Springkerse Retail Park, Stirling: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times
Stirling’s big out-of-town bulky-goods park, anchored by B&Q, about a mile east of the city centre at FK7 7TL. There is no operator website, no park phone number and no park-wide opening hours — none of those things exist. And what most people call "Springkerse Retail Park" is two separate schemes with two different letting agents, next door to an industrial estate of the same name. Here is what is actually published, by whom, and what nobody publishes at all.
Springkerse Retail Park sits about a mile east of Stirling city centre, on the flat ground between Kerse Road and Muirton Road at FK7 7TL. It is a classic Scottish bulky-goods park: a big B&Q at one end, a run of furniture, carpet, bed and kitchen sheds, a Halfords and a Pets at Home, and a very large car park in front of the lot.
Start with the thing that shapes this entire page: there is no operator website. No landlord-run site, no centre-management page, no store directory, no hours page, no facilities page, no phone number for the park as a whole. This is not a site blocked to us or a domain that has died — there is no domain. Everything below comes from the letting agents’ brochure, the landlord’s investor announcements, tenants’ own store pages and planning documents. Where a fact has no such source, we say so.
Now the trap, and it is the central fact about Springkerse. Four things in Stirling carry the name or get muddled with the park: Phase 1, the B&Q-anchored scheme and the only part with published figures; Phase 2, a separate scheme with a separate letting agent, for which no size, unit count, tenant list or owner is published anywhere; Springkerse Industrial Estate north of Kerse Road, where the Aldi, Lidl and Farmfoods that directories keep filing under "Springkerse Retail Park" actually sit; and the Thistles, the enclosed city-centre mall a mile west, a different property with a different owner.
A fifth confusion, before you drive over: the supermarket here is a Morrisons, not a Sainsbury’s, and listings that say otherwise are wrong.
The ownership has changed and most of the internet has not caught up. Phase 1 was bought by Ediston Property Investment Company in August 2021 and sold on, inside an eleven-park portfolio, to the American net-lease REIT Realty Income Corporation in a deal agreed on 8 September 2023. Where sources disagree — and here that includes the purchase price, the sale price, the catchment, the road the park is on and even the spelling of the street — we print every version and say who published each.
The works to upgrade the frontages and deals agreed are testament to the Company's investment strategy, the strength of the park, and our active approach to asset management.
The essentials
| Detail | Springkerse Retail Park |
|---|---|
| What it is | An open out-of-town bulky-goods retail park anchored by B&Q, a mile east of Stirling city centre. Two schemes: Phase 1 (Savills / Coates & Co) and Phase 2 (FG Burnett). Every figure below is Phase 1. |
| Address | Kerse Road / Muirton Road, Springkerse, Stirling FK7 7TL Three addresses are in print for the same park: Kerse Road, Muirton Road and "Murton Road", B&Q's own spelling. Use the postcode. |
| Satnav postcode | FK7 7TL Used by the brochure, both Completely Retail pages, B&Q and Zapmap. |
| Opened | Not published No opening year exists in any source we could find. The site replaced Muirton Farm and was later cut by the A91. |
| Size | 162,593 sq ft — Phase 1 only The precise figure appears in four places: the October 2021 brochure, Ediston's investor page of 10 May 2023, Insider and QuotedData. Completely Retail rounds it to 162,000 sq ft. Phase 2's floorspace is published by nobody. |
| Number of stores | 12 units, 10 tenants in Phase 1 at the August 2021 acquisition Units 1A and 1C were vacant. No count across both phases is published; the figure of around 20 that circulates is unsourced. |
| Parking | 900 spaces From the October 2021 brochure — the agents' figure, Phase 1 only. Whether parking is free is not published by any source we could read, and no maximum stay, enforcement contractor or ANPR arrangement is published either. Parkopedia returned a 405 error here. |
| Height restriction | Not published Nobody states one either way. |
| EV charging | Pod Point: 2 devices, 4 connectors, Type 2 at 7kW, 50p per kWh Zapmap charge point 7BCWBMH, checked 12 Sep 2026, payable via Zap-Pay or the Pod Point app. Access hours not stated. Two other "Springkerse" charging sites exist and are not this one. |
