ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Shopping centre · London

Westfield London, Shepherd’s Bush: Shops, Parking, Tube Access and Opening Times

The 2.6 million sq ft centre at Ariel Way in Shepherd’s Bush, with John Lewis, a theatre, a Japanese food hall and somewhere between 320 and 750 places to spend money depending on who is counting. Two things to know before you travel: only two of the five nearby stations are step-free, and the operator’s own opening-hours page renders as a row of dashes. Here is what can actually be verified, including the one basic fact nobody publishes — when it opened.

Illustration of Westfield London, Shepherd's Bush

Westfield London stands on Ariel Way in Shepherd's Bush, W12 7SL, on the site of the old White City exhibition grounds. It is about 2.6 million sq ft, it is owned jointly by Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield and Commerz Real, and it is anchored by a 230,000 sq ft John Lewis. It is one of the largest shopping centres in Europe by floorspace, and it is surrounded by five railway and Underground stations.

We cannot tell you when it opened. That is not a joke and it is not laziness. Every reference to an opening date that we could reach traces back to Wikipedia or a site that copied Wikipedia, and we do not build pages on that. The operator does not state it on any page we could read; a likely retrospective in the trade press returned an access error; the council's planning history and the subscription trade titles are routes we could not take. So this page says the opening date is not verified and prints no year at all. If you have seen a date on another site, you have probably seen Wikipedia's.

What is properly documented is Phase 2, which opened on 20 March 2018 and brought around 80 new shops and the John Lewis. The Mayor of London approved a £1bn scheme on 30 May 2014 that included 1,347 homes; a Drapers headline put the extension at £600m. We have printed both figures and not reconciled them, because we could not read the Drapers article to find out what each number covers.

The postcode is worth getting right. The operator, Visit London and Next's own store page all say W12 7SL. Several third-party directories print W12 7GF. Three to one, we have used 7SL.

If you are driving, two things on this page matter more than anything else: the 2.1 metre height limit on the car parks, and London's road charging. ULEZ definitely applies here. The Congestion Charge zone is a separate question that we could not settle from TfL's own pages, and there is a section below explaining exactly what to do about that.

What follows comes from the operator's own portfolio and parking pages, TfL, an AccessAble guide produced with the centre, Next's server-rendered store page, Visit London, the Greater London Authority's press archive, the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham's heritage pages and trade coverage of individual lettings. Where sources disagree we have printed each and said who published it.

transformational impact on Shepherds Bush and White City, kickstarting widespread social and economic regeneration

— Boris Johnson, then Mayor of London, in a Greater London Authority press release of 30 May 2014 approving the £1bn extension scheme

