Lakeside Village Outlet Shopping, Doncaster: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times
An open-air outlet village of about 45 to 55 shops on White Rose Way, two miles from M18 junction 3, with free parking, two free play areas and 25 stores that will let your dog in. It is not Lakeside in Thurrock, and it is owned by Kent County Council — a county council 200 miles away. Here is what the operator publishes, what it conspicuously does not, and why nobody can tell you what time it opens on a Tuesday.
Lakeside Village Outlet Shopping sits on White Rose Way in Doncaster, a mile or so from the town centre, in the wider Lakeside area that also holds the football stadium and a Premier Inn. It is an open-air outlet village — a double-sided mall of small units, not an enclosed centre — and it opened on 15 August 1996 under a different name entirely. It has just turned thirty.
Two things need saying first. The name: this is not Lakeside in Thurrock, the enormous enclosed centre off the M25 in Essex, which we cover separately at Lakeside Shopping Centre. Nor is it the Lakeside Village in Florida that keeps turning up in searches. The Doncaster one is small, outdoors and discounted. The postcode DN4 and the word "outlet" are the tells.
The second is the owner, and it is genuinely odd. Lakeside Village is owned by Kent County Council. Not a REIT, not a pension fund — a county council on the other side of England. The operator says so itself, in one line at the bottom of its contact page: "Owned by Kent County Council; managed by Realm Ltd (MultiRealm)." Three other sources say the same. More on that below, including the parts nobody will tell you.
The website is good and the opening hours are missing. lakeside-village.co.uk is properly server-rendered, and its parking, accessibility, dog, coach and play-area pages are detailed and readable — better than most operators manage. But the opening-hours page carries no weekly table at all, and the store pages it points you at do not have the hours either. Every day-by-day time below is therefore third-party or a tenant's own, and they do not agree.
What follows comes from the operator's pages read on 8 September 2026, from Multi-Realm and Multi Corporation, from trade coverage of the 2013 sale and the 2019-20 refurbishment, from the tourism board and the chamber of commerce, and from two tenants publishing their own trading hours. Where numbers disagree we print all of them and say who published each. Where nothing is published — and here that includes the height limit, EV charging and what the council paid — we say so.
We've seen many changes over the last 25 years in fashion, household trends that have come and gone, but our site has remained one of the region's favourite choices when it comes to shopping.
The essentials
| Detail | Lakeside Village Outlet Shopping |
|---|---|
| What it is | An open-air outlet village of small units arranged as a double-sided mall, with four stand-alone drive-thru and restaurant operators around the car park. Not an enclosed centre, and not the same thing as Lakeside in Thurrock. |
| Address | Lakeside Village, White Rose Way, Doncaster, South Yorkshire DN4 5PH |
| Satnav postcode | DN4 5PH The operator's own. Three others circulate: DN4 5JH (Next, Trespass, the Doncaster Chamber, Completely Retail), DN4 5PJ (ukmalls) and DN4 8AE (Zoopla). |
| Opened | 15 August 1996, as The Yorkshire Outlet; renamed Lakeside Village in 2003 Four sources agree, including the operator's own anniversary pages. Multi Corporation says 1990, which nothing else supports. |
| Size | About 147,000 sq ft of retail space within a scheme of about 170,000 sq ft Multi-Realm is the only source separating the two; Completely Retail gives 147,511 sq ft. The 300-acre figure you may read belongs to the wider Lakeside area, not the outlet. |
| Number of stores | "Over 45" per the operator; 51 names counted on its live directory on 8 September 2026 Also published: 53 stores plus four restaurants (Multi-Realm), 53 units (Completely Retail), 54 shops plus seven restaurants (Multi Corporation). |
| Parking | Free, with "over 900" spaces per the operator and 930 per Multi-Realm Including 50 disabled and 40 parent-and-child bays. No time limit is stated for the main car park; it closes an hour after the shops and reopens at 5am. The KFC, McDonald's and Pizza Hut bays are separate, ANPR-enforced and for those customers only. |
| Height restriction | Not published Neither the operator nor any directory states a limit. It is a surface car park, but we are not turning that into a number. |
| EV charging | Not published either way The operator's parking, facilities, FAQ and directions pages never mention it, and we could not reach Zapmap or PlugShare. Do not plan a trip around charging here. |