| Owner | Realty Income Corporation (Phase 1) The US net-lease REIT, which agreed on 8 September 2023 to buy Ediston's entire portfolio. We found no Realty Income document naming Springkerse — the identification rests on the portfolio list naming "Stirling" and Ediston having no other Stirling asset. Phase 2's owner is unresolved, and no ownership percentage is published. Before Realty Income the owner was Ediston, from August 2021; before that, clients of LaSalle Investment Management, whose sub-site still carries a stale Springkerse page. |
| Letting agents | Phase 1: Savills / Coates & Co. Phase 2: FG Burnett, with Savills on one unit listing. Two agents for two schemes is the clearest signal these are separate landlords, though no source says so outright. |
| Footfall | Not published No footfall figure for this park has been released. |
| Website | None The nearest to official pages are the two agents' Completely Retail listings. |
| Phone | No park number No centre management to ring. B&Q Stirling is on 01786 449559, for that store only. |
Opening times
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Park as a whole | No park-wide hours exist no operator to publish them; each unit trades to its own times |
| B&Q, Monday to Saturday | 7am – 8pm diy.com store 1253, checked 12 Sep 2026 |
| B&Q, Sunday | 9am – 6pm diy.com store 1253, checked 12 Sep 2026 |
| Tim Hortons drive-thru | 6am – midnight, seven days the company's own opening press release — the only primary weekly schedule we found |
| Wickes, B&M, The Groom Room | Open from 9am aggregator snapshot, 12 September 2026 — indicative |
| Pets at Home, Halfords, Currys, SCS | Open from 10am aggregator snapshot — indicative |
| Vets4Pets, Wren Kitchens | Open from 10.30am aggregator snapshot; Vets4Pets is in Pets at Home |
| Morrisons / McDonald's | Open until 10pm / 11.59pm aggregator snapshots — indicative |
| Christmas and New Year | Not published no festive or Scottish public-holiday hours are published for this park by anybody |
Read that table with its limits in mind. Springkerse has no operator, so there is not even a contradictory pair of landlord pages to compare; the rows are individual businesses’ own times, gathered on 12 September 2026. Only two are primary sources: B&Q Stirling publishes its own hours on diy.com, and Tim Hortons published 6am to midnight, seven days a week in its press release when the drive-thru opened. Those two you can lean on.
Everything else is an aggregator snapshot and should be treated as a hint. The opening-times.co.uk listing gives "opens at" and "open until" moments for one day, not weekly hours, and several businesses on it are not in Phase 1 at all. If your trip depends on a particular shop, check that retailer’s own page. And no festive or Scottish public-holiday hours are published for Springkerse by anyone.
Getting there
By road
Use the postcode FK7 7TL, and do not expect a junction number from us. No motorway junction is published for this park by any operator, because there is no operator, and we are not going to reverse-engineer one off a map.
What is published is the two agents’ road wording, and they do not quite agree. The Savills / Coates & Co brochure puts the park on the A91 at Muirton Road, with the A9 as the other approach, and gives Glasgow 27 miles, Edinburgh 37, Perth 39, Dundee 57. Completely Retail puts it "approximately one mile east of the city centre", reached "via Kerse Road (A905) or the A91". Both are printed because both are probably right: the council’s planning history records the park being bisected by the A91.
Parking
900 spaces, from the October 2021 brochure’s cover line — the only space count anyone publishes, the agents’ number rather than an operator’s, and Phase 1 only. Whether it is free, we cannot tell you. No landlord page exists to say so, the brochure does not say, and Parkopedia’s page returned a 405 error. An out-of-town bulky-goods park is almost always free — but "almost always" is not a source. No maximum stay, enforcement contractor, ANPR arrangement or accessible-bay count is published either.
Electric vehicle charging
There is a Pod Point installation on the park: 2 devices, 4 connectors, all Type 2 at 7kW, 50p per kWh, payable through Zap-Pay or the Pod Point app. Zapmap lists it as charge point 7BCWBMH; access hours are not stated. Three separate "Springkerse" charging locations exist and the map apps do not distinguish them well. The park’s Pod Point is not the Springkerse Park and Ride charging (Zapmap AN05N2E, a council facility), nor the Springkerse Industrial Estate EV Charging Hub run by Source, a faster installation out on the estate.
By train and bus
Stirling station, in the city centre, is roughly a mile west, but no walking time or distance from it to the park is published by anyone. And no bus route serving the retail park could be verified from a primary source: journey planners list the park as a destination, but no operator timetable, council page or brochure names a service that stops there. That is the biggest hole in this page.
