ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Retail park · London

Gallions Reach Shopping Park, Beckton: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

A 325,000 sq ft retail park on Armada Way in Beckton, east London: around 34 units, a Tesco Extra, free parking for four hours and eight ultra-rapid EV bays. The operator’s own website gives three different opening times for the same park, on three pages that are all live at once. It is also, on its owner’s own account, about to have a town centre built on part of its car park.

Illustration of Gallions Reach Shopping Park, Beckton, Newham

Gallions Reach Shopping Park sits on Armada Way in Beckton, in the London Borough of Newham, just off the roundabout where the A13 meets the North Circular. It is a big, flat, car-first retail park of a kind London has relatively few of inside the M25 — around 325,000 sq ft across roughly 34 units on a 28-acre site, anchored by a Tesco Extra, with Next, H&M, Matalan, TK Maxx, Sports Direct, JD and Smyths around it.

The operator’s site is gallions-reach.co.uk, and it works — every page we tried served real text rather than a JavaScript shell. It brands itself “Gallion’s Reach”, with an apostrophe, while every planning document, agent and trade source writes it without one. The phone number is 0207 473 8160.

But the website is really two websites. A current set of pages sits on top of an older set that was never taken down, and the two do not agree. The banner on every current page says the park opens at 9am. The surviving legacy opening-hours page says 10am. The operator’s own page for Next says half nine. All three were live on the same domain on the same day. We have printed all of them below and picked none.

The owner is Aberdeen Investments — the house that used to be Standard Life Investments, then Aberdeen Standard, then abrdn. Standard Life Investments bought into the park in 2006 “on behalf of the owners”, and Aberdeen says it “acquired entire ownership in 2020”.

And the most useful thing on this page is about the future, not the present. Newham’s Local Plan wants Gallions Reach turned into a Major Centre. The owner’s planning consultants and the neighbouring developer both describe a new town centre being built on part of the car park, with “significantly reduced car parking” afterwards, and a DLR extension with a new station next door. Nothing is built yet — but if free four-hour parking is the reason you come here, that is the thing to watch.

This asset is a great example of long-term, patient capital and the importance of active management.

— David Stewart, Fund Manager at Aberdeen Investments, the park’s owner, in an Aberdeen Investments news release published on 4 December 2025

The essentials

DetailGallions Reach Shopping Park
What it isAn open-air retail park of around 34 retail and food units with a Tesco Extra, on one level with surface parking. Not Beckton Triangle, Beckton Gateway, Beckton Retail Park (The Junction) or East Beckton district centre — Newham’s retail study lists all five separately.
Address3 Armada Way, Beckton, London E6 7ER The Tesco Extra on site has its own address, 1 Armada Way.
Satnav postcodeE6 7ER
OpenedNot published No operator page, council document, planning statement, agency listing or company filing we could read gives an opening year or names a developer. The 2006 company registrations are financing dates for the purchase, not the opening.
SizeAbout 325,000 sq ft on a 28-acre site 325,000 sq ft and 34 units per Completely Retail; the 28 acres is Aberdeen Investments’ own figure, of which it says a 7-acre part “has lain vacant for almost two decades”. The masterplan architect calls it “the largest shopping park within the M25” — an architect’s claim on its own project page, not a measured one.
Number of stores35 names on the operator’s own directory, counted 9 September 2026 20 shops plus 15 food and drink operators. Completely Retail says 34 units — close enough to be the same thing counted twice.
ParkingFree for up to 4 hours, ANPR-enforced by UKPC Three space counts exist: “over 2,000” (the operator), “over 1,500” (Completely Retail) and 1,285 (Parkopedia, crowd-sourced). There is no way to pay to stay longer. The operator says the car park closes at midnight.
Height restriction2 metres The operator states 2m; Parkopedia independently lists 6ft 7in, the same figure. One of the few numbers here that two sources agree on.
EV charging8 ultra-rapid bays, up to 150kW, operated by RAW Charging Contactless card or the ChargePoint app. Stated on two operator pages, but RAW Charging’s own location page and Zapmap both returned 404, so nothing independently confirms the count or the speed.
OwnerAberdeen Investments Formerly Standard Life Investments, then Aberdeen Standard Investments, then abrdn. Bought into in 2006; “entire ownership” acquired in 2020, in the fund manager’s own words. Held through Gallions Reach Shopping Park Limited Partnership (LP011462) and Gallions Reach Shopping Park (Nominee) Limited (05777118), both at 280 Bishopsgate, London EC2M 4AG. No percentage is stated by anyone and none is printed here.
Letting agentsNalin Nilaweera at Rosebury RE (07917 839338) and Dominic Rodbourne at Morgan Williams (0207 493 4455) Both named on the operator’s own leasing page.
FootfallNot published No absolute figure and not even a percentage movement, from the operator, the owner, the agents or the council. A complete blank.
Clean air zoneInside the ULEZ; outside the Congestion Charge zone The ULEZ covers all London boroughs, including Newham. The Congestion Charge zone is central London and does not reach Beckton.
Websitegallions-reach.co.uk An older set of pages on the same domain, at /centre-info/ and /stores-a-z/, is also still live and gives different opening times.
Phone0207 473 8160 info@gallions-reach.co.uk