| Owner | Kent County Council, with DTZ Investment Management as fund manager Stated by the operator on its contact page, by Multi Corporation and by ACROSS Magazine in June 2019. No ownership share is published, and no purchase price or date has ever been reported. |
| Managed by | Multi-Realm Realm has managed the scheme since 1997 under four owners. Multi Corporation took a majority stake on 10 April 2024; the size was not disclosed. Letting agent: Morgan Williams. |
| Centre manager | Lyndsey Parry Named in 2026 by VisitDoncaster and the Doncaster Free Press; deputy manager in 2019. Di Rodgers held the post in 2020-21, Cheryl Sadler in 2016. |
| Footfall | Around 2 million a year, described as an estimate Multi-Realm and Completely Retail both hedge it, and neither attaches a year. |
| Website | lakeside-village.co.uk |
| Phone | 01302 366 444 Option 2 for security, wheelchair hire and lost property. |
Opening times
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| THE OPERATOR PUBLISHES NO REGULAR HOURS | Every row below is third-party or a tenant's own — see the note |
| Monday to Saturday | 9.30am – 6pm Doncaster Chamber member listing and Yorkshire.com |
| Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday | 10am – 6pm ukmalls.co.uk, a different weekday pattern entirely |
| Thursday | 10am – 8pm ukmalls.co.uk. The operator mentions no late night anywhere |
| Sunday | 10am – 4.30pm, tills from 10.30am chamber and ukmalls give 10am, Yorkshire.com 10.30am; the operator says "browsing only on Sunday mornings until 10:30am" |
| Summer bank holiday 2026 | Fri 28 and Sat 29 Aug 9.30am – 6pm; Sun 30 and Mon 31 Aug 10am – 4.30pm the operator's own — the only times it publishes |
| Next Outlet (Units 34-36) | Monday to Saturday 9am – 7pm, Sunday 10am – 4.30pm Next's own store finder |
| Trespass (Units 42-43) | Monday to Saturday 9.30am – 6pm, Thursday to 7pm, Sunday 10am – 4.30pm Trespass's own store page |
| The Mutt Hut (dog owners' space) | Monday to Saturday 9am – 6pm, Sunday 10am – 4.30pm the operator's dog-friendly page |
| Car park | Reopens 5am; closes one hour after the shops the operator's parking page |
| Christmas and New Year | Not published by anyone only the August bank holiday times exist |
Checked on 8 September 2026, and this is the most unusual hours situation we have run into. Lakeside Village has a dedicated opening-hours page, and that page carries no weekly table. It says: "Opening times vary per store, please visit individual store pages for details." The only times on it are the four days of the August 2026 bank holiday.
So we did what it told us to do and opened the operator's own store pages for Next Outlet, M&S Outlet and Trespass. None of them carries opening hours either. Next and M&S give a single line — "Browsing only on Sunday mornings until 10:30am" — and Trespass's page repeats the same disclaimer that sent us there. The instruction points at pages that do not have the information.
That leaves third parties, and they disagree in a way we cannot resolve:
- 9.30am to 6pm, Monday to Saturday — the Doncaster Chamber member listing and Yorkshire.com, the regional tourism board. A chamber listing is filled in by the member, so it is the closest thing to the operator speaking, and the operator's own bank-holiday table uses the same times.
- 10am to 6pm, with Thursday to 8pm — ukmalls.co.uk. A different weekday pattern and the only source giving a late night.
- 9am to 7pm, Monday to Saturday — Next's own store finder for Units 34-36. Outlet branches of Next often keep their own hours.
The late Thursday is worth taking seriously even though the operator never mentions it. Trespass publishes Thursday as 9.30am to 7pm for Units 42-43 while every other weekday closes at 6pm — an independent tenant agreeing with ukmalls that something happens on a Thursday.
Sunday, by contrast, reconciles neatly. Doors from 10am, tills from 10.30am, closing at 4.30pm — a six-hour trading window for the larger units, exactly what the Sunday Trading Act allows. That explains why the chamber says 10am and Yorkshire.com says 10.30am: one is the door, the other the till.
If the time matters, ring 01302 366 444. That is not a cop-out; it is the only reliable route, because the centre does not publish the answer anywhere.
Getting there
By road
The operator does publish a junction, so we are printing it: M18 junction 3, about two miles away. Its own wording on the how-to-find-us page is: "Follow the brown Lakeside signs from M18 Junction 3, over the railway bridge, go straight across at the traffic light intersection and turn left into Lakeside Village."
That is the whole of the operator's road guidance. It names no other motorway — no M1, no A1(M), no M180 — so neither do we. Satnav postcode DN4 5PH. Next and Trespass both give their own unit addresses as DN4 5JH, and two directories use DN4 5PJ and DN4 8AE; if your satnav objects to one, try another and follow the brown signs.