The essentials

DetailWestfield London
What it isA 2.6 million sq ft enclosed shopping centre anchored by John Lewis, with a 620-seat theatre, a Japanese food hall and a large leisure offer. Not to be confused with Westfield Stratford City, a separate centre 15 miles east, or with the much smaller West 12 Shopping Centre on Shepherd's Bush Green.
AddressAriel Way, Shepherd's Bush, London W12 7SL
Satnav postcodeW12 7SL The operator, Visit London and Next's own store page all give 7SL. Several third-party directories print W12 7GF; we have gone with the three that agree.
OpenedNot verified. Every opening date we could find traces to Wikipedia or a mirror of it. The operator does not publish one on any readable page, and the likely trade-press retrospective returned an access error. We are printing no year rather than repeating an unsourced one.
Phase 2 opened20 March 2018 Around 80 new shops and the 230,000 sq ft John Lewis. The Mayor of London approved a £1bn scheme including 1,347 homes on 30 May 2014; a Drapers headline gave £600m for the extension. Both figures printed, neither reconciled.
Size2.6 million sq ft Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield's own portfolio page. No square-metre figure is published and we have not converted one.
Number of storesThree counts, all current: 460+ stores (the operator), 320 shops plus 88 places to eat (Visit London), 750+ brands (Retail Sector, 20 August 2026, quoting the operator's leasing director). These count different things — a store, a shop, a dining unit and a brand are four different units of measurement.
Parking4,000+ spaces across car parks A, B and C. Entry 5am to 3am, exit 24 hours. Monday to Friday: 1hr £3, 2hr £6, 4hr £8.50, 6hr £9.50, 8hr £9.50, 10hr £11.50, 12hr £13, 16hr £20, 24hr £25. Weekend and bank holiday bands run roughly 50p to £2 higher. All from the operator's own parking page.
Height restriction2.1m The operator's own figure. A standard people-carrier with a roof box will not fit.
Blue Badge parkingFour hours free, Monday to Friday only, validated at the Shopmobility desk Per AccessAble. There is no weekend concession published.
EV chargingTesla Superchargers Named by the operator with no count given, and no other network is named anywhere. If you do not drive a Tesla, do not plan around charging here.
Clean air chargesULEZ applies — £12.50 a day, 24 hours a day, every day except Christmas Day. Congestion Charge: check TfL's postcode checker TfL states ULEZ "operates across all London boroughs, and does not include the M25". Its Congestion Charge zone page names boundary references in central London and never names W12 either way, so we are not guessing. See the section below.
OwnerUnibail-Rodamco-Westfield and Commerz Real, jointly The operator's own portfolio page names both. No ownership percentage is published anywhere — we checked URW results, React News, Property Week and CoStar. The joint arrangement was confirmed current by a 20 August 2026 leasing story quoting Constantin Wiesmann of URW and Russell Banham of Commerz Real together.
FootfallNo single-site figure exists The widely quoted 81.8 million (2018) and 39.72 million (first half of 2019) are Westfield London and Westfield Stratford City combined. Stratford's own 50 million is a different centre 15 miles away. Do not attribute any of those three numbers to this site alone.
Websitewestfield.com/en/united-kingdom/london uk.westfield.com is a live host but returned 404 on every path we tested. Use the address above.
Phone+44 (0)203 371 2300

Opening times

DayHours
Monday to Saturday10am – 9.30pm Next's own store page for its Westfield branch
Sunday11.30am – 6pm Next's own store page
Monday to Saturday — second version10am – 9pm Visit London
Sunday — second version12pm – 6pm Visit London
Sunday and bank holidays, Next onlyOpens 30 minutes early for browsing before trading starts A Next policy, not the centre's
The operator's own hours pageReturns a row of dashes and the word "Closed" The page loads but its content is generated in the browser and gives us nothing. It is not saying the centre is closed.
Bank holidaysNot published by the centre
Christmas and New YearNot published by the centre
John Lewis and the cinemaNot published in a form we could read

Nobody can give you the centre's own opening hours, including the centre. The operator's opening-hours page loads, and then renders a row of dashes next to the word "Closed" — its content is assembled in the browser in a way our reader cannot follow. That is not a claim that Westfield London is shut. It is a page that publishes nothing.

So we have gone round it, twice, and printed both answers. Next's own store page for its Westfield branch is properly server-rendered and gives 10am to 9.30pm Monday to Saturday and 11.30am to 6pm on Sunday. Visit London gives 10am to 9pm and 12pm to 6pm. Those are half an hour apart at the end of Saturday and half an hour apart at the start of Sunday. We have not picked one. A single retailer's hours need not match the mall's, and a tourist board's need not be current.

Next also notes that on Sundays and bank holidays it opens half an hour before it can start selling, for browsing only. That is the standard large-store Sunday trading arrangement and it is Next's policy, not the centre's.

No bank holiday, Christmas or New Year hours are published at all. If you are travelling on a public holiday, or arriving late on a Saturday, ring +44 (0)203 371 2300 or check the individual shop's own website — which, as this page keeps demonstrating, is often the more reliable source.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Westfield London: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By road

Use W12 7SL. The operator publishes no motorway junction and, in its own directions, names no road at all. The A40 Westway and the A3220 West Cross Route both run past the site, and we are naming them here only as geography — the operator does not use either in its directions, so we are not offering them as a route. Put the postcode in the satnav and let it do the work; this is inner west London and the approach depends entirely on which side of the city you start from.

