ShopbamTips and advice throughout the world of online shopping
Retail park · Wales

Cardiff Gate Retail Park, Pontprennau: Shops, Parking, Directions and Opening Times

A big-box park of around 199,681 sq ft on Dering Road at the top of Pontprennau, anchored by B&Q and sitting alongside an Asda superstore that trades under a different place name entirely. Three separate things in north-east Cardiff are called Cardiff Gate — this retail park, an international business park, and a Welcome Break motorway services — and they are not the same place, not the same postcode and not the same owner. Here is what the letting agent and the individual tenants publish, what changed when the park sold in 2026, and the long list of things nobody publishes at all.

Illustration of Cardiff Gate Retail Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff

Cardiff Gate Retail Park is a bulky-goods park on Dering Road in Pontprennau, on the north-eastern edge of Cardiff, a few hundred yards inside the M4. It is the sort of park nobody writes about properly: no mall, no centre management office, no website, no press office. It is a horseshoe of large sheds around a surface car park, with B&Q at one end, a run of furniture and flooring warehouses along the side, a gym, a Subway and a Costa, and an Asda superstore with its own petrol station immediately next door.

Start with the name, because this is the thing that catches everybody out. There are three separate Cardiff Gates in this corner of the city and they get mixed up constantly, including by mapping services and by property listing sites. This page is about the retail park, at 8 Dering Road, CF23 8NL. It is not Cardiff Gate International Business Park, the office campus on Malthouse Avenue whose website is cardiffgate.com. And it is not Cardiff Gate Services, the Welcome Break motorway service area at Malthouse Avenue, CF23 8RA, whose Starbucks, KFC, Burger King, Waitrose and Gridserve chargers belong to the motorway and not to the shops. If you are searching for EV charging or a 24-hour coffee and you land on the services, you have landed on the wrong Cardiff Gate.

There is no operator website for this park and we could not find evidence that one has ever existed. That matters for everything that follows. Nobody publishes park-wide opening hours, a space count, a height limit, an accessibility statement or a lost-property arrangement, because there is nobody whose job it is to publish them. What exists instead is a letting agent's marketing page, a handful of tenant store-finder pages, and the trade press coverage of the investment deals. We have used all three, and we have said which is which on every line.

The park changed hands in 2026. CoStar reported on 15 June 2026 that Realty Income Corporation had completed the purchase of eight retail parks from Tristan Capital for around £260m at a 7.7% net initial yield, with completion that same month, and Cardiff Gate was named as one of the eight. Tristan had owned it since a nine-park portfolio deal in December 2016. Anything you read online naming Tristan, or the earlier owner Brockton, as the current landlord is out of date.

What follows draws on the letting agent Edgerley Simpson Howe, the store-finder pages of B&Q, Asda, Tapi and PureGym, CoStar's coverage of two transactions a decade apart, a Cardiff University paper on retail change in the city, a landscaping contractor's own case study, and a parking forum thread. Where two sources disagree we have printed both and named each. Where nobody publishes something — and at Cardiff Gate that includes some very basic things — we say so rather than guessing.

the Asda store and Cardiff Gate Retail Park at Pontprennau helped to finance a major expansion of the city's residential area in the 1990s

— Professor Cliff Guy, School of City and Regional Planning, Cardiff University, in the university's paper "Retail change in Cardiff" — the document carries no publication date, source