Parking
Free, and there is a lot of it: "over 900" spaces on the operator's count, 930 on Multi-Realm's, including 50 disabled and 40 parent-and-child bays. No time limit is stated for the main car park, and no enforcement contractor is named — the operator refers only to "parking wardens". It reopens at 5am and closes an hour after the shops.
The trap is the fast-food bays. KFC, McDonald's and Pizza Hut have their own ANPR-monitored bays, and the operator warns that "parking charges may be issued" without saying what the limit is. If you are eating and then shopping, park in the main car park.
By train and bus
Doncaster station is about a mile away — the operator's own figure, with "services to most local, regional and national stations". Nobody publishes a walking time or route, and the operator does not describe the mile as walkable, so we will not either. Getting to the town on the East Coast main line is easy; the last mile is on you.
One bus service is named anywhere by anyone: the White Rose Way 70 Park and Ride, which the operator says runs "approximately every 15 minutes to Doncaster town centre". No bus operator is named and no other route number is published. Nothing is published about cycle parking, there is no taxi rank we could confirm, and there is no tram — South Yorkshire's tram-train runs between Rotherham and Sheffield and does not come near Doncaster.
By coach
Coach bays are free and first-come, first-served, but the centre asks for 48 hours' notice through an online form. For a Saturday, Sunday or bank holiday you must book by telephone before 4pm on the Friday, on 01302 366 444, with a minimum of 20 passengers.
The shops
We counted 51 names on the operator's live directory on 8 September 2026, against its own marketing line of "over 45 famous name stores" and three other counts in the table above. They count different things — a unit is not a brand, and the drive-thrus may or may not be included.
The anchors
Multi-Realm names M&S Outlet, Clarks and Sports Direct; Multi Corporation adds Skechers, Next Outlet and Radley. M&S Outlet and Clarks have both been here since the doors opened in 1996, which for an outlet village is a remarkable run.
The full directory, counted 8 September 2026
Amy's Ice Cream, B&M, Baggage Factory, Beauty Outlet, Bonmarché, Cadbury Outlet, Carvela, Cavani, Clarks, Clintons, Cook N Dine, Costa Coffee, Costa Drive Thru, Cotton Traders, Ernest Jones, Etto, Gift Company, Grape Tree, Greggs, Holland and Barrett, Jamaica Blue, Julian Charles, KFC, Klass, Lakeside Furniture Direct, LUKE 1977, M&S Outlet, McDonald's, Mountain Warehouse, Next Outlet, Pavers, Pizza Hut, ProCook, Radley, Retail Phone Accessories, Roman, Saltrock, Sandys Perfect Brows & Lashes, Skechers, Skopes, Sports Direct, Suit Direct, The Body Shop, The Fragrance Shop, The Mortgage Booth, The Sweet Emporium, The Works Outlet, TOG24, Toytown, Trespass and Weird Fish.
Food and drink, and a quirk of who runs what
Four operators sit outside the mall with their own bays: Pizza Hut, McDonald's, KFC and a Costa drive-thru. Inside there are Costa Coffee, Greggs, Amy's Ice Cream and Jamaica Blue. The centre's contact page says questions about B&M and those four go to their own store managers — so all five are managed separately from the mall proper, and the switchboard is not the route for them.
What has arrived, with dates where they exist
- Jamaica Blue — a 2,210 sq ft café, reported open by Completely Retail News on 30 June 2026. Louise Evans, Asset Management and Leasing Director at Multi-Realm, said at the time: "This is great news for Lakeside Village as demand for more food and beverage options has been climbing steadily."
- Carvela and Radley — added as "premium retailers" per the operator's blog on 4 November 2024.
- LUKE 1977 — a recent arrival per the Doncaster Free Press in 2026, with no date published.
What has gone — and not one departure has ever been reported
No closure at Lakeside Village has ever been announced or reported by the operator, the trade press or the local press. All we can do is compare old lists against the current directory.
GAP Outlet is the clearest case. It was named as a tenant in CoStar's coverage of the 2013 sale, by ACROSS Magazine in June 2019 and by TheBusinessDesk in September 2020, and ukmalls still lists it today. It is not on the operator's directory. Gap closed its UK-owned stores nationally in 2021, so the likely explanation is obvious — but nobody has published anything about this branch, so all we can say is that it was here in 2020 and is not here now.