ULEZ and the Congestion Charge — read this before you drive

ULEZ applies. TfL's own wording is that the Ultra Low Emission Zone "operates across all London boroughs, and does not include the M25". Shepherd's Bush is well inside it. The charge is £12.50 a day for a non-compliant vehicle, running 24 hours a day, every day of the year except Christmas Day. Check your vehicle on TfL's own checker before you set off; a compliant car pays nothing and needs to do nothing.

The Congestion Charge is a different question and we have not settled it. TfL's zone page describes the boundary using central London reference points — New Kent Road, Newington Butts — which are miles east of W12, and it never names W12 one way or the other. We are not going to infer an answer from a map. Put your destination postcode into TfL's own postcode checker and take its answer, which is authoritative in a way that nothing on this page can be.

Parking

More than 4,000 spaces in car parks A, B and C. Entry is possible from 5am to 3am and you can exit at any hour. The height limit is 2.1 metres, which rules out a lot of vans and anything with a roof box.

The Monday-to-Friday tariff, read off the operator's own parking page:

Weekend and bank holiday bands run roughly 50p to £2 higher each. Blue Badge holders get four hours free Monday to Friday only, validated at the Shopmobility desk — there is no published weekend concession, which is worth knowing if Saturday is your shopping day.

By Tube and train — and which stations are actually step-free

Five stations serve the centre, and this is the single most important practical distinction on the page:

The two stations most people default to are the two that are not step-free. If you need level access, aim for Wood Lane or the Overground station. This comes from the AccessAble guide produced with the centre, which is the only detailed access source for the site.

No walking time from any station is published by anyone — not the operator, not TfL, not the tourist board. All five are close; none of them is measured.

By bus

Two bus stations serve the centre. White City Bus Station takes the 31, 49, 148, 207, 237, 260, 607 and C1. Shepherd's Bush Bus Station takes the 72, 94, 95, 220, 272, 283, 295 and the N207 night bus.

Taxis

There is a taxi lounge on Level -2 of the Middle Car Park.

Accessibility

Beyond the step-free station question above, the centre operates a Shopmobility desk, which is also where Blue Badge parking validation is done. The AccessAble guide was produced with the centre, so it is a great deal better than a third-party survey, but it is the only substantial access source we have — the operator's own pages did not add to it.

The shops

Three different store counts are in circulation and all three are current. The operator says 460+ stores. Visit London says 320 shops plus 88 places to eat. Retail Sector, on 20 August 2026, quoted the operator's own leasing director saying 750+ brands. These are not contradictions so much as four different units of measurement — a store, a shop, a dining unit and a brand — being reported as if they were one.

The anchor

John Lewis, 230,000 sq ft, which arrived with Phase 2 in March 2018.

Eating and entertainment

Ichiba, described by Visit London as Europe's largest Japanese food hall, is the one people travel for. There is also a 620-seat theatre, the Capital Theatre, which staged Dirty Dancing from October 2025. On the leisure side: Puttshack, All Star Lanes, City Bouldering, TOCA Social and an Upside Down House.

Arrivals

2025 brought a run of openings, reported by the Reach regional network:

Skims was reported on 20 August 2026 as taking its second standalone UK store here. We are flagging rather than asserting it: the article's own dating contradicts itself, describing the opening as "early 2026" in a piece published in August 2026. Something is arriving; we cannot tell you when.

Departures

House of Fraser has gone, reported on 3 January 2023. Its exact closing date was never stated by anyone, which is remarkable for a department store of that size. Ministry of Sound has been reported in connection with the unit, but that came from a search-result headline we could not open, so it stays unverified here.

There is no 2024 round-up of arrivals and departures at Westfield London anywhere. The record jumps from January 2023 to spring 2025. That is a gap in the coverage, not a claim that nothing happened.