Springkerse Park and Ride is a council facility, not the retail park’s car park. It has its own charging and its own bus link, the P1 run by Hunters Executive Coaches; no connection between the two is published.
Coaches, taxis, bikes and accessibility
No coach parking, taxi rank or cycle parking is published by any source, and there is no whole-park accessibility information because there is no operator to publish it — no accessible-bay count, Changing Places toilet, Shopmobility scheme or wheelchair hire. B&Q points to AccessAble for its own store.
The shops
The only reliable tenant list is the Phase 1 unit schedule in the October 2021 Savills / Coates & Co brochure. Five years old, and two things on it have changed — but it is the only document saying which retailer is in which unit at what size.
The Phase 1 unit schedule, October 2021
- Unit 1A — 14,931 sq ft, to let
- Unit 1B — Pets at Home, 9,994 sq ft
- Unit 1C — 9,977 sq ft, to let
- Unit 2 — Oak Furnitureland, 9,849 sq ft
- Unit 3 — Tapi, 10,061 sq ft
- Unit 4 — Carpetright, 10,100 sq ft (closed July 2024)
- Unit 5 — Harry Corry, 9,968 sq ft
- Unit 6 — DFS, 9,979 sq ft
- Unit 7 — Halfords, 9,004 sq ft
- Unit 8 — listed as Harveys / Bensons for Beds, 11,916 sq ft
- Units 9 & 10 — Wren Kitchens, 15,156 sq ft
- Unit 11 — B&Q, 40,409 sq ft
That is 162,593 sq ft across twelve units, 24,908 sq ft of it available at that date.
Arrivals and departures, dated
Tim Hortons opened its drive-thru on Friday 18 March 2022 at 7am, trading 6am to midnight seven days. Its press release quotes Kevin Hydes, Chief Commercial Officer of Tim Hortons U.K. & Ireland: "We’re delighted to have secured a fantastic location in Stirling for our new drive-thru restaurant".
Carpetright closed in July 2024, in the national administration, leaving Unit 4 empty. Harveys is the untidy one: the 2021 brochure labels Unit 8 "Harveys / Bensons for Beds", Harveys collapsed nationally in 2020 and Bensons renewed here in 2023, so Unit 8 is Bensons now — but the joint labelling is the landlord’s own on a 2021 document, and no dated closure for Harveys at Stirling exists anywhere.
Furniture Village — coming, but not confirmed open
Furniture Village lodged a building warrant with Stirling Council for the former Carpetright unit, reference T1YA6APIIH300, for a fit-out costed at £970,000 including a new mezzanine. The Courier reported it on 4 September 2025, noting the unit had been empty for over a year and that this would be Furniture Village’s third Scottish store.
As at 12 September 2026 we could find no source confirming the store has opened, and no opening date has ever been published. The Courier said the company had been approached for comment and had not responded; a building warrant is permission to do work, not evidence of a shop.
The lettings the landlord did announce
Ediston announced on 10 May 2023 that it had completed lease renewals with Harry Corry, Pets at Home, Bensons for Beds and DFS, and that three of the park’s seven unit frontages had been upgraded, with the remaining four planned. It also said Unit 1A — 14,931 sq ft — had been placed under offer to a national retailer after standing vacant for a decade; that retailer was never named and no completion was ever announced. Beyond those, no source publishes an opening, closure or letting date for B&Q, Halfords, Pets at Home, DFS, Wren Kitchens, Tapi, Oak Furnitureland or Harry Corry here. And Phase 2 is a blank: the only hard figure published for it anywhere is that Unit 3 is 10,000 sq ft with "Bulky Use" consent, marked currently unavailable when we checked.
Useful to know
What this park is for
Springkerse is a bulky-goods park and behaves like one: carpets, sofas, beds, kitchens, DIY, bike and car bits, pet supplies. A car trip with a boot to fill, not an afternoon’s browsing — for fashion you want Affinity Sterling Mills at Tillicoultry. B&Q opens at 7am Monday to Saturday and the Tim Hortons drive-thru from 6am; nothing else opens before 9am on any source we found.
