchair hire and kiddy cars are offered, and there is a playground at the East entrance.
Mobility hire is the contradiction. The operator states that free wheelchair and mobility scooter hire is available. AccessAble states that it is not available. Those cannot both be right, no source reconciles them, and we are not going to guess — phone before you travel if hire is what your day depends on.
The shops
The count depends on who you ask: over 100 from the operator, around 120 in the coverage of the 2026 sale, and over 120 in directory listings. The operator's own figure is the most cautious of the three, which is unusual and probably tells you it is the most careful.
R.M. Williams — a UK first
On 25 June 2026 the Australian bootmaker R.M. Williams opened here, and it is the brand's first outlet store in the UK. Landing a brand's debut UK outlet is the sort of thing an outlet centre works years for, and it is the most significant arrival on this site in the period we looked at.
The recent run of arrivals and upsizes
- Charles Tyrwhitt — opened October 2024.
- Skopes, Castore and Crocs — all opened November 2024.
- Caffe Nero — reopened in late November 2024 in a larger unit with a terrace.
- Calendar Club and Yankee Candle — pop-ups through autumn 2024.
- Belstaff — arrived over winter 2024-25.
- BOSS — refurbished in March 2025.
- Wagamama — added 50 covers at the end of March 2025.
- Vans, The North Face, Levi's and Skechers — all took larger units, and the centre reported its best-ever Golden Quarter off the back of that period.
What has gone
Radley London has closed. We are confident of that, but we could not date it: the only report we could find is on Newsquest's Gazette & Herald, and Newsquest's sites are blocked to us by robots.txt, so we could not read the piece to get the date. It is the only closure we found here at all, which for a centre of this size over a two-year window is a reasonable sign of health.
Not this centre
Two other York schemes get confused with this one and should not be. Vangarde Shopping Park and Monks Cross, both at Huntington on the north side of the city, are separate developments under different ownership. No figure on this page comes from either of them, and store counts, footfall or parking numbers quoted for those schemes do not describe this one.
Useful to know
Eating and drinking
The Food Quarter runs to around eighteen units, and it is a mainstream, family-friendly line-up rather than a fine-dining one: Five Guys, McDonald's, Wagamama, YO!, Pizza Express, Starbucks, Pret A Manger, Caffe Nero, Krispy Kreme, Slim Chickens, Chopstix, The Fisherman's Wife, 200 Degrees, Bagel Factory, Caffe Valeria and Shakamaka. Kouzina Greek and Brew'd were both listed as coming soon when we checked.
Dogs
Assistance dogs only inside the centre. There is a dog drinking fountain outside the South entrance, which is a thoughtful touch, but it tells you the position clearly enough: your dog waits outside.
Gift cards, loyalty and recycling
McArthurGlen gift cards are sold and there is a Loyalty Club. The centre also runs Recycle Your Fashion, which gives you a 10% voucher in exchange for bringing in unwanted clothing. We have not tested the terms of any of the three.
Children
Free pushchair hire and kiddy cars are available, and there is a playground at the East entrance.
Things nobody publishes
We could not confirm any of the following, from the operator or from a source we would cite: a taxi rank, cycle parking, click-and-collect, visitor lockers, the detail of any tax-free shopping arrangement, or any car park time limit. On lockers specifically, the 2024 handbook mentions "storage cages for rent", but that reads to us as a back-of-house facility for tenants rather than something a shopper can use, and we have not presented it as visitor lockers. If any of these matter, ring ahead.
How it got here
The centre opened in 1998 — and we have to qualify that immediately. The date is single-sourced to the Yorkshire Post, with no day and no month attached, and we found nothing to corroborate it. It is very probably right. It is not established.
What was on the site before, who developed the outlet, and whether it traded under an earlier name are questions we could not answer at all. That is an unusually complete blank. There is a document that would very likely settle it: a 2019 desk-based assessment by MOLA, recorded in York's Historic Environment Record as EYO6749, commissioned "ahead of proposed extension". It is unpublished, so we could not read it — and the outcome of the extension it was commissioned for is also unknown to us. If you see a confident account of what stood here before 1998, ask where it came from.
The 2026 sale, and who owns what
On 29 April 2026, Aviva Investors sold York Designer Outlet to Frasers Group, together with East Midlands Designer Outlet. CBRE advised Frasers; Morgan Williams advised Aviva. Frasers Group's chief executive, Michael Murray, was quoted on the deal in the trade press at the time.
The price was not disclosed, and the number you may have seen is not the price. A figure of around £400m circulated, sourced to CoStar, whose report is paywalled. That was the sum the pair of centres were marketed at roughly a fortnight before the deal completed. It is a marketing figure for two assets, not a completion figure for either, and it should not be quoted as what York sold for.
McArthurGlen is the manager, not the landlord — and that distinction survives the sale. McArthurGlen operated the centre before April 2026 and continued to operate it afterwards. It did not own the centre and it did not sell it; Aviva Investors did. Coverage that describes the sale as McArthurGlen selling York is wrong, and it is a common enough error to be worth stating flatly. We were also unable to verify McArthurGlen's own group-level joint venture structure, so we have not described it.
Frasers Group has form here. It is the same buyer that took Braehead, completing on 21 November 2025, and the same six illuminated "Frasers Plus" signs — four at the cardinal entrances plus two totems — that appeared in the Braehead plans have been proposed for York. If you visit and find the branding has changed at the doors, that is why.