The essentials

DetailCardiff Gate Retail Park
What it isAn out-of-town bulky-goods retail park of around a dozen large units, anchored by B&Q, with an Asda superstore and petrol filling station immediately adjacent. Not Cardiff Gate International Business Park and not Cardiff Gate motorway services — see the caveats.
Address8 Dering Road, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8NL
Satnav postcodeCF23 8NL The motorway services, often confused with the park, are CF23 8RA. The business park is also on Malthouse Avenue.
OpenedNot published No opening year for the park could be sourced from any operator, council or trade document. Cardiff University's paper on retail change in the city places the Asda store and the retail park in the 1990s, which is the nearest thing to a date anyone publishes. We are not converting that into a year.
Size199,681 sq ft The figure published by the letting agent Edgerley Simpson Howe on eshp.com and repeated verbatim on its Completely Retail scheme entry — one source, published twice. It is not stated whether it includes the adjacent Asda. No second independent measurement exists.
Number of storesAround 12 units Eleven occupiers are named on the letting agent's own scheme page; the aggregator Occupi counts 12 units. A McDonald's trades at 1 Dering Road and an ScS has a page for the park, neither of which appears on the agent's list. Nobody publishes an authoritative count.
ParkingFree, with a maximum stay PureGym, a tenant, publishes "free onsite parking available for up to 4 hours". Parkopedia, which is crowd-sourced, gives 490 spaces, describes the free period as two hours for customers and the maximum stay as four. We have not resolved the two-versus-four-hour point and neither has anybody else.
Parking enforcementSmart Parking Ltd Named by Parkopedia and by a 2019 MoneySavingExpert thread in which a driver reported a £100 charge for staying "just over 4 hours". This is camera-enforced. Treat the four-hour limit as real.
Height restrictionNone published Parkopedia records no height restriction. It is a flat surface car park with no structure over it, so a height barrier is unlikely, but no operator confirms this.
EV chargingNone confirmed on the park Zapmap's Pontprennau charge points are at the ibis hotel and at Welcome Break Cardiff Gate Services, both of which are separate sites. A Tesla Supercharger is listed on Croescadarn Road nearby. Do not plan a charge around the shops.
OwnerRealty Income Corporation CoStar, 15 June 2026: Realty Income had completed the acquisition of eight retail parks including Cardiff Gate from Tristan Capital for around £260m at a 7.7% net initial yield, with completion in June 2026. We have not seen a purchase price for Cardiff Gate on its own and are not printing one.
Previous ownersTristan Capital 2016–2026; Brockton Capital before that CoStar, 7 December 2016: Tristan agreed to buy a nine-park portfolio including Cardiff Gate from Brockton for £250m at a 7.5% yield.
Letting agentEdgerley Simpson Howe LLP, 25 Fouberts Place, London W1F 7QF — Nick Howe and Giles Pickford The nearest thing the park has to an official voice. There is no centre management office.
FootfallNot published No footfall figure for this park has ever been published by any owner, agent or council document we could find.
WebsiteNone The park has no operator website. cardiffgate.com is Cardiff Gate International Business Park, a different scheme; when we tried to read it the address bounced between http and https without settling.
PhoneNo park number Ring the individual retailer. Asda Pentwyn is 029 2054 7400; B&Q Cardiff Gate is 0333 014 3529; Tapi is 029 2167 6700.

Opening times

DayHours
Park as a wholeNot published there is no operator to publish them; every row below is a single retailer's own figure
Asda Pentwyn superstore, Mon–Sat6am – 10pm storelocator.asda.com
Asda Pentwyn superstore, Sunday10am – 4pm six hours, the Sunday Trading Act maximum
Asda petrol filling stationSame hours as the store Asda's own store page
Asda pharmacy9am – 8pm Mon–Sat, 10am – 4pm Sunday
Asda café8.30am – 5pm Mon–Sat, 10am – 4pm Sunday
Asda quieter hour2pm – 3pm every Monday to Thursday Asda's own store page: reduced noise and lighting. It is the only published quiet hour anywhere on this site
B&Q, Mon–Sat7am – 8pm diy.com store page for B&Q Cardiff Gate, 7 Dering Road; on a re-check on 13 September 2026 the store page served us its navigation only, so this row rests on the earlier read
B&Q, Sunday10am – 4pm
PureGym Cardiff GateOpen 24 hours, 7 days puregym.com
Tapi Carpets, Mon–Tue9.30am – 7pm tapi.co.uk, week of 13–19 September 2026
Tapi Carpets, Wed–Fri9.30am – 6pm
Tapi Carpets, Sat9am – 6pm
Tapi Carpets, Sun10am – 4pm
Car park itself, crowd-sourcedMon–Sat 7am – 8pm, Sun 10am – 4pm Parkopedia's hours for the car park, which is neither an operator statement nor consistent with Asda's 6am opening. Treat as indicative only.
Aggregator claim, not verifiedMon–Fri 10am – 8pm, Sat 10am – 6pm, Sun 11am – 5pm Occupi publishes these as park hours. No operator source supports them, they contradict every tenant page above, and the same page calls the Asda a 24/7 store when Asda itself publishes 6am–10pm. We are printing them only so you know where that version comes from.