Opening times

DayHours
Monday to Saturday9am – 8pm the banner on every current operator page
Monday to Saturday10am – 8pm the operator’s legacy opening-hours page, which calls these “core hours”
Sunday11am – 5pm every operator page agrees on this one
Bank holidaysNot published the operator says only that “store and restaurant opening hours vary”
Next (Unit 9)Mon–Fri 9.30am – 7pm, Sat 9am – 7pm, Sun 11am – 5pm the operator’s own store page
Next (Unit 9)Mon–Fri 9.30am – 7.30pm, Sat 9am – 7.30pm, Sun 11am – 5pm Next’s own store page — half an hour later at night
H&M (Unit 7)Mon–Sat 10am – 8pm, Sun 11am – 5pm the operator and hm.com agree exactly
TK MaxxMon–Sat 9am – 8pm, Sun 12pm – 6pm operator store page; a different six-hour Sunday window from the rest of the park
Tesco ExtraTue–Sat 6am – midnight, Sun 11am – 5pm tesco.com; the same page listed Monday as 8am – 6pm, which looks wrong against the rest of the week
Eateries“Open until later” the operator’s exact words; no times are given for any restaurant

Everything above was checked on 9 September 2026. This is one of the worst hours situations we have documented, and the reason is structural rather than careless: two generations of the operator’s website are running at once on the same domain, and they disagree.

The current pages — homepage, store directory, eat and drink, guest services, car park and getting-here — all carry the same banner: Monday to Saturday 9am to 8pm, Sunday 11am to 5pm, “Eateries open until later!”. The still-live older page at /centre-info/opening-hours says Monday to Saturday 10am to 8pm, and adds the operator’s own hedge, verbatim: “the above times are core hours and stores and eateries may vary from these”. Then the operator’s own page for Next says Next opens at 9.30am and closes at 7pm — while Next’s own website, for the same Unit 9, says 7.30pm.

Two things are solid. Sunday is 11am to 5pm — every operator page, Next, H&M and Tesco agree, which is what you expect from a park of large stores held to six hours by the Sunday trading rules; TK Maxx has simply picked a different six, midday to 6pm. And H&M is the one store where operator and retailer agree exactly: 10am to 8pm Monday to Saturday.

Practically: do not turn up at 9am expecting the fashion stores to be open. On the operator’s own store pages H&M does not open until 10 and Next until half nine, whatever the banner says. Tesco Extra is the early option, from 6am most mornings and trading to midnight — which is also why the car park stays open to midnight when the shops shut at 8. Nobody publishes bank holiday or Christmas hours here at all.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Gallions Reach Shopping Park: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By road

Use the postcode E6 7ER. There is no motorway junction to give you and we are not going to invent one — there is no motorway here. The operator’s own words are that the park is “just off of the A406/A13 roundabout on the A1020 Royal Docks Road”, on your left as you head towards the University of East London or ExCeL. That is the whole of its road guidance, and it is accurate.

The ULEZ — this applies to you

Beckton is inside the Ultra Low Emission Zone. Transport for London’s own wording is that the zone “operates across all London boroughs, and does not include the M25”. Newham is a London borough, so there is no version of driving to Gallions Reach that avoids it. A non-compliant car, motorcycle, van up to 3.5 tonnes or minibus up to 5 tonnes pays £12.50 a day, and the zone runs “24 hours a day, 7 days a week, every day of the year, except Christmas Day (25 December)”.

The Congestion Charge does not reach Beckton — that is a central London zone, several miles west. Its published terms are £15 a day, 7am to 6pm Monday to Friday and midday to 6pm at weekends and bank holidays, with no charge between Christmas Day and New Year’s Day inclusive, but you will not be paying it to come here.