What is not part of the centre

Several neighbouring things get folded into Westfield London online and should not be:

Useful to know

The 2.1 metre problem

If you drive anything taller than a family hatchback, check the roofline before you commit. The car parks are limited to 2.1 metres, per the operator, which excludes most vans, high-roof estates and any car carrying a roof box or a roof-mounted bike.

The eight-hour trick

On the weekday tariff, six hours and eight hours both cost £9.50. If you were planning a long day, the sixth hour is where the pricing stops punishing you until ten.

Step-free means Wood Lane or the Overground

Worth repeating because it catches people out: the Central line stations — Shepherd's Bush and White City — are not step-free. Wood Lane, on the Circle and Hammersmith & City lines, and Shepherd's Bush Overground are. Plan the journey around those two if level access matters.

Charge the car before you come

The only EV provision named anywhere for this centre is Tesla Superchargers, with no count published and no other network mentioned. If you drive an electric car that is not a Tesla, arrive with enough range to leave again.

Check the Congestion Charge yourself

We could not establish from TfL's own pages whether W12 falls inside the Congestion Charge zone, because TfL describes the boundary by central London landmarks and never mentions W12. Use TfL's postcode checker. It takes a few seconds and it is the only source that can answer definitively. ULEZ, separately, definitely applies: £12.50 a day for a non-compliant vehicle, every day but Christmas Day.

Getting hours right

The centre's own hours page publishes nothing usable, and the two sources that do publish hours disagree by half an hour at each end of the weekend. For anything time-critical, check the shop you are actually going to — retailers' own store pages are more reliable here than the centre's.

Things nobody publishes

We could not confirm free Wi-Fi, lockers, a lost property arrangement, a prayer or quiet room, baby changing, a Changing Places toilet, coach parking or a dogs policy from any source we could read. The AccessAble guide covers step-free access, Shopmobility and Blue Badge validation; beyond that the record is thin. Absent from the record is not absent from the centre — phone +44 (0)203 371 2300 if one of these decides your trip.

How it got here

We are not going to tell you when Westfield London opened, because no source we can trust says. The date that circulates everywhere traces back to Wikipedia and the many sites that copy it. The operator does not state it on any page we could read. A trade-press retrospective that would probably settle it returned an access error. The council's planning history and the subscription trade titles are routes we did not manage to take. This is the third park in this project where a basic date simply is not available — and it is unusual for it to be the opening, rather than the hours or the owner.

What we can date is Phase 2. On 30 May 2014 the Mayor of London approved a £1bn extension scheme including 1,347 homes; Boris Johnson's statement at the time described a "transformational impact on Shepherds Bush and White City, kickstarting widespread social and economic regeneration". A Drapers headline gave the extension figure as £600m. We have printed both and reconciled neither, because we could not read the Drapers piece to see what each figure covers. The extension opened on 20 March 2018 with around 80 new shops and the 230,000 sq ft John Lewis.

Ownership is joint and the split is not published. Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield's own portfolio page names URW and Commerz Real as joint owners. No percentage appears anywhere — not in URW's results, not in React News, Property Week or CoStar. We looked specifically for one and it does not exist in the public record, so no figure appears on this page. The arrangement is current: a leasing story on 20 August 2026 quoted Constantin Wiesmann, URW's Director of Leasing for Northern Europe, alongside Russell Banham, Commerz Real's UK Head, on the same deal.

The Westfield Group and Unibail-Rodamco combined in 2018 to create URW. We are printing no valuation for that deal. Two wildly different headline figures appear in search results — one around $25bn, one around $15.7bn — from articles we could not open. Picking one would be a coin toss dressed up as research.

What was here before

The land under Westfield London has a bigger history than the centre does, and it came from the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham's own heritage pages rather than from Historic England — the buildings are gone, so there is no listing and no designation text to draw on.