Checked on 13 September 2026, tenant by tenant, because there is no other way to do it here. Cardiff Gate Retail Park publishes no opening hours because the park has no website and no management office. Every time in the table above is a single retailer stating its own hours on its own store-finder page, and each row says which page it came from.

The practical shape of the day is set by Asda and B&Q. Asda opens at 6am and B&Q at 7am, Monday to Saturday, so the car park is in use long before the furniture showrooms lift their shutters. At the other end, Asda trades until 10pm and PureGym never closes, so there is activity on the site round the clock even though most of the units are dark by early evening.

Sunday is short and it is short by law. Both Asda and B&Q trade 10am to 4pm on a Sunday. Any shop over 280 sq m in Wales is limited to six continuous hours of Sunday trading, and both of them use the same six. Assume the furniture sheds are shorter still — Tapi publishes 10am to 4pm — and do not turn up at half nine on a Sunday expecting to get in anywhere except the gym.

We have deliberately printed a set of hours we do not believe. The aggregator Occupi publishes park-level hours of 10am to 8pm on weekdays. Nothing on the park supports that: B&Q opens three hours earlier and Tapi closes two hours earlier. The same page also describes the Asda as a 24/7 store, which Asda's own store locator flatly contradicts. Aggregator hours for parks with no operator site are frequently invented from a template, and this looks like one. If you have seen those times quoted elsewhere, that is where they come from.

The one genuinely useful extra is Asda's quieter hour, 2pm to 3pm every Monday to Thursday, with noise and lighting turned down. Asda publishes it on its own store page. Nothing comparable exists for the park as a whole or for any other unit on it.

Nobody publishes bank holiday, Christmas or New Year hours for this park. Not the agent, not an aggregator, nobody. Check the individual retailer's own page in the week before you travel, and bear in mind that Asda's and B&Q's festive hours usually appear on diy.com and asda.com a fortnight or so ahead.

Getting there

Schematic of the approach to Cardiff Gate Retail Park: the junction, the site layout, the car parks and the public transport links
Schematic, not to scale — it shows the approach, roughly where the anchor stores sit and which transport links reach the site.

By car

The postcode is CF23 8NL and the address is 8 Dering Road, Pontprennau. Set the satnav to the postcode rather than to the name, because "Cardiff Gate" will as often as not take you to the business park or to the motorway services.

The junction is M4 junction 30, and we are printing that number because the park's own letting agent publishes it. The scheme entry filed by Edgerley Simpson Howe LLP on Completely Retail describes the park as "situated by junction 30 of the M4 motorway approximately 3 miles north of Cardiff city centre". Two tenants say the same on their own store pages: PureGym places its Cardiff Gate branch at CF23 8NL "next to B&Q and Asda" and reachable via junction 30 of the M4, and Wren Kitchens describes its Cardiff showroom as "just minutes away from junction 30 of the M4". The agent plus two tenants is as close to an operator statement as this park gets. Note that Edgerley Simpson Howe's own page on eshp.com carries the size and the tenant list but no junction wording — the junction sentence is on the agent's Completely Retail entry.

Junction 30 is signed as Cardiff Gate Interchange, where the M4 meets the A4232 Pentwyn Link Road. From the junction, Dering Road runs off Malthouse Avenue on the south side of the motorway. The Welcome Break services are at the same junction — that is the source of most of the confusion — but they are a separate site at CF23 8RA with their own access, their own two-hour parking rule and their own retailers.

Approaching from the city, the A48 Eastern Avenue and then the A4232 bring you up through Pentwyn to the same interchange. From the Valleys, the A470 and then the M4 eastbound is the usual line.

Parking

Parking is free and there is a maximum stay, and the maximum stay is enforced by cameras. PureGym, a tenant, publishes the limit as four hours. Parkopedia, which is crowd-sourced and should be treated as such, records 490 spaces, describes free parking as being for customers for two hours and gives the maximum stay as four. We cannot reconcile the two-hour and four-hour versions from any published source, and there is no operator to ask.