Do not take our word for either — check the vehicle, not the rule. TfL’s vehicle checker tells you whether your registration is compliant; the ULEZ and Congestion Charge pages carry the current charges. Both change; a page like this one goes stale.

Parking

Parking is free for up to four hours and enforced by ANPR cameras run by UKPC. The operator is unusually blunt about it: there is no way to pay for longer and no extension. Blue Badge bays are free but carry the same four-hour cap, which is worth knowing if you were expecting the usual exemption. Blue Badge and parent-and-child bays sit in front of the store entrances.

The height restriction is 2 metres — the operator says 2m and Parkopedia independently lists 6ft 7in, the same figure. A van, a camper or a roof box will not get in. How many spaces there are depends who you ask: the operator says “over 2,000”, Completely Retail “over 1,500”, and Parkopedia — crowd-sourced — 1,285. The operator says the car park closes at midnight; Parkopedia says 9pm on weekdays. We would trust the operator on its own car park, but do not cut it fine. No coach parking, motorhome parking, taxi rank or cycle parking is published by anyone.

One genuinely odd rule. PureGym members using the gym between midnight and 5.30am must register their car on a tablet inside the gym, or the ANPR system issues an automatic parking charge notice.

Electric vehicles: the operator states on two of its own pages that there are eight ultra-rapid bays of up to 150kW run by RAW Charging, paid by contactless card or the ChargePoint app. Nothing confirms it independently — RAW Charging’s own page and the Zapmap page we tried both returned 404. Tesco separately mentions EV charging at its Extra; whether that is the same eight bays is not stated.

By DLR and bus

Gallions Reach DLR station shares the park’s name and is the nearest station. The operator describes it as “a short walk or bus ride away” and that is as precise as anybody gets — neither the operator nor TfL publishes a walking distance or time, so we are not going to estimate one.

The operator names bus routes 262, 366 and 101, “at 10-minute intervals”, with the 262 linking East Beckton to Stratford and the 366 running Redbridge to Beckton. TfL confirms a stop actually called Gallions Reach Shopping Park, code 490016872AP, at which the 262 terminates — so the bus pulls up at the park itself. TfL’s page for that stop listed only the 262, so we cannot confirm all three routes use it.

Accessibility

Blue Badge bays sit in front of the store entrances, with parent-and-child bays near them, and the operator lists refurbished toilets with accessible facilities. What is not published is a long list: no Changing Places toilet, no wheelchair or mobility scooter hire, no Shopmobility scheme, and no independent accessibility audit of this park exists that we could read — Euan’s Guide returned a server error and there is no AccessAble guide. On one level, with parking directly in front of the shops, the layout is about as good as retail parks get; the four-hour cap on Blue Badge bays is the real constraint, and it is published in black and white.

The shops

We counted the operator’s own directory on 9 September 2026: 20 shops and 15 food and drink operators, 35 names in all, against Completely Retail’s 34 units.

The shops

Autoglass, Barbertainer, Bhueti, Boots, Cancer Research, Card Factory, Cookie’s Island, EE, Floorville, H&M, Holland & Barrett, JD, Matalan, Next, PureGym, Smyths, Sports Direct, Superdrug, The Works and TK Maxx.

The agents’ summary of the major tenants is Next, H&M, JD Sports, TK Maxx, Boots, Sports Direct, PureGym and the Tesco Extra, which alone is given as 109,000 sq ft — whether that sits inside the park’s 325,000 sq ft total is not stated by anybody.

Food and drink — and the halal labelling

Bamboo Sushi, Chaiiwala, Costa Coffee, German Doner Kebab, Greggs, Heavenly Desserts, McDonald’s, Mooboo, Naked Chips, Nando’s, Shah’s Halal Food, Subway, The Knot Churros, Wingstop, and Tesco Extra.

The operator marks eight of those fifteen as halal on its own directory — Chaiiwala, German Doner Kebab, Naked Chips, Nando’s, Shah’s Halal Food, The Knot Churros and Wingstop among them. It is worth flagging because it is rare: very few UK retail park websites label their food offer that way. Deliveroo and Uber Eats both deliver from the restaurants and selected stores.

River Island — named by the agents, absent from the directory

Completely Retail lists River Island among the park’s major tenants. It is not on the operator’s live directory as at 9 September 2026, and no closure has been reported by anybody. An agent’s tenant list can easily be out of date, so we are recording the discrepancy rather than calling it a departure. If River Island is why you are making the trip, phone first.