The same applies to Bench, Jacques Vert and Moss, all named in the 2013 CoStar article, and to Black & Decker, a founding 1996 tenant per the operator's own 20th-anniversary post. None of the departures has a date.
Useful to know
Accessibility — better than most, and mostly from the operator
The structural advantage is the one that helps at any outlet village: it is all on one level, no stairs and no escalators. The operator hedges slightly — "most of our entrances offer step-free access" — so aim for a main entrance. Beyond that:
- Free wheelchair hire — by intercom at the indoor cashpoints, or 01302 366 444 option 2. No mobility scooter hire is mentioned anywhere.
- A Changing Places toilet with a height-adjustable bench and a hoist — a real facility, not a wide cubicle. Also stoma-friendly cubicles, accessible toilets, a baby changing and feeding room and a quiet room, all in Guest Services.
- Deaf Aware accreditation from Doncaster Deaf Trust — a local accreditation from a local organisation rather than a badge bought in.
- A quiet hour every Tuesday, 2pm to 3pm. The operator calls it "Autism Hour" on one page and "Quiet Hour" on another. Same slot, two names.
And something we have not seen elsewhere: the centre runs an accessibility customer focus group, recruiting six to eight customers with accessibility needs to meet in March and October, with carers welcome and email submissions accepted from anyone who would rather not sit in a group.
Dogs — 25 stores, a green sticker system, and the Mutt Hut
Twenty-five stores welcome dogs and are marked with a green sticker; a blue sticker means assistance dogs only. The list includes Clarks, Skechers, The Body Shop, Mountain Warehouse, Trespass and TOG24, and water bowls are placed across the centre. The Mutt Hut, near the outdoor play area, is a space where owners can sit down and let the dog rest, open Monday to Saturday 9am to 6pm and Sunday 10am to 4.30pm. Dogs must be on a lead and supervised.
It was not always so. On the operator's 30th-anniversary page, Tracey Ogden — who joined as a department manager at Clarks in 1996 and is now the ProCook store manager, thirty years on the same site — remembers the opposite: "You weren't allowed to bring dogs onto the site. A voice would bellow out on the tannoy asking you to remove them immediately!"
Children, and practical odds and ends
Two play areas, both free: Cheeky Monkeys outdoors opposite Clarks Outlet, for ages 5 to 12, jungle-themed with a climbing wall, a sign language wall, a quiet teepee and wheelchair-accessible games; and an indoor soft play next to Ernest Jones for ages 0 to 6. No opening hours are published for either.
There are free cash machines in Guest Services, a Royal Mail postbox on the mall, Amazon Lockers by the Next Outlet entrance and a recycling wall taking bras, face masks, toners and batteries. Lost property is the security team, 01302 366 444 option 2. Autoglass, webuyanycar.com and a Cash4Clothes bank operate from the car park rather than the mall.
Nothing at all is published on free Wi-Fi, gift cards, tax-free shopping, a prayer room or mobility scooter hire. If one of those decides your trip, phone first.
Doncaster town centre is a mile away
The Frenchgate Centre is Doncaster's town-centre mall, roughly a mile from here and attached to the railway station and interchange — full-price high street rather than discounted outlet, and easy to combine in a day. Further afield, Meadowhall and White Rose are the big enclosed centres, Parkgate at Rotherham the big open retail park, and Junction 32 and York Designer Outlet the nearest comparable outlet villages.
How it got here
Lakeside Village opened on 15 August 1996, and it was not called Lakeside Village. It opened as The Yorkshire Outlet and kept that name for seven years. The operator says so on both its 2016 and 2026 anniversary pages; VisitDoncaster and the Doncaster Free Press agree. Multi Corporation's portfolio page gives 1990, contradicted by everything else including the birthday parties the centre has actually held. Nobody names the developer — not the operator, not the council, not the trade press — and there is no published build cost or architect.
The place you walk round today is a 2003 rebuild. Realm — the asset manager, which has run the scheme since 1997 — executed a £15m remodelling in 2003 that, in its own words, transformed the layout "from an underperforming line of single units to the attractive double sided mall environment". The rebrand came with it. That one sentence explains more about why the centre feels the way it does than anything else on the record: it was built as a row and rebuilt as a street.
The ownership chain is partly documented and partly a blank. What is dated: LaSalle UK Ventures sold the centre to DTZ Investment Management for around £27m, reported by CoStar on 27 November 2013. Realm says it has worked under four different owners since 1997.