The car park is run by Smart Parking Ltd. A 2019 MoneySavingExpert thread records a £100 parking charge issued to a driver who stayed "just over 4 hours", and includes a complaint that the terms sign was mounted "up an 8 foot pole behind a huge pillar". Read the signs on the way in, note the time, and do not assume that a big free car park at a furniture park is unenforced. It is not: Parkopedia's own review thread for this car park carries several drivers reporting charges after what they describe as ordinary visits, including to the McDonald's.

Parkopedia also gives the car park's own hours as 7am to 8pm Monday to Saturday and 10am to 4pm on Sunday. That cannot be right as written, because Asda opens at 6am and its customers park here, so treat it as indicative rather than as a barrier timetable. Nobody publishes whether the car park is gated at all.

By bus

Cardiff Bus routes 57 and 58 run from the city centre to Pontprennau and both call at a stop named Pontprennau Asda — which is the Asda on this park. The route description is "City Centre to Pontprennau via Albany Road, Llanedeyrn then Hollybush (57) or Pentwyn Leisure Centre (58)". The published timetable shows journeys from around 6.35am to around 11.05pm, at roughly fifteen to thirty minute intervals through the day.

Cardiff Bus's X59 serves Cardiff Gate Business Park, which is the office campus rather than the shops. No bus stop named Cardiff Gate Retail Park or Dering Road appears on any Cardiff Bus timetable we read. The Asda stop is the one you want, and from it you are walking across the same car park.

By rail

There is no station at the park and nobody — not the agent, not Transport for Wales, not any tenant — publishes a nearest station, a distance or a walking time for Cardiff Gate Retail Park. Realistically this is a car and bus destination. Cardiff Central is the regional hub and the 57/58 corridor is the connection, but we are not going to invent a walk from a suburban halt that no source supports.

On foot and by bike

The park sits at the top of the Pontprennau housing estate that, on Cardiff University's account, it helped to finance, so there is a residential catchment within walking distance to the south and east. No cycle parking provision is published by anyone. No coach parking is published either.

The shops

Who trades here

The tenant list published by the letting agent, Edgerley Simpson Howe, on its own scheme page and on its Completely Retail entry, names: B&Q, Poltronesofà, DFS, Bensons for Beds, Oak Furnitureland, Tapi, Wren Kitchens, Natuzzi, PureGym, Subway and Costa, with Asda described as adjacent.

That is an unusually pure bulky-goods line-up. Six of the eleven sell sofas, beds, kitchens or flooring. There is no fashion, no electricals shed, no supermarket other than the Asda next door, and no cinema or restaurant cluster. If you are coming for clothes or a phone shop, you want a different park — this one is for kitting out a house.

Two names the agent does not list

A McDonald's trades at 1 Dering Road, Cardiff Gate Retail Park, which puts it on the same road at the entrance to the scheme. An ScS has long had a "Cardiff Gate Retail Park" presence and the aggregator Occupi lists it among the tenants. Neither appears on the letting agent's list. That is not a contradiction we can settle: an agent's marketing page normally shows the units it manages, and a drive-through restaurant or a separately-owned pad site can sit on the same estate without appearing on it. We have not been able to confirm from a first-hand source whether ScS is still trading here, and no closure has been reported either.

Poltronesofà, and what it says about the park

The presence of Poltronesofà and Natuzzi alongside DFS is worth a note. Both are Italian sofa brands that have taken UK retail-park space in the last few years, and they tend to pick parks with an established furniture cluster rather than trying to create one. Their arrival is the clearest signal available that Cardiff Gate is regarded in the trade as a functioning furniture destination rather than a park in decline.

Arrivals and departures

We could not date a single arrival or departure at this park. That is not for want of looking. There is no operator to issue a letting announcement, the agent's page shows a tenant list without dates, and the trade press coverage we found concerns the investment transactions rather than the lettings. If you want to know when Wren or Poltronesofà opened, nobody has published it. We would rather tell you that than fill the gap with a guess.

The Asda question

The superstore on this park is branded Asda Pentwyn Superstore, not Asda Cardiff Gate, even though its address is 8 Dering Road, Pontprennau, and its postcode is the park's. Pentwyn is the neighbouring district. This is a genuine trap when you are searching: Asda's own store locator files it under Pentwyn, the bus stop is called Pontprennau Asda, and the property listings call it Cardiff Gate. All three are the same shop. It has a petrol filling station, a post office, a pharmacy, a café, a Timpson concession and George clothing.