Arrivals and departures — nothing datable

We could not source a single dated store opening or closing at this park, which is unusual enough to say plainly. There is no operator news page, and the trade press we could reach carries nothing on Gallions Reach lettings. The owner’s own December 2025 statement says only that it has been “most recently attracting a whole host of new and exciting retailers and restaurants” — no names, no dates, no sizes.

The one dated deal on the record is old: in February 2013, TK Maxx agreed to extend its lease on a 30,000 sq ft unit through to September 2024, Edgerley Simpson Howe acting for the landlord, then named as Standard Life Investments. What happened at that expiry is unpublished; TK Maxx still trades here.

Useful to know

Facilities that are actually published

Refurbished toilets with accessible facilities, a Parent & Child room with baby changing, and a multi-faith room — all between Greggs and Heavenly Desserts or beside the management suite. Free cash machines outside Tesco. Lost property is at the management office, between Bhueti and Heavenly Desserts, on 0207 473 8160.

Things nobody publishes

No Changing Places toilet, free Wi-Fi, wheelchair or scooter hire, Shopmobility, dogs policy, gift card, quiet hours or named centre manager appears on any page we could read. That does not mean none of them exist — only that the operator does not say so. Ring ahead if one decides your trip, and check your registration on TfL’s checker before you drive: every London borough, Newham included, is in the ULEZ.

Do not confuse it with the other Beckton retail parks

Newham’s own retail study lists five separate destinations here: Gallions Reach Shopping Park, Beckton Gateway Retail Park, Beckton Triangle Retail Park, Beckton Retail Park (The Junction) and the East Beckton district centre, which the study describes as “limited to a large Asda superstore and a number of small retail and service units within the adjoining precinct”. Different owners, different tenants, different car parks — and online write-ups mix their floorspace and store counts constantly. Retailers do it too: The Works appears on Gallions Reach’s own directory, while The Works’ own store page calls the same branch “Beckton Retail Park”.

If you want a comparison

For a covered London alternative on a similar scale of ambition, see our pages on Brent Cross and Westfield London. For outlet shopping in the capital, London Designer Outlet at Wembley is the nearest equivalent.

How it got here

Nobody publishes when this park opened. We checked the operator, Aberdeen Investments, Companies House, Newham’s 2022 retail study, two Local Plan examination documents, a Greater London Authority representation, the letting agents, the masterplan architect and New London Architecture. Not one gives an opening year or names a developer. The nearest thing to a date is the architect’s remark that the park had “an outdated 1980s design and low dwell times” — a comment on the architecture, not a construction date. The 2006 company registrations are financing vehicles for a purchase.

The ownership chain is much better documented. In a representation to the draft London Plan dated 2 March 2018, Montagu Evans, acting for Standard Life Investments, stated that it “bought Gallions Reach Shopping Park on behalf of the owners in 2006”. Companies House matches that date: Gallions Reach Shopping Park (Nominee) Limited was incorporated on 11 April 2006 as Precis (2608) Limited and renamed that August, and Gallions Reach Shopping Park Limited Partnership was registered on 19 July 2006. Both are active and registered at 280 Bishopsgate. Neither names the partners, which is why we can tell you who manages the park but not who ultimately owns the money behind it.

By February 2013 the landlord was still named as Standard Life Investments, in the TK Maxx lease announcement. Then, in Aberdeen Investments’ own words in December 2025: “We initially invested in a share of Gallions Reach back in 2006, then acquired entire ownership in 2020, based on our long–term conviction in the location and the strategic nature of the asset.” No price has ever been disclosed for either transaction, and no percentage is stated anywhere, so we have printed none. The manager’s name changed three times without the asset changing hands: Standard Life Investments to Aberdeen Standard Investments to abrdn to Aberdeen Investments — the architect’s project page still names the client as “Aberdeen Standard (Standard Life Investments)”.

What is meant to happen next

Newham does not want this to stay a retail park. Policy INF5 of the borough’s 2018 Local Plan, reproduced in the council’s own retail and leisure study of July 2022, sets out “the need for Gallions Reach Shopping Park to become a Major Centre serving the eastern edge of Newham and wider growth area, through re-configuration of its floorspace as part of a wider masterplan”. That is the council, in a policy document, saying the park as built is not the end state.