What is not dated is how Kent County Council came to own a shopping centre in Doncaster. The council is named as owner by the operator's contact page, by Multi Corporation, by the operator's September 2020 news post and by ACROSS Magazine in June 2019 — with DTZ as fund manager and Realm as asset manager. So the acquisition sits between November 2013 and June 2019. No purchase price, no completion date and no ownership percentage has ever been published, and searches of Kent's own decision records turned up nothing about Doncaster at all. A great many English councils bought commercial property outside their boundaries in the 2010s for the income, so the principle is not odd — but an outlet village 200 miles away, and an arrangement this undocumented, is.
The last big spend was £1m-plus in 2019-20. Work started in June 2019, when Lyndsey Parry — then deputy centre manager, now centre manager — told ACROSS Magazine: "We're really pleased about the investment taking place within our centre which is helping us to move a step closer to a new era for Lakeside Village." It completed in September 2020: new LED signage and lighting, planters and trees, a redesigned play area, new branding, a revamped "Lakeside Lawn", a colour-changing glass peak and a new sound system. No contractor or designer is named anywhere we could read.
Multi Corporation took a majority stake in Realm on 10 April 2024, bringing Lakeside Village into a portfolio of 19 properties representing roughly 45% of the UK outlet market. Dan Mason and Christine Grace stayed on as co-owners of the combined business, Multi-Realm. The size of the stake was not disclosed and we are not inventing one.
The thirtieth birthday was marked on Saturday 15 August 2026, with a floral bench by Acacia Creative Studio in Rossington. Lyndsey Parry told the Doncaster Free Press: "So much has happened over that period, from cultural shifts to changes in fashion, household trends, the way people shop and more."
What we could not check
- This is not Lakeside in Thurrock. The Essex centre off the M25 is a completely different, and much larger, enclosed shopping centre — we cover it separately. Nor is it the Lakeside Village in Florida that dominates search results for the name. Check the postcode is DN4 before you set off.
- The operator publishes no regular opening hours at all. Its opening-hours page carries only the August bank holiday times and points at store pages that do not carry hours either. Every day-by-day time on this page is third-party or a tenant's own.
- The weekday opening time is disputed and we have not resolved it. 9.30am per the Doncaster Chamber and Yorkshire.com, 10am per ukmalls, 9am per Next. Ring 01302 366 444 if arriving early matters.
- The late Thursday is unconfirmed by the operator. Trespass publishes Thursday to 7pm and ukmalls says the centre trades to 8pm; the operator mentions no late night anywhere. No Christmas or New Year hours are published for 2026 by anyone.
- No car park height restriction is published by the operator or any directory, and the time limit on the ANPR-enforced restaurant bays is not stated either. Electric vehicle charging is unconfirmed either way — the operator never mentions it, and we could not reach Zapmap or PlugShare.
- Kent County Council's purchase date and price have never been published. The acquisition sits between the November 2013 sale to DTZ Investment Management and the first reference to the council in June 2019. No ownership percentage is published, and Multi's stake in Realm was never disclosed.
- The original 1996 developer, architect and build cost are not named by anyone, and neither the 2003 nor the 2019-20 works name a contractor. Multi Corporation says the centre opened in 1990; four other sources, the operator's included, say 15 August 1996.
- Store counts range from "over 45" to 61 depending on who is counting and whether the drive-thrus and concessions are included; we counted 51 on the live directory. Four postcodes are also in circulation — DN4 5PH (the operator), DN4 5JH (Next, Trespass, the chamber, Completely Retail), DN4 5PJ (ukmalls) and DN4 8AE (Zoopla) — and nobody explains the difference.
- No departure from the centre has ever been dated. GAP Outlet, Bench, Jacques Vert, Moss and Black & Decker have all gone and not one closure has been reported by anybody; the GAP absence is inferred by comparing the September 2020 coverage against today's directory.
- The footfall figure is an estimate. "Around 2 million a year" is hedged by both sources that carry it, and neither attaches a year. No walking time or route is published between Doncaster station and the centre, and only one bus service is named anywhere — the White Rose Way 70 Park and Ride, with no operator given for it.
- We could not confirm free Wi-Fi, gift cards, tax-free shopping, a prayer room, a smoking or photography policy, or mobility scooter hire, and neither play area has published hours. Absent from the website is not the same as absent from the centre — phone ahead if one of these matters. The car park was also under maintenance when we checked.
- The operator calls the same Tuesday 2pm to 3pm session "Autism Hour" on one page and "Quiet Hour" on another, and its Changing Places toilet is its own claim, which we could not check against an independent access guide.