Useful to know

Accessibility

There is no park-level accessibility statement, because there is no park-level anybody. What exists is store by store. Parkopedia records that disabled bays exist in the car park but gives no number and no location. B&Q publishes an AccessAble access guide for its Cardiff Gate store, which is the most detailed accessibility information available for any building on the site — B&Q links to it from its own store page. Asda's Pentwyn store page lists an accessible toilet, adapted trolleys, assisted shopping, baby changing, disabled facilities, mobility scooters, wheelchairs and hearing loops.

Asda also runs a quieter hour from 2pm to 3pm every Monday to Thursday, with noise and lighting reduced, which is published on its own store page and is the only sensory provision published anywhere on this site.

No Changing Places toilet is published anywhere on this park by any source. If that matters to your trip, do not assume one exists.

Toilets, cash and food

The public toilets you can count on are inside Asda and inside B&Q. Asda's own page confirms a cash machine at the store. For food there is a Subway and a Costa on the park, a McDonald's at 1 Dering Road, and Asda's own café trading 8.30am to 5pm Monday to Saturday. Nothing on the park is open late for a sit-down meal.

Wi-Fi, dogs, lost property

No park-wide Wi-Fi is published. PureGym publishes free Wi-Fi inside the gym for members. No dogs policy is published for the park. B&Q's national policy permits dogs in its stores; Asda's does not, beyond assistance dogs. Since the park is a surface car park with separate front doors rather than a mall, in practice each retailer's own policy is the one that applies at its door.

There is no lost property office and no number to ring for one. If you leave something behind, the retailer you were in is your only route.

Clean air and low emission zones

Cardiff has no charging clean air zone in force. There is no congestion charge, no ULEZ and no low-emission charge to pay for driving to Pontprennau.

Gift cards and Wi-Fi vouchers

There is no park gift card. Parks without a managing operator do not have one. The individual retailers' own national gift cards are the only option.

The tree pits, for the curious

One genuinely documented piece of the park's fabric: in 2015 the landscaping contractor GreenBlue Urban installed its StrataCell root-cell system in the car park, in what its own case study describes as "a 1 cell deep, 4×4 single tree pit trench designed creatively by Landscape Architects Coscadden Associates", with Churngold Construction as contractor. The point of the system is to give car-park trees enough root volume to reach maturity under a surface that vehicles drive over. Revisiting six years later, GreenBlue Urban reported that shoppers were choosing to park "beneath the shade of the trees canopy". It is a small thing, but it is one of very few dated, sourced facts about the physical park.

How it got here

How it got here

No opening year for Cardiff Gate Retail Park is published anywhere we could find — not by the agent, not by Cardiff Council, not in the trade press. The best-sourced statement about its origins comes from Cardiff University, in a paper on retail change in the city by Professor Cliff Guy of the School of City and Regional Planning, which records that "the Asda store and Cardiff Gate Retail Park at Pontprennau helped to finance a major expansion of the city's residential area in the 1990s".

That sentence is worth reading carefully, because it describes a mechanism rather than a date. Pontprennau was a large 1990s housing expansion on Cardiff's northern edge, and the retail development was part of how the land came forward. The park was, in other words, not dropped onto an existing suburb; the suburb and the park were financed together. The paper carries no publication date, so we are treating "the 1990s" as the period and printing no year.

Ownership, in order

The ownership chain is the best-documented thing about this park, because investment deals get reported and lettings at furniture sheds do not.

Brockton Capital held it as part of a retail-park portfolio. On 7 December 2016 CoStar reported that Tristan Capital Partners had agreed to buy that nine-strong portfolio for £250m at a 7.5% yield, naming Cardiff Gate and Ravenside Retail Park in Birmingham among the assets.