Things nobody publishes
There is no park-level information on toilets, baby changing, Changing Places, Shopmobility, wheelchair hire, Wi-Fi, cash machines, lost property, a dogs policy or quiet hours. Not because Springkerse lacks them — B&Q alone lists paint mixing, timber cutting, Click + Collect, showrooms, TradePoint, Timpson key cutting and Rug Doctor hire — but because no landlord publishes anything at park level. If a facility decides your trip, ring the retailer.
Two places it is not
Springkerse Industrial Estate, north of Kerse Road, is not the retail park — that is where the council depots, trade counters and the Aldi, Lidl and Farmfoods are — and the Thistles is the city-centre mall a mile west, whose figures regularly end up attached to this park.
Parks worth comparing
The open-park model Springkerse belongs to is worked much harder at The Forge Retail Park in Glasgow and Straiton Retail Park south of Edinburgh, both of which have operators that publish something.
How it got here
There is no published opening year for Springkerse Retail Park. We checked the council’s planning blog, the letting brochure, both Completely Retail pages, Ediston’s investor pages, the trade press, The Courier and Urban Realm. Nobody states one, and Historic Environment Scotland holds no listing. Two soft hints exist and neither is usable: a rival developer argued in 2021 that units here had been unlet "in over 20 years" — but an adversary’s round number in a planning argument is not an opening date — while Completely Retail says the park "evolved over a decade", which contradicts it.
What was here before
The best history source turned out to be an unlikely one: Stirling Council’s own planning blog, in a post called "Past, Present, Future: Springkerse" published on 17 September 2018. In the 1960s the area was "largely still farmland at this time, with some more development nearest the railway and around the colliery" — there had been a colliery here. Industrial use arrived through the 1960s and 1970s, with Munro Road and Whitehouse Road forming north of Kerse Road, and Broadleys Farm became the Broadleys industrial estate. And, in the sentence that explains both the layout and the address, Muirton Farm was replaced by Springkerse Retail Park, which was subsequently bisected by the A91. Springkerse House survives, repurposed by the council.
The ownership chain
August 2021: Ediston Property Investment Company plc bought Phase 1 off-market from clients of LaSalle Investment Management. The price is published three ways — £21.85m by Ediston itself, Insider, QuotedData and CoStar; £21.9m in Property Week’s headline; "nearly £22m" by The Scotsman — and we lead with £21.85m because it is the landlord’s own figure. The date comes two ways too: 25 August 2021 (The Scotsman, QuotedData) and 26 August 2021 (CoStar).
The deal numbers: a net initial yield of 9.54% on a passing rent of £2.23m a year, rising to a reported 10.8% once the two vacant units were let. Ediston funded it with the proceeds of selling a Tesco superstore in Prestatyn at a 5.2% yield — a deliberate move out of supermarket and into retail warehousing.
September 2023: the whole portfolio went to Realty Income, and four different prices for that deal are in print: £200.8m from Completely Retail News, against a portfolio valuation of £208.4m and contracted rent of £16.5m; £196.8m from QuotedData; £200m in Property Week’s and Portfolio Adviser’s headlines; and £201m in IPE Real Assets’. We record all four and pick none — and none is a price for Springkerse, because all are portfolio numbers.
The portfolio was eleven retail parks — Stirling, Haddington, Sunderland, Widnes, Barnsley, Prestatyn, Hull, Wrexham, Glasgow, Daventry and Rhyl — plus six London data centres and offices let to Vodafone. "Stirling" in that list is Springkerse, because it was Ediston’s only Stirling asset. Shareholders met on 26 September 2023 and Ediston went into liquidation. Be clear about the strength of that identification: we found no primary Realty Income document naming Springkerse, so the ownership stated here rests on the portfolio list plus the absence of any other Ediston holding in Stirling. A sound inference, and still an inference — and it covers Phase 1 only.
Crookbridge: the fight next door
The live story at Springkerse is not inside the park. It is on Crookbridge, a 13-acre site on the A905 Kerse Road immediately south of the park and of Wickes, owned by Stirling Development Agency with Ramoyle (Crookbridge) Ltd as developer. A separate site.
8 April 2021 — permission in principle sought for drive-through restaurants, a vehicle showroom, shops and a gym on five hectares of grazing land off the A905. The applicants’ planning statement argued that units at Springkerse "have never been fully let in over 20 years demonstrating an existing over provision of bulky goods shopping" — a rival developer arguing against the incumbent park, reported by Urban Realm, and not a neutral finding.