The owner is working to that. Corstorphine & Wright is the architect on a Gallions Reach and Beckton Riverside masterplan aiming at a “15-minute neighbourhood” where “Londoners can live, work, and access services within an easy walk from their homes”. The New London Architecture entry records it as proposed, anticipated completion 2030, last updated January 2025.

The car park is the development site, and both sides have said so in planning documents. Montagu Evans, writing for Aberdeen Investments to the Newham Local Plan examination on 20 January 2026, refers to shoppers “travelling by car to the reduced area of parking due to the development of the town centre on part of the car park”. A statement of common ground signed on 29 January 2026 by Rebecca Burnhams, a director at Quod, for the neighbouring developer St William Homes, describes “the reconfiguring of the existing out-of-centre retail Gallions Reach Shopping Park offer to create a new town centre”, with “significantly reduced car parking”.

Aberdeen Investments announced on 4 December 2025 that a DLR extension from Thamesmead to Beckton Riverside, with a new station next to the shopping park and a tunnel under the river, had moved a step closer: work “could commence in 2027”, services “in the early 2030s”, alongside 25,000 to 30,000 homes across the wider regeneration area and around 10,000 jobs. A 7-acre plot inside the park’s own 28 acres, which Aberdeen says “has lain vacant for almost two decades”, is in the frame for it.

None of this is built. There is no consent we can point you at for the retail park itself, no start date and no phasing — only the council’s policy, the owner’s architect, its planning consultants and the neighbouring developer all describing the same outcome in documents filed within a year of each other. If free four-hour parking outside the shops is why you use Gallions Reach, that is the thing to watch.

What we could not check

  • Nobody publishes an opening year for this park, or the name of its developer. We checked the operator, the owner, Companies House, three Newham planning documents, a GLA representation, the agents, the architect and New London Architecture. The 2006 company registrations are purchase financing, not an opening.
  • The operator’s own website gives three different opening times. The banner on its current pages says 9am, its still-live legacy opening-hours page says 10am, and its own page for Next says 9.30am. All were live on 9 September 2026. We have printed all three and picked none.
  • Next’s closing time is disputed between the operator and Next — 7pm on the operator’s store page against 7.30pm on Next’s own; H&M is the only store where the two agree exactly. Tesco Extra’s Monday hours look wrong too: 8am to 6pm on tesco.com against 6am to midnight Tuesday to Saturday, printed as found. No bank holiday or Christmas hours are published by anyone.
  • The parking space count differs three ways — “over 2,000” (operator), “over 1,500” (Completely Retail), 1,285 (Parkopedia, crowd-sourced) — and so does the closing time: the operator says midnight, Parkopedia says 9pm on weekdays. Parking is free for four hours on every account.
  • The EV charging rests on the operator alone. Eight ultra-rapid bays up to 150kW with RAW Charging is stated on two operator pages, but RAW Charging’s own location page and the Zapmap page we tried both returned 404. Nor is any walking distance from Gallions Reach DLR station published by the operator or TfL, and only one of the three bus routes the operator names — the 262, which terminates there — is confirmed on TfL’s page for the park’s own stop.
  • River Island is named as a major tenant by the letting agents but is not on the operator’s live directory, and no closure has been reported by anyone. We have recorded the discrepancy rather than calling it a departure.
  • No dated store arrival or departure could be sourced at all. The only dated deal on the record is TK Maxx’s 30,000 sq ft lease extension agreed in February 2013, running to September 2024; what happened at that expiry is unpublished.
  • No percentage of ownership is stated by anyone and none is printed here. Standard Life Investments bought in 2006 “on behalf of the owners”, Aberdeen says it acquired “entire ownership” in 2020, and Companies House does not name the partners. No price has ever been disclosed for either transaction.
  • Whether the Tesco Extra’s 109,000 sq ft sits inside the 325,000 sq ft total is not stated by anybody, nor whether the Tesco store is in the same ownership. “The largest shopping park within the M25” is the architect’s own claim, not a measured comparison.
  • There is no Changing Places toilet, Wi-Fi, wheelchair hire, Shopmobility scheme, dogs policy, gift card or quiet hours published, and no independent accessibility audit exists — Euan’s Guide returned a server error and there is no AccessAble guide. Absent from the website is not the same as absent from the park.
  • No motorway junction appears on this page, deliberately. There is no motorway here and no operator publishes a junction; the operator’s wording is “just off of the A406/A13 roundabout on the A1020 Royal Docks Road”. Use E6 7ER. ULEZ and Congestion Charge rates change — the figures here were read from TfL on 9 September 2026.