Tristan held it for roughly a decade. Then, on 15 June 2026, CoStar reported that Realty Income Corporation — described as "the dominant listed American investor in retail parks, supermarkets and shopping centres across the UK" — had completed the acquisition of eight more retail parks from Tristan Capital for around £260 million or a 7.7% net initial yield, with completion in June 2026. The eight named were Brooklands Retail Park in Cardiff, Cardiff Gate, Great Eastern Way Retail Park in Rotherham, Ravenside Retail Park in Erdington, 28 East Retail Park in Newport, Hylton Riverside in Sunderland, Riverside Retail Park in Warrington and Hatters Way in Luton. Two of those names are shared with parks we cover elsewhere and they are not the same schemes: the Ravenside in this portfolio is the Erdington one, not the Ravenside at Edmonton, and the Riverside is the Warrington one, not the Riverside at Nottingham.

We are not printing a price for Cardiff Gate alone. The £260m is a portfolio figure across eight parks and nobody has published the split. Estates Gazette, writing on 1 August 2026, put Realty Income's first-half 2026 retail-warehouse buying from Tristan and South Street Capital at a combined £320m, which is consistent with the CoStar figure plus a second deal, and adds nothing about Cardiff Gate specifically.

The letting agent throughout has been Edgerley Simpson Howe LLP, with Nick Howe and Giles Pickford named as the contacts on the scheme. There is no named centre manager because there is no centre management.

What has and has not changed

The only dated physical change to the park we could source is the 2015 car-park tree-pit installation described above. No extension, no reconfiguration, no demolition and no change of use has been reported in any source we read. Cadw holds no listing for anything on this site, which is what you would expect of a 1990s retail shed, and we mention it only because the question comes up: this is Wales, so the listing authority is Cadw and not Historic England, and neither holds anything here.

The other Cardiff Gates, once more

Cardiff Gate International Business Park is an office campus on Malthouse Avenue with its own website at cardiffgate.com. In 2025 Savills marketed a multi-let office investment there for £5.2m, and Creditsafe has taken around 50,000 sq ft of Cardiff offices in coverage that mentions the Cardiff Gate name. None of that is the retail park. Property news about Cardiff Gate offices regularly gets attached to the shops online, and it should not be.

Cardiff Gate Services is a Welcome Break motorway service area at M4 junction 30, Malthouse Avenue, CF23 8RA, open 24 hours, with KFC, Starbucks, Burger King, Waitrose & Partners, WHSmith, Krispy Kreme and Gridserve Electric Highway charging, two hours of free parking and free showers. It is a different business at a different postcode with a different parking rule. If you want a 24-hour coffee or a rapid charge at Cardiff Gate, it is the services you want, not the retail park.

And one listing site has this park completely wrong

A word of warning about commercial listings. LoopNet carries a unit listing headed "Cardiff Gate Retail Park, Cardiff, CF23 8NL" that describes a 93,262 sq ft scheme of seven units on 8.54 acres, built in 2003, five miles west of the city centre, anchored by TK Maxx with Poundland and McDonald's, opposite a 100,000 sq ft M&S and a 150,000 sq ft Tesco, with 325 parking spaces, and agented by McMullen Real Estate. That is not this park. Every one of those details matches Valegate Retail Park at Culverhouse Cross, CF5 6EH, on the opposite side of Cardiff — a scheme McMullen Real Estate does market. Cardiff Gate is north-east of the city, is nearly 200,000 sq ft, and has no TK Maxx and no Poundland. If you have seen a 93,262 sq ft figure or a 2003 build date attached to Cardiff Gate, that is where it came from and it is wrong.