January 2022 — approved by Stirling councillors. 18 March 2022 — called in by Scottish Ministers, case CIN-390-001, reporter Christopher Warren. 7 November 2022 — refused, per the decision notice on the DPEA case file, with the reporter’s report of 12 July 2022 published the next day. The Courier says the scheme was "rejected by Scottish ministers in 2023"; the DPEA record says 7 November 2022, and that is the primary source. We could not open the report or the notice — the viewer exposes no direct URLs — so no reasoning is quoted.
21 May 2024 — a revised scheme was approved, retail-led this time, with Asda named as the supermarket operator, plus a car showroom, offices and a refuelling hub, and around 350 jobs. It would be Stirling’s first full-scale Asda. The figure worth carrying away is the council’s own, reporting the retail impact assessment: supermarkets in the Stirling area "are currently overtrading by around £10 million", projected to £25 million by 2030. No named councillor or officer quote exists in that coverage. One older refusal we cannot write up: the Stirling Observer reported on 11 October 2017 that the council had turned down a home store at Springkerse, but the Observer is a Reach title and is blocked to us.
What we could not check
- There is no operator website and no park phone number. No landlord site, no centre-management page, no store directory, no hours page, no facilities page. Every fact here comes from letting agents, landlord investor notes, tenants or planning documents.
- This is two schemes, not one. Phase 2's floorspace, unit count, tenant list and owner are all unpublished, so every size and count here is Phase 1 only. There is no total for the destination, and the figure of around 20 stores that circulates online is unsourced. The supermarket here is a Morrisons, not a Sainsbury's, and we could not establish which unit of the wider Springkerse area McDonald's, Wickes, Currys, B&M, SCS, Tim Hortons, The GOAT coffee or McCaskie Farm Supplies occupies.
- Whether parking is free is not published by anyone, and no maximum stay, enforcement contractor, ANPR arrangement or height restriction is published either; Parkopedia returned a 405 error for this car park, and the 900-space count is the agents' Phase 1 figure. No facilities information exists at park level either — no accessible-bay count, toilets, baby changing, Changing Places, Shopmobility, wheelchair hire, Wi-Fi, cash machine, lost property or dogs policy.
- No park-wide opening hours exist. Every row in the hours table is one business's own times; only B&Q and Tim Hortons are primary sources, the rest are single-day aggregator snapshots, and several of those businesses are not in Phase 1. No festive or Scottish public-holiday hours are published by anybody.
- No opening year for the retail park exists in any source, and the two soft hints in print — "over 20 years" unlet and "evolved over a decade" — contradict each other.
- Realty Income's ownership of Springkerse is an inference, resting on the eleven-park portfolio list naming "Stirling" and on Ediston having had no other Stirling asset; we found no Realty Income document naming the park. Phase 2's owner is unresolved, no ownership percentage is published, and LaSalle's stale Springkerse page is not evidence it owns anything here.
- Four prices are in print for the 2023 portfolio sale — £196.8m, £200m, £200.8m and £201m — none of them a price for Springkerse; three prices and two dates for the 2021 purchase (£21.85m, £21.9m or "nearly £22m", on 25 or 26 August 2021); and three catchment populations on three radii. We have picked none of them.
- Two road names and three street addresses are in print: Kerse Road (A905), Muirton Road (A91) and "Murton Road", B&Q's own spelling, which we have not corrected. Use FK7 7TL. No motorway junction appears here, deliberately — there is no operator to publish one.
- No bus route serving the park could be verified from any primary source, and no walking time from Stirling station is published by anyone. Springkerse Park and Ride is a separate council facility.
- Furniture Village has not been confirmed open. A £970,000 building warrant lodged in September 2025 for the former Carpetright unit is the last public step; no opening date has been published. Unit 1A's "national retailer" was never named either, and no completion of that 2023 letting was announced. And no dated closure for Harveys at Stirling exists, despite the brand appearing on the landlord's own 2021 unit schedule and collapsing nationally in 2020.
- The Crookbridge refusal date conflicts — DPEA says 7 November 2022, The Courier says 2023 — and the reporter's report and decision notice could not be opened, so no reasoning is quoted. The 2017 Stirling Observer story about a refused home store here could not be read: it is a Reach title, blocked to us.