This was the White City exhibition site: a 200-acre complex beside Wood Lane, with 25 palaces and halls finished in white stucco, which is where the name comes from. It was built for the Franco-British Exhibition of 1908, which ran from May to October and drew around 8 million visitors, staged to mark the Entente Cordiale of 1904. The impresario behind it, Imre Kiralfy, borrowed the "White City" idea from the Chicago World's Fair he had visited in 1893.

The site included a 150,000-capacity stadium which hosted the 1908 Olympic Games. The estate roads around it were named after the countries of the empire exhibitions that followed. The stadium was demolished, which is precisely why Historic England has nothing on file — and why a council heritage page ends up being the best source for what stood here.

What we could not check

  • The opening date of Westfield London is not verified and this page prints none. Every date we could find traces to Wikipedia or a mirror of it. The operator publishes none on any readable page, the likely trade retrospective returned an access error, and the council planning history and subscription trade titles were routes we could not take. Do not let any future version of this page fill the gap from memory. The postcode is disputed too: the operator, Visit London and Next's own store page give W12 7SL, several third-party directories give W12 7GF, and we used the three that agree.
  • The extension cost is given two ways. The Mayor of London approved a £1bn scheme including 1,347 homes on 30 May 2014; a Drapers headline gave £600m for the extension. We could not read the Drapers article, so we cannot say what each figure covers.
  • The store count differs three ways. 460+ stores (operator), 320 shops plus 88 dining units (Visit London), 750+ brands (Retail Sector, 20 August 2026, quoting the operator's leasing director). They count different things and we have not picked one.
  • No ownership percentage exists. URW and Commerz Real are joint owners on URW's own portfolio page. We searched URW results, React News, Property Week and CoStar for a split and found none. Never assume a 50-50.
  • There is no footfall figure for this centre alone. The 81.8 million (2018) and 39.72 million (first half of 2019) figures are Westfield London and Westfield Stratford City combined. Stratford's own 50 million is a separate centre 15 miles east. Any single-site number you see attributed to Westfield London should be treated with suspicion.
  • The operator publishes no usable opening hours. Its hours page renders a row of dashes and the word "Closed". The two sets on this page come from Next's own store page and Visit London, they differ by half an hour at each end of the weekend, and we have not chosen between them. No bank holiday, Christmas or New Year hours are published by the centre at all.
  • No road or junction appears in the directions here, deliberately. The operator names none in its own directions. The A40 Westway and A3220 West Cross Route are adjacent, and we have named them as geography rather than as a route. No walking time or distance from any of the five stations is published by the operator, TfL or the tourist board either.
  • Whether W12 falls inside the Congestion Charge zone could not be settled. TfL's zone page describes the boundary using central London reference points and never names W12 either way. Use TfL's own postcode checker. ULEZ, separately, is confirmed to apply.
  • EV charging is Teslas only, as far as anyone publishes. Tesla Superchargers are named with no count, and no other network is named anywhere.
  • House of Fraser's exact closing date was never stated. Its departure was reported on 3 January 2023 and no source gives the day it shut. The Ministry of Sound report for the unit comes from a search-result headline we could not open and is unverified.
  • The Skims opening date is self-contradictory in its own source. A 20 August 2026 report describes an "early 2026" opening. We have flagged the store rather than dating it. There is no 2024 round-up of arrivals and departures for this centre anywhere — the record jumps from January 2023 to spring 2025.
  • No valuation is printed for the 2018 Westfield Group and Unibail-Rodamco combination. Search snippets give figures around $25bn and around $15.7bn from articles we could not open. Choosing between them would be guesswork.
  • We could not confirm free Wi-Fi, lockers, lost property, a prayer or quiet room, baby changing, a Changing Places toilet, coach parking or a dogs policy. The AccessAble guide covers step-free access, Shopmobility and Blue Badge validation and little else.
  • White City Place, Television Centre, Shepherd's Bush Market and the West 12 Shopping Centre are not part of Westfield London, and neither is Westfield Stratford City. Figures and news from all of them get attached to this centre online.