What we could not check

  • There is no operator website and no centre management for this park. Everything on this page comes from the letting agent, from individual tenants' own store pages, from the trade press, or from crowd-sourced services that we have labelled as such. There is nobody to ring to check a park-wide fact.
  • No park-wide opening hours exist. Every time in the hours table is one retailer speaking about itself, checked on 13 September 2026. The aggregator Occupi publishes park hours of 10am–8pm on weekdays; no operator source supports them and they contradict B&Q's 7am opening and Tapi's 6pm close. We have printed them only to identify where that version originates.
  • No bank holiday, Christmas or New Year hours are published by anyone for this park or, in most cases, for its tenants more than a fortnight ahead. Check the individual retailer before travelling over a holiday.
  • The parking allowance is disputed and we have not resolved it. PureGym, a tenant, publishes free parking "for up to 4 hours". Parkopedia, which is crowd-sourced, describes the free period as two hours for customers with a four-hour maximum stay. There is no operator statement to settle it. The enforcement is real: Smart Parking Ltd, camera-enforced, with a £100 charge reported on a MoneySavingExpert thread in 2019 for a stay of "just over 4 hours".
  • The M4 junction 30 figure comes from the letting agent, not from a park operator, because no park operator exists. It appears on the agent's Completely Retail scheme entry ("situated by junction 30 of the M4 motorway approximately 3 miles north of Cardiff city centre") and is repeated by two tenants, PureGym and Wren Kitchens, on their own store pages. The agent's own eshp.com page for the scheme gives the size and the tenant list but no junction.
  • Parkopedia's car-park opening hours of 7am–8pm Monday to Saturday and 10am–4pm Sunday cannot be reconciled with Asda's 6am opening. They are crowd-sourced, there is no operator statement, and nobody publishes whether the car park is gated.
  • The 490-space count is crowd-sourced. It comes from Parkopedia and from nowhere else. No owner, agent or council document gives a space count for Cardiff Gate Retail Park.
  • No height restriction is published by anyone. Parkopedia records none. It is a surface car park with nothing built over it, but nobody confirms that in writing.
  • No opening year exists in any source we checked. Cardiff University's undated paper places the Asda store and the park in the 1990s and that is as precise as the record gets. Do not take a year from an aggregator; none of them cite a source.
  • The 199,681 sq ft figure has a single source — the letting agent Edgerley Simpson Howe — and it is not stated whether it includes the adjacent Asda superstore. There is no second independent measurement.
  • The store count is soft. Eleven occupiers are named by the agent, Occupi counts 12 units, and a McDonald's and an ScS are associated with the park without appearing on the agent's list. We could not confirm from a first-hand source whether ScS still trades here, and no closure has been reported either.
  • Not one arrival or departure could be dated. No letting announcements exist for this park in any trade source we read. If you want to know when a particular shop opened here, nobody has published it.
  • No footfall figure has ever been published for Cardiff Gate Retail Park by any owner, agent or council document we could find.
  • No purchase price for Cardiff Gate on its own is published. The £260m and the 7.7% net initial yield reported by CoStar are portfolio figures across eight parks, and the £250m and 7.5% from December 2016 are portfolio figures across nine. Nobody has published the split, and we have not estimated one.
  • No EV charging on the park itself could be confirmed. The Pontprennau charge points on Zapmap are at the ibis hotel and at Welcome Break Cardiff Gate Services, which are separate sites, and a Tesla Supercharger is listed on Croescadarn Road nearby. Do not plan a charge around the shops.
  • No nearest railway station, distance or walking time is published for this park by the agent, by Transport for Wales or by any tenant. We have not invented one.
  • No bus stop named for the retail park exists on any Cardiff Bus timetable we read. Routes 57 and 58 call at "Pontprennau Asda", which is the Asda on this park. The X59 serves Cardiff Gate Business Park, which is the office campus and not the shops.
  • There is no park-level accessibility statement, no published Changing Places toilet, no confirmed Shopmobility, no published cycle parking and no published coach parking. B&Q's AccessAble guide and Asda's store facilities list are the only accessibility detail available, and both cover one building each. Absent from the record is not the same as absent from the site — ring the retailer if it matters.
  • Three different places in north-east Cardiff are called Cardiff Gate. This park (8 Dering Road, CF23 8NL), Cardiff Gate International Business Park (Malthouse Avenue, website cardiffgate.com), and Cardiff Gate Services (Welcome Break, Malthouse Avenue, CF23 8RA). Office investment news and motorway-services facilities are routinely attributed to the retail park online and none of it belongs to it.
  • LoopNet's "Cardiff Gate Retail Park, CF23 8NL" listing is not this park. Its 93,262 sq ft, seven units, 8.54 acres, 2003 build, 325 spaces, TK Maxx, Poundland and "five miles west of the city centre" all match Valegate Retail Park at Culverhouse Cross, CF5 6EH. If you have seen those numbers attached to Cardiff Gate, discard them.
  • Cadw holds no listing for anything on this site, and neither does anyone else. Wales's listing authority is Cadw, not Historic England; we checked the right one and it holds nothing here.