The car park that was refused
The most revealing recent document about this site is a planning refusal. Application 24/01633/FULM sought a temporary three-year, November-and-December-only, 350-space overflow staff car park on an adjacent amenity field. The case made for it was that autumn congestion in the main car parks was spilling over and affecting the park and ride — which tells you how busy the site gets in the run-up to Christmas.
The committee papers are a useful source in their own right: they record the original consent as 2,700 spaces, around 1,600 employees on site, and roughly £4m a year in business rates. National Highways objected. City of York Council refused the application on 15 July 2025, by four votes to one with one abstention, as inappropriate development in the Green Belt with no very special circumstances to justify it, under Local Plan Policy GB1 and the National Planning Policy Framework.
The practical lesson for a visitor is simple. In late November and December, the car park fills, there is no approved overflow, and arriving early is not optional.
What we could not check
- The operator contradicts itself on Saturday opening. mcarthurglen.com gives 9am; McArthurGlen's own 2024 York centre handbook gives 9.30am. Both are the operator. Nothing settles it, so we have printed both — assume 9.30am if you are making a special early trip.
- No Christmas, Boxing Day, New Year or Easter hours are published at all, on the website or in the handbook. Phone before travelling at any of those times. One third-party site, theindustry.fashion, publishes opening hours for this centre that match neither operator source; we have not used them and we would not rely on them.
- The 1998 opening date is single-sourced to the Yorkshire Post, with no day or month, and we found no second source to confirm it. What was on this site before the outlet, who developed it, and whether it ever traded under a different name could not be established at all. The 2019 MOLA desk-based assessment held in York's Historic Environment Record as EYO6749 would probably answer it, but it is unpublished. The outcome of the proposed extension it was commissioned for is also unknown.
- The floorspace figure is disputed and we have printed both. The Yorkshire Post and Place Yorkshire, both covering the 2026 sale, give about 250,000 sq ft (roughly 23,000 sq m); theindustry.fashion gives "almost 350,000". We lean towards the smaller figure because two independent sale reports agree on it and because the larger source also gets the opening hours wrong — but we cannot prove it, so both stand.
- Store counts and footfall both vary by source and we have not picked between them. Stores: over 100 (operator), around 120 (sale coverage), over 120 (directory listings). Footfall: 4.3 million in the 2026 sale reporting against 3.5 million in an undated directory listing — the first is newer and better sourced, but the second is still in circulation.
- The roughly £400m figure attached to the 2026 sale is not the price. It was the marketing price for York Designer Outlet and East Midlands Designer Outlet together, quoted by CoStar about a fortnight before completion, and CoStar's report is paywalled. The actual price was not disclosed.
- McArthurGlen is the manager, not the landlord. Aviva Investors owned and sold the centre; Frasers Group bought it on 29 April 2026; McArthurGlen managed it before and continues to manage it. Any account of the sale that has McArthurGlen selling the centre is wrong. We could not verify McArthurGlen's own group-level joint venture structure and have not described it.
- No car park height restriction is published by anyone. The operator's visit page, its contact page, its 2024 centre handbook and AccessAble are all silent. These are surface car parks so a barrier is unlikely, but we will not invent a figure.
- Parking space counts differ: 2,800 per Welcome to Yorkshire, 2,700 in the original planning consent as recorded in City of York Council committee papers. No car park time limit is published either, and we could not confirm whether one exists.
- The EV charging counts do not reconcile: 32 points (operator), 30 or more (AccessAble), or 8 devices with 17 connectors at 60p/kWh on RAW Charging (Zapmap). Zapmap counts hardware and the operator may be counting sockets, but no source states that.
- Mobility hire is a flat contradiction that we could not resolve. The operator says free wheelchair and mobility scooter hire is available; AccessAble says it is not. Phone ahead if your visit depends on it.
- No motorway or A-road junction number appears on this page, deliberately. The operator publishes none. Use YO19 4TA; the approach is from the A64 ring road.
- York station is not within walking distance. The connection is First Bus service 7 from the Designer Outlet Park & Ride, which is the outlet's own car park. Plan for the bus, not a walk. The operator also says buses run from Selby, but publishes no route number and no operator name, and we could not establish either.
- Radley London has closed, but we could not date it. The only report is on Newsquest's Gazette & Herald, and Newsquest's sites are blocked to us by robots.txt. It is the only closure we found.
- A taxi rank, cycle parking, click-and-collect, visitor lockers and the detail of any tax-free shopping arrangement could all not be confirmed. The 2024 handbook mentions "storage cages for rent", which reads as back-of-house rather than visitor lockers, and we have not counted it as such.
- The contact details are not as settled as you would expect. A tourism directory gives 01904 682700 as the general number, while the operator's 2024 handbook gives 01904 682701 for the centre manager and 01904 682712 for security, and we could not establish which is correct for a general enquiry. We have also not printed yorkdesigneroutlet.com as a web address: a live email address at that domain appears in the 2024 handbook and the social handles use the name, but we did not test whether the bare domain resolves.
- Vangarde Shopping Park and Monks Cross at Huntington are separate schemes under different ownership. None of their figures appear on this page, and figures quoted for them do not describe this centre.
- There is no pull-quote on this page. Our research record notes that centre manager Paul Tyler was quoted on the opening of R.M. Williams in June 2026, but it did not preserve his exact words. We would rather run no quotation than reconstruct one and put it in a named person